We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfagar II Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alfagar II Aparthotel to your Saves list
Alfagar II Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just back today from 7 days in the Alfagar II aparthotel.

Apartment: Absolutely huge! Enormous rooms, living area and balcony. Really quiet, didn't hear the neighbours at all.

Complex: Massive! Loads of different spaces with different atmosphere in each. Main swimming pool area quite busy, but finding a lounger was never too difficult. There was no need to rush down to the pool first thing in the morning.

Bars & entertainment: the bar next to the reception was always very quiet with no atmosphere. The evening entertainment was to be found at the Burganvilia bar in the Alfagar village part of the complex. Also this is the main meeting place for kids with the park and play area plus a pool table and air hockey, but be prepared to dish out you Euros to keep your kids entertained.
The evening entertainment itself is quite poor - to give you an idea the best night was the karaoke night!

Atmosphere: staff were very friendly and helpful. It's perfect for families with children in fact I think that 99% of the guests must fall under this category. It feels safe and secure at all times from dawn to dusk for the whole family.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your honest feedback as your comment is important to the success of our organization.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    154
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
264
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Spent a week her and wish it was longer. Loved it! Got a complimentary upgrade to a corner sea view - was like a suite- huge with the most amazing views! Spotlessly clean - I've never seen so many cleaners in a hotel ever!! Facilities on site are excellent pools, waterslides, games, spa, gym, supermarket, tennis, football and indoor pool for the cooler months. Very busy but never a problem finding a lounger. We were half board. Food plentiful, lots of choice. Food in bar areas lovely and fresh and staff (Miguel) very efficient and friendly. Nothing a problem for reception staff though often queues. I lost my camera and Rita excelled by phoning various places I'd been to see if it had been handed in (sadly it wasn't). Couldn't fault the staff and customer service at all really. Quite an expensive cost but school summer holidays and we all know that prices go sky high then! Only negatives were WiFi was rubbish and you had to pay for it (I couldn't use beyond the reception area). Wired internet access in reception which was reasonably priced but slow. Went to the village bar twice but the entertainment was very poor! Air Hockey and pool table saved the evening! Balaia is a small place but reception will call a taxi for 50c - 5 mins to Albufeira Strip area (20 mins walk) and same other direction to Olhos Da Aqua which has bars, resaturants, shops and looked nice. Definitely recommend for families. No drunks or raucous groups. Just very relaxing! First time in Algarve - I'll be back! And weather was excellent!

Room Tip: Sea views best with sun most of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking out your valuable time to write a comment with regards to your stay with us
It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at Alfagar for two weeks in July with my husband and six year old son. We all agree that we had a wonderful time and didn't want to go home. The apartments are spotless as is the entire complex. The staff are very friendly and most go out of their way to be helpful, whether it's letting you into the restaurant just after 10 am for breakfast when it finished at 10, or giving our little guy a free scoop of ice cream at lunch. The complex has terrific amenities - a large pool in the main complex, with smaller kiddie pool and another mini water park area for slightly older kids (which is really great and fun for adults too:). You can also use the other numerous pools around the complex. There is an outdoor football pitch which our boy loved and made lots of friends at, tennis courts and a great outdoor activity area with climbing tree. Also, there is an amazing beach accessed directly from the complex. The complex is a little outside town so if you go with younger kids you will need to get a taxi into town, but they are quite cheap and average €7 one way.

The room itself was perfect. Quite spacious with a large sea view balcony(which we requested), large dining room and good size bathroom.

All in all we definitely recommend this hotel! One of our best family holidays so far.

Room Tip: Request a sea view. It's worth it to eat Breakfast on your balcony and gaze out every morning. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review.
We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
We wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is very good, but should be excellent!

The staff are mostly very friendly, genuine, and really helpful. It is modern, spotlessly clean, and very well laid out right across the complex. We had a 2 bed family apartment which could easily have slept six it was so big. Even the balcony was huge. It faced onto a building site, but it didn't take away from it at all. The beds were also reasonably soft and comfortable.

In terms of price they are not the cheapest apartments, but they do represent value for money!

However, the hotel falls down very badly in several areas; The first being their Food: We ate in all of the bars and the hotel restaurant, and the only way to describe the food is APPALLING! The quality is so bad, mainly it feels based on the ingredients used. Whether it was a snack from the bars, buffet dinner or breakfast (each with a very poor selection), everything was bland at best, but bordering closer to inedible. This is a 4* hotel, charging 4* prices for food one would expect from a 1/2* establishment! When you check in there is a dinner special offer, DON'T GET SUCKERED IN!!!!

The night time entertainment also leaves a lot to be desired. Glorified Karaoke at best. It wouldn't encourage you to relax for the evening in the hotel bar!

The annoying charges: Every room has a safe. If you want it for the week, there is a charge! If you want broadband in your apartment, there is a charge (but you can only use one device at a time!)! If you want a second room key (as most families do) there is a charge. Whilst the charges are not high, it is annoying that they are there because as stated earlier, the hotel is not the cheapest! Some things you just expects as a matter of course in a 4*.

No kids club! This is a family focused hotel, yet there is no kids club! So if you're hoping for a couple of hours away from the kids each day, forget it!


If the food was good and offered value, and if there was a bit more effort put into the night time entertainment, we would probably have hardly left the complex (and neither would many other guests I suspect). So whilst we will definitely go back to Portugal and this area, we will probably investigate other hotels first. Had Alfagar lived up to the potential it has, that would not be the case.

P.S. - If you have small kids, bear in mind that the walk into the strip with the restaurants is about 20 to 25 minutes each way.

Room Tip: From what I could see they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked a 2 bed apartment in the hotel. It was really spacious and the balcony was huge. Alot of people seem to have found the beds uncomfortable but we couldn't have slept any better. Even our 2 teenagers were happy with everything and as any of you parents out there know this is in itself a hard task to achieve!! We hope to go back again next year.

Room Tip: We had room 415, a two bed and it had an amazing view over both the sea and the pools which looked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager A, Manager at Alfagar II Aparthotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Alfagar.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Based on other reviews we chose a one bedroom apartment with sea view. This has a spacious bedroom with good storage. We found the beds firm but comfortable. The sitting room is large and well furnished. Both rooms had sliding doors leading to the huge balcony, this had 2 sun loungers and a liable and 4 chairs.
The kitchen was large, modern and very well equipped with everything most people would need. The hob, oven and appliances were new and worked well. The fridge was also new and clean
The bathroom was large, nicely tiled and well maintained
The complex is large and well landscaped. The small shop provides basic items and the bars have friendly staff - the burgers are excellent
Reception staff are helpful and friendly
Our only concern was that there is quite a lot of hard surface noise from other rooms when cleaners or guests drag furniture on the floors so soundproofing could be a lot better
Overall, a good choice

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned home after a lovely relaxing holiday at the Alfagar . The hotel is spotlessly clean , the rooms are spacious we had a garden view room . I would choose a pool or better still a sea view room for that little bit extra . The pools are fantastic either to relax or slides for the kids and they have a bit of character to them unlike your normal rectangle pool , at night they light up in three different colours which is really exotic looking .It is a great place for families to enjoy


The staff are all friendly and very helpful I will definately be returning here on my next visit to portugal

Room Tip: Get A Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfagar II Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.