We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5/5. Best bargain deal for 3BR suite seaview ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salgados Dunas Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Salgados Dunas Suites to your Saves list
Salgados Dunas Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Almost 5/5. Best bargain deal for 3BR suite seaview ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

As usual I spend hours surfing tripadvisor before choosing a hotel for my family holiday. This one sounded interesting, too good to be true. Via booking.com it offered me a 3 BR seaview suite for only €1665 for an entire week! It's about £80 to €100 euros or about £200 a night. I took a gamble and booked it. Read some talk of it being repossessed by the bank last year so hoped fingers crossed it would still be open when I booked in January for July. I also booked yellowfish for Faro airport to hotel transfer for €80 return.

I saw on the hotel website that meals cost €25 euros each! So I emailed the hotel asking about half board as booking.com only offered a room only rate. I was chuffed to read back that for a supplement of €288 our family of 5 would get half board! That equates to €5 each per person per meal and included a free glass of wine or soft drink with dinner!

On arrival to the airport after reminder emails from yellowfish that they would be there to pick us up (very helpful), we went to a chap in a yellow t shirt and were duly taken to our airconditioned minibus with free wifi!

It took about an hour to get from Faro to the hotel. On arrival check in was slightly awkward as I had emailed 6 months ago that I wanted a top floor in buildings 2 or 3 and had made this request on booking.com but instead was given a third floor and not top fourth floor in building 4.

Reviewers were right, wifi was poor in the rooms and sadly linked to the tv! The 3 BR suite only had a tv in the living room and one bedroom. Then after switching it on to Fox channel 31, the tv would go blank as it lost a signal. Made for screams from the children who would be in the middle of watching ghost whisperers or the world cup football. Then we had to tell everyone to turn off their iphone wifi in hopes the tv would turn back on. Usually worked if all ipad, iphone and androids wifis were turned off. Reception did warn us that the wifi would freeze if more than 3 devices were connected but did not tell us that included the television! Definitely not 5 stars! Okay good way to recover from IAD, internet addiction disease but starts family arguments over the tv and wifi limit on signals.

We were lucky with hot weather. The pools were freezing cold surprisingly but the sunloungers were ample. The beach is a 7 minute walk from the hotel on lovely wooden walkways. It cost us €24 euros to rent 4 sunloungers on the beach.

The buffet restaurant was fine. Not if you were paying €25 each but for €5 euros each, it was the deal of the century! The kiddie section had spag bol which is always a safe bet for me. The adult section had meat, fish, roast potatoes, chips, fresh fruit, bread, cheese, salad, soup and wee portions of desserts. Annoying to have your plate whisked away the moment you put your cutlery down. I had to tell them not to take away my husband's setting! A bit overzealous as he was at the buffet collecting his food and had not sat down. The red wine was delicious in a large wine glass. The white wine was palatable. Morning coffee was excellent. The OJ was freshly squeezed.

Breakfast was Portuguese, ie Portuguese chips, sausage, ratatouille vegetables, mushrooms, fried egg, cheese, deli meat, fresh bread, and fresh fruit and fruit salad.

Definitely have a 20 minute back massage for €15 in the tent on the beach. It opens from 10-7 and the Thai masseuse is really good. Opt for a soft massage if you are a lady as I had to yell in pain when I replied medium. My husband opted for hard when she asked soft, medium or hard. She then walked on his back!

The hotel has a spa building but at €55 a treatment it was too expensive. On the second to last day they offered a July special of 25% off so I went to the spa to book. I asked for same day. This then led to sorry no appointments today and the next one is 11 am tomorrow. I said we are checking out tomorrow (check out is at noon). So she replied with, hm next one is 2 pm! Left disappointed with the poor English and no appointment. Not quite 5 stars!

We tried out the beach restaurant on the right side of the reception walkway but was shocked to see the prices! €18 euros for spaghetti with clams! Wow. And even more shocked when the portion arrived the size of an appetizer! Try the golf club restaurant, a 10 minute walk from reception via the apartment blocks. Take the path by apartment 2A which is a shortcut. We paid €8 euros for caesar salad, tuna pizza or spaghetti bolognese.

