We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfagar II Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alfagar II Aparthotel to your Saves list
Alfagar II Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Spend 10 days in September with parter and 2-years old kid.
Highly recommended.
+
- spacious, clean room
- nice swimming pools
- excellent room service
- lots beautiful beaches close to hotel,
- wide variety of food (breakfast,dinner)

-
- not enough evening entertainment

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    163
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
274
91
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed half board at the Alfagar II for one week. The hotel exceeded our expectations. the apartment was spacious and the balcony had a lovely sea view. The staff are very professional and welcoming. The food was provided buffet style and the choice was very good for adults with different options each night. The childrens choice was standard with beefburger, fishfingers & chicken nuggets however our daughter, who is six, was happy to eat off the adults buffet. The resort iself was fabulous and the pool area brilliant. There is a separate pool with a few small waterslides and a water feature. The place was kept imaculate and all public areas were constantly maintained. The beach is easily reached down some steps or I believe that you can walk to it via the main road. The beaches close to the hotel are very nice and clean and perfect for sandcastles! We found the sea current to be very strong so little ones need to be kept close. Albefeira was not to our liking, very built up and geared up for the tourists, however off the beaten track there are a few nice individual shops. We went on a jeep safari to see a bit more about the traditional Algarve, which was a brilliant day out. This was our first trip abroad with our young daughter and we could not have picked a better resort.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I stayed at the Alfagar II for 2 weeks in Aug/Sept. I travelled with Falcon out of Dublin Airport. I stayed here on a self-catering basis in a large one bedroom apartment with sea/pool view. This was simply the best apartment I have ever stayed in on a sun holiday. The apartment was very spacious and modern. The kitchen was kitted out with microwave, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, 4 ring hob cooker & oven and all crockery, pots, pans, utensils etc were supplied. The decor in the apartments is clean, crisp and modern and we had a huge balcony with table & chair. I could not find any fault with the apartment I stayed in at all, absolutely wonderful.
The Pool area at the Alfagar II is really good. There are 3 pools, 2 for kiddies with slides, plenty of sun beds, a pool bar and also an indoor pool. Finding available sun beds was never an issue for us.
The Alfagar II is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest beach. There are two beaches close by, Santa Eulia which is down a lot of steps! The other beach is Maria Luisa, its about a 10 min (slow) walk from the apartments, it's a very nice beach....really big waves and a strong current in the sea so be careful! There are at least 3 lifeguards on duty at all times though.
The only one flaw with the alfagar that I can comment on is the location of it. There are no bars/restaurant close by they are all at least a 10 minute walk. Nevetheless, the benefit of the location is that you are between Ohlos D'Agua and Albufeira so if you want a mad night go to Albufeira and if you want a quiet night go to Ohlos D'Agua.
I had breakfast once in the hotel and a couple of lunches at the pool bar, the food was OK, nothing amazing but fairly edible. Staff were attentive and helpful. Falcon rep, Lauren was brilliant and was at the hotel every evening.
If you're going on holiday to these apartments it is a given that you will love them and have a great holiday!!! I would absolutely return to the Alfagar again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

The apartments in this complex are excellent very spacious and clean. However I have travelled far and wide on half board holidays and I would have to say that although the food was ok, there was much less choice than i have ever had anywhere else, I would recommend this aparthotel for those looking for self catering, although that said it is a bit of a trek to local restaurants. I did not find the staff at this hotel very friendly. It's a shame because the hotel apartments are great. if you visit this hotel be sure to visit the old town of albufeira at night, there is a lovely atmosphere and lots to see. Oh yeh and buy the way if you are visiting with children, the pool is great, but it is a real trek to either of the nearby beaches and very hilly!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Alfagar 2. Delighted with the accommodation. Very clean and well serviced. We had a garden view. Staff very helpful and friendly. Complex quiet, but that suited us. Excellent facilities including an indoor pool. This complex is a 15 minute walk to the strip but only 5 mins to the very nice beach. Suitable for everyone with the facilities and location to match. A great value break.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfagar II Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.