We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star? Don't think so!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Eden Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 star? Don't think so!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

If this was a 3 star it may pass as average when you look at the service and facilities available in the resort. I must agree the apartments are done to a very high spec, although the poor cleaning will mean that soon they will be run down and shabby. As marketing it'self as a 5 star one would expect a high level of service, this is not found here at all. On arrival at 10pm we were not offered any food or drink and just pointed in the direction of our room, via the resort model map.The all inclusive was a big let down mainly the bar, which once you got served consisted of local drinks but with warm mixers from a large bottle of flat pop. The food lacked any flavour or imagination and although acceptable, for a 5 star should have encouraged the palette. The pool area is littered with broken sun beds and parasols they should be removed. I have stayed in better 3 star hotels and feel that perhaps the standards are acceptable to some but above all there is a lack of any atmosphere in this hotel because no-one cares enough to provide that attention to detail that comes with a 5 star resort, the little touches,luxury is often assosiated with 5 star not feeling like a pauper on warm drinks you have waited above 30 minutes for because only one member of staff is on the bar. The staff are not responsible some of them are good 'Fabio' 'Cartlos' and 'Bruno' but the management and the operators selling this as a 5 star resort need to compare seriously what that means and this is far from Heaven and nearer to Hell. (To someone who has enjoyed real 5 star experiences) I would love to see improvements to this place but I think it is unlikely due to the culture and attitude of the management of this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms are adequate but the ground floor have a little garden area which is nice, and closer to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    611
    321
    128
    104
See reviews for
620
586
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had read all the previous reports and as they streched back to the beginning of the Summer we thought they would all be ironed out! Not So!!. Broken sun loungers, broken parasols and "cleaners" who came in every day and emptied the bins, changed the towels and were back out 5 minutes later!. We stayed for 9 nights and the bathroom was never cleaned in all that time. Also, the air conditioning wasn't working properly. We were told they were awaiting a part from Italy!! It must have been coming by donkey!. We did however get a portable air conditioning unit, but it could not be used at night as it needed a window to be open to let the funnel out. The saving grace was that we went self catering as there had been so many bad reports about the food. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was horrible. The food was under-cooked and everything was cold. We complained to the General Manager about the problems and he said he would look into my complaints, but unless he does something about them people will stop going to what could be a top property in Albufeira. I would suggest that people complain on site and not just air their compaints on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 5 and got a bargain on this holiday. The accommodation was stunning with our own back garden complete with big comfy sunloungers. The pools were superb ( apart from one grumpy old bat who had an aversion to children and swore at mine for splashing her in the pool as she lay on her Lilo) but that could happen anywhere. We were self catering but many of the people we met were all inclusive and reports on the food were good.
Our only complaint was that at night to travel into town we usually had to get 2 taxis as it's a bit of a walk into town but the taxis were very reasonable!
I was so pleasantly surprised at the standard of accommodation although it is evident the resort is suffering due to the economic climate. We had an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

After searching the websites for ages my wife and I agreed the Eden Resort looked the best for our needs.Our friends were holidaying out there when we were looking and they checked it out for us and the reports were all good so we went ahead and booked a1 bed garden
view appartment self catering.
The appartments are designed to a high specification and the kitchens are very well equiped but unfortunately the cream sofa and terrace cushions were badly stained and needed cleaning!!
The main pool area was about 100 mtrs from our appartment and on first inspection looked perfect,however almost every sunbed had a towel draped over it and those that hadn't were broken.In fact 16 were either broken or torn!!
I had read read reviews about these issues before we booked but as the hotel staff had assured the reviewer that reserving sunbeds was not acceptable and towels would be removed I had hoped both issues would have been resolved,sadly not the case!!
I complained to the hotel staff explaining just how how dangerous the broken sunbeds were especially to children and how inconvenient it was having all the other beds reserved.My complaint was met with sarcastic assurance that the problems would be dealt with but on our last day nothing had changed!!
Another earlier review had pointed out about the cleanliness of the appartments and sadly we must agree,we found the bathroom was in need of a thorough clean as we found a number of hairs and things.We ask the staff but again nothing was done,I think the only way to get things done is to wait at reception until someone comes with you to deal with your problem but who wants to spend their holiday waiting around!!!
This review highights the negative points from an otherwise fantastic week,it is a lovely place and truly has the potential to be a good 4 star resort,the issues I have mentioned are small but important to holiday makers and really wouldnt take much to put right!!
I would recommend Eden Resort subject to these issues being addressed.

Letsy from Herts

Room Tip: garden view rooms seem to be on the outer perimeter of the resort and the balconys are quieter and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

These apartments are by far the best I have ever stayed in and I can honestly say hand on heart that you will not find a better spec of apartment in europe. They are clean, modern and a home away from home. The grounds of the complex are well maintained. The only down side is the food if you are all inclusive and maid service. The food is ok but not what you would expect from a 5 star resort. So my advice would be to stay here if you are looking for a first class self catering option. If you want any finer details please feel free to email me at rebecca@thetravelcentreuk.com

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent a 3 night stay at this resort before moving on to Lagos for a further 4 nights. We arrived late about midnight. The smiling receptionist featured in the advertisment was not there instead all we got was a pretty perfunctory prod in the general direction of our appartment, which we eventually found. Having found it we were very pleasantly surprised at how well appointed and equipped it was.

The following day we headed off for Albuefeira but before we did we had a look around the "heaven on earth" from the TV promotional video. In daylight you can quickly appreciate what Eden is all about. It's a self contained holiday park complex fenced off from the sparse scrubland that surrounds it. There are around 4 swimming pools (reasonably small), a kids play area and some attempt at landscaping....small bridge over river/pond with some fish.
It still feels quite quiet even at the height of the season as one half of it is up for sale. This is generally good however you wonder how the services (limted at best) would cope with anything approaching full occupancy.

When it comes to service it feels like the entire resort is being run by staff who are gaining work experience from a sixth form college. We were given the keys to one villa, on our room card was printed those of another and when we left they thought we'd been staying in a third. They asked why we were leaving and I said we only planned to stay 3 nights...eventually they realised after a manager and several other staff intervened. This took an age by which time a queue had formed.

On one unfortunate occasion we went along to see what the evening buffet was like. A previous reviewer has remarked that it was limited and what an understatement that was. For 12/13 euros it is nothing sort of appalling. The breakfast is not much better but was included in the price we paid. The manager (older gentleman) stomped around as usual shouting and scowling at staff. If he wasn't doing this he was outside smoking. I have made a written complaint to Eden Resort management about him.

So all in all, if you have a car, plan to eat out or cook at home, make minimal use of the facilities then this might be the place for you. The mini mart is minimally stocked perhaps that is what is meant by mini.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

On a road trip across Portugal, we just felt like we needed a day's resort. This resort answered all our questions. Nice little villas where couples to large families can stay and have fun. They have a private beach for which they have a shuttle for. The swimming pool is great. Food options close early but you could go out for shopping and all villas have kitchens. Overall it was a welcoming experience.

Room Tip: Pick a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Loteamente da Quinto da Bolota | Lote 2, Vale de Santa Maria, Albufeira 8200-053, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#43 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Albufeira
Eden Resort Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.