The nearest supermarket is a 10 minute walk to the left of the roundabout in front of building 6. Good to stock up on water, soft drinks, ice cream, plastic cutlery, plastic plates, bread, Lays crips, chocolate as the hotel suite apartment comes with no cutlery or plates. Only glasses and teacups. No coffee. Only 1 teabag of each variety. No milk. No sugar. Yes to a kettle, empty fridge and empty freezer. No kleenex tissue box. Had to buy that too. Ample towels and the power shower is great. No bathtubs.

Yes the hangers are a pain. I can't reach! The built in wardrobes are made for 6 feet plus people. The hangers do not come off. Nice to get robes and slippers in each room and each room has an ensuite bathroom with power shower, bath gel, shampoo, soap, moisturiser but NO conditioner! Another trip to the supermarket.

Good hot holiday. If you have IAD and love watching television, you will go into withdrawal in the rooms as your wifi signal disconnects you every 5 minutes and you wait for never for it to return. Strong signals in the reception, pool bar and golf restaurant.

Lunch at the pool bar is good. No spaghetti. Only pizza, burgers, fries, icecream, salmon sandwiches and salad. Fries are €3.

For dinner you also get an option of dining once at the steakhouse which is the pool bar after 7:30 pm and once at the spa restaurant called L14. Only snag is that you are only allowed €25 each which gets you one main without a drink, starter or pudding. So we declined.

Checkout was strictly at noon, no leeway to extend. The bill was correct at checkout. No queue at checkout. Odd as I was there on time at noon expecting a long queue?

Now waiting for yellowfish to pick us up to take us back to faro.

PS book the easy dive for scuba diving for €310 for 5 dives and a certificate, if you are sporty. They pick you up and drop you back for €7. You book at the marina in Albufeira which is a €10-14 taxi ride each way. We spent one day in albufeira, download a free map from freemaps and we went to old town. Nice tourist stalls, one child got a €10 hair braid. Plenty of restaurants. Bit pricey on the beach. Very crowded.

The diving instructor explained that this hotel was bankrupt last year and taken over by the bank to complete and run. They have just bought the tennis court and football pitch. We were not allowed to use yet. It is a work in progress and when they sort out the tv and wifi in the rooms, it will truly be 5 stars. Until then, almost 5 stars or 4.5. And a great bargain for half board £250 for a 3 BR suite with seaviews! Better if we had got a suite on the 4th floor as requested 6 months prior and again closer to the time by email!

Room Tip: Demand a 4th floor (top) so your view of the sea is not obscured by the numerous palm trees especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
74
57
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

good beach in front of the hotel. other nice beaches in a walking distance.
otherwise nothing really in a walking distance. car is definitely needed to get around.
suites are huge. we had the regular hotel room that is about 1/3 the size of the suites. some people complained here about the room's size, but that was not a problem for us. just regular hotel room size. nice balcony. large selection at breakfast but hot food gets cold quickly. still there is so much choice you will not have a problem finding something good to eat.
hotel was half empty but we were not able to get a late check out. just wanted to stay 1-2 hours longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

this is a very nice and big suite hotel. we stayed for 6 nights in a big and preety suite with a nice bedroom and living room. big balcony ( could have sun chairs) . Indoor open garage. beatiful well mantained gardens and 9 swiming-pools with lots of sunchairs( there is no indoor swimmingpool). the main swimming pool is noisy but the others are very quiet, good for love readers. The water is at 23º ( fells warm). there is a private walk to the big and nice beach with beach bars. We stayed with beakfast nad dinner included. Its a good option because there are only 2 ou 3 restaurants nearby . Breakfast very nice with lots of food and each day the dinner menu was different ( with water and a drink included - 25e adult and 11e child). preety and tasteful Desserts. Every night in the bar there was some king of entretainment. The worst was the room internet ( in the main bar was better). if you want to leave your car and just stay in teh hotel area this is a great choice. I would came back again

Room Tip: ask for a room with pool view but not in the main building if you want a quiet stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have just returned from a week here. Brilliant I do not honestly know what other reviewers are complaining about. The beach is amazing and less than 5 minutes walk away. The 9 pools are fabulous. Black tiles .... so what! They are clean and all different depths ideal for families. Staff on hand all the time to clear up any mess. Towels supplied every day for beach and pools. Palm trees everywhere.... amazing place. As for the rooms, we had a classic suite... OMG how big was it... enormous. We travelled with my two boys (11 and 14). Everyone had a twin room with ensuite. Contempory furnishing which suited us totally. Kitchen facilities (nb no plates, pots etc), television, Maid service every day, balconies front and back. We were in block 5 i would recommend it! We were half board buffet breakfast and dinner with a good supply of different foods to cater for all tastes... NOT COLD! We bought plastic plates and cutlery from the supermarket for lunches.. ...lovely rolls available and local delicacies. Ok so there is not much nightlife if thats what you are looking for... we were not... but there is something different every night... i.e. relaing singer in the bar etc. Wonderful friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. It is quiet, i.e. shops, pubs etc... but it is wonderful and we loved it.

