We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent and cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Varandas do Atlantico

Varandas do Atlantico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Varandas do Atlantico to your Saves list
Varandas do Atlantico
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Cesario Verde, 3 | Pateo, Albufeira 8200-655, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excelent and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed here many times . We like it because it has big apartments for the larger family There are a lot of place's that unless you book a villa you can't get the space .
It's a bit older but it's not got a huge amount of apartments so it's quite personal, we have even met the same faces a time or too .
There is a small pool bar and 2 swimming pools .
The complex is family run..
We have to get our own transfer as we book directly with the complex on line , so we use yellowfishtransfers as they have vehicles big enough for us all and also have car seats . This year they also put free wifi in the vehicles . They operate a very good and reasonable service and with lovely and safe drivers.
We also feel the value at Varandas is very good too especially if you get good flight fares , it makes for a good but inexpensive Holiday ..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here in September and we loved it!!! The apartment was so spacious, cleaners came every day, our balcony area was huge, and the pool areas were clean. Although some may view it as being a little out of the way, its only a 5-10 min walk into the main square, there is a shop a stones throw from the apartments which has all the essentials and a few bars near by. Cant wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

These apartments are top value for the money we had a very clean appartment right next to the pool with fantastic balcony with sea views .Bela was her usual helpful self with smiling Anna serving at the bar with food and drink .Nearest supermarket is 50 yds away best bar is at the end of the street turn left then straight across the road to Ammendoa Doce run by noo noo the prince of Patio,best restaurant is straight down the road about 400 yds turn left restaurante Meniero run by Joachim the king of patio any doubts of location ask noo noo he will even book your table and order your food which speeds things up considerably.You want cheap n cheerful Atlantico and Patio is the place to be !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have to say, really enjoyed this hotel overall. Good points outweighed the bad points. It can be a quiet relaxing tranquil family holiday. But not guaranteed! The staff are very friendly especially the pool bar staff. The supermarket just outside the complex is very reasonable and both Lidle and Aldi are 10 mins walk if your feeling fit or €5-6 in a taxi.
So,...There was some lovely Irish families and a group of Spanish teens/twenties on the first few days with no noise or problems. The pools were quiet and the kids had a great time. towards the end of our week stay we had a few nationals come to stay at this small family complex. Kids were allowed to Slam doors, run about the gardens screaming and shouting well into the early hours. There was loud music from one apartment and that carried on at the pool the next day. This is a family run complex and my two young boys (5 and 6) were being noisy at the pool at 9.30 am on our second morning and the owner came and told them to be quiet as other guests were still in bed, so I'm surprised that nothing was said to these other people? (think we were just unlucky). Having read other reviews before we booked we thought this would suit us perfectly and I don't think we were disappointed. To weigh things up I'd have to say great value for money. If the spacious apartments had air con then they would charge a lot more but to be honest it was so hot this year we could have done with it. The kitchen facilities are limited but you can always cook up something.
Out and about.... "Kims bar", on route to the old town past Jardim 1. Great atmosphere, lovely friendly staff, free wi-fi and laptop use. You can book your water park at a great price there. I recommend Aquashow (not Aqualand) great slides for all ages, covered area by the wave pool to shade from the sun, lockers, showers and large changing rooms. Buses to the park are open top so hats etc rqd. A restaurant that I would definitely recommend is the Tunnel. Named so as it is halfway up the stairs on the left side by the tunnel leading to Fisherman's beach. Fantastic host with great attitude and customer service. The food is fantastic (all freshly cooked) and the giant Yorkshire puddings are lovely. Have stayed in Albufeira for 9yr now and would definitely go back to the Varandas do Atlantico.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road are noisy as traffic is constant 24-7 but a great coastal view and sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned from our 5th year staying at this resort which is opposite jardim2, just above the dolphin roundabout about 12 minutes walk from albufiera old town. We are family of 4 with two kids age 7&9. The two swimming pools plus the baby pool are great and the on site bar does a great toasted sandwich at lunch time. There are 2 very good restaurants within 5 mins walk, mamma mias and lemmys, and the red bar at the end of the street is very friendly. The apartments aren't brand new but the space in the two bedroom apartments are huge and very good value for money.
Highly reccomended.
Scott and Kate, London,uk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last week July/first week of August 2012 with my wife and 3 kids (2,4 & 10). We picked these apartments based mainly on the good reviews on Trip Advisor and so we were very disappointed to read the relatively negative review posted just before we left. Whilst I realise that circumstances may have been different, I feel I must advise that having dashed out and spent a small fortune on mosquito spray, plugs and bite cream, we did not see a single mozzie for the whole two weeks! We also found the temperature very pleasant and we were even glad of our sheets on a number of nights. As for the service, the apartments are advertised as family run and as such, I would not have expected a 24 hour reception. We found the service to be excellent and everywhere was well cleaned and tidy. The apartments were extremely spacious and airy with all the necessaries. The pools were a huge hit with the kids and the pool area and grounds were kept beautifully. The walk down to the old town holds many happy memories and the walk back was not too much of a struggle even with a push-chair! All in all we had a wonderful holiday and will happily recommend the apartments and Albufiera itself.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Would defintely recommend these apartments. Hills are a bit of a struggle but the apartments are well worth it. Bella is very lovely to deal with. From the moment that I contact her she always was extremely helpful. The apartments are extremely spacious and they are kept very clean. The cleaners came into the apartments everyday except Sunday. On arriving to the apartments the poolbar was shut but within a couple of days they did the best to get it open. We had been to these apartments on previous years (2006) and when we came back from the town in the evening the bar was always open and there was always good fun. This year though the pool bar had only been opened so in the evenings it was usually closed which was a bit disappointing. All in all I would highly reccomend this apartment to any family. Only thing that I would say is when you are booking that you ask will the pool bar be open.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little bit extra you should try and book a villa. They are extremely spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Varandas do Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varandas do Atlantico

Address: Rua Cesario Verde, 3 | Pateo, Albufeira 8200-655, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varandas do Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Varandas do Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varandas Do Atlantico Hotel Albufeira
Varandas Do Atlantico Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Varandas do Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.