I would 100% recommend this place !

Room Tip: Sea view is great but you have a balcony both sides. Block 1 is above bar so may be noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently and from the minute we arrived to the time we left we could not fault the staff. They were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.The location is fantastic just a short stroll over the boardwalk to the wonderful beach. At breakfast and the evening meal there was a good selection of food and the service was excellant. Our only problem is that we had to come home after 7 days. Will certainly recommend this hotel to all our friends.This is a great hotel for a totally relaxing break.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned from a week at CS Salgados Dunas Suite Hotel and we loved it. Totally relaxing venue and excellent customer care.
Our room wasn't huge but had everything we needed. The balcony overlooked the bar and had fabulous views of the pools and sea. The beds were really comfortable and the beds and towels were changed daily. The shower was really good - choose from an overhead shower or hand held shower. Lots of complimentary goodies in the bathroom as well as slippers and bathrobe.
The beach/pool towel service was brilliant. Pick up your towels in the morning for the day - they can be used on the sunbeds around the pool or taken to the beach. The pools (9 in total) were lovely and loads of sunbeds - it never felt busy around the pool.
We had bed & breakfast and the choice at breakfast was amazing. Hot choice including eggs cooked every way imaginable, bacon, mushrooms, beans, hash browns, tomatoes, meats, cheeses, smoked salmon or pastries, breads, jams and sauces, fruit of every description, cereals, toast and yoghurts. Fresh fruit juice and tea or coffee. Something for everyone and more! The guy who serves the coffee was very entertaining and friendly! We had a wonderful meal at the Steak Bar at the poolside and, although it was quite expensive, it was really good. There is an Italian restaurant in the village, about 10 mins walk, which is also worth a visit - Bellavita.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them - a credit to the hotel.
There isn't a village close to the hotel but there is a supermarket up the road which is really well stocked and further on from Bellavita is a bar that is brilliant value for money serving excellent food - Planet Fusion. We hired a car for a day to explore the mountains which aren't too far away and found some beautiful beaches along the coast.
We wouldn't hesitate to book again and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Salgados Dunas Suites. The rooms are modern and are spacious and comfortable. The showers were particularly excellent with a "rain" shower head. The rooms were cleaned daily and were immaculate. The quality of the duvets was again, top notch.

The resort has excellent facilities - a choice of 9 different pools meant things were never too packed. The boardwalk to the beach was also lovely for walks. The main beach is a spotlessly clean wide beach, again, never too packed.

The staff old not have been nicer. I received a lovely surprise from the staff on my birthday - A really generous and friendly touch.

We enjoyed the breakfast every morning as it was well presented, fresh and nicely varied.

I would recommend a rental car if you want access to Albufeira. Equally if you want to be on holidays for pubs and clubs then I would suggest somewhere closer to Albufeira. If you like great facilities, friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere and beautiful unspoilt beaches, then I would not hesitate in recommending the Salgados Dunas Suites.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salgados Dunas Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Dunas Suites

Address: Herdade dos Salgados | Rua Boca da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salgados Dunas Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the dunes of Salgados Beach, your holiday suites enjoy a fantastic tropical atmosphere, surrounded by extensive palm tree gardens. And it's precisely among the palm trees, with the sea in the horizon that you will be able to enjoy all the facilities the resort has to offer. Among others, you will find the 9 swimming pools, with direct access to the beach. Relax and enjoy the cuisine of Bossa Nova Restaurant, as well the cocktails at the Jazz Lobby Bar, fit for those cheerful nights spent with friends. When walking the short distance that separates the hotel from the beach, make the most of the wooden pathway, which can take you all the way into the nature reserve. For children, the Kids Club features a range of entertainment activities to assure your little ones have a fun filled time. This oasis is equipped with everything you need to enjoy your holiday with the utmost well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salgados Dunas Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Salgados Dunas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Dunas Suites Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salgados Dunas Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.