We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views of the sea from the hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfagar II Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alfagar II Aparthotel to your Saves list
Alfagar II Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous views of the sea from the hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here in 2013 In the May half term. The service was excellent and the hotel was clean and beds where made everyday. I would definitely recommend it as it was a great experience, wish we could of stayed for longer! Beautiful views of the sea from the rooms balcony and with Albuferia a 10 minute drive from the hotel, with lots of lovely restaurants and pubs and a street full of music! "old town" "new town "! Fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    163
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
274
91
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you are going to this area of Portugal I would highly recommend this resort. Everything positive that is said about it is true. Our 1 month stay flew by and we were sorry to come home. Liked to walk and we did.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here with friends in an apartment and it was gorgeous clean and modern, with a sea view. We had access to indoor and outdoor hotel pools, outdoor apartment pools (theres many so its not crowded) and private access to beach (only 5 mins away). We got a brilliant deal and I was so so pleased it seems five star, you have access to everything you need, and the town is 10 mins walk to restaurants etc. I will definitely come back. April was a good time for us as there werent too many kids.

Room Tip: I stayed here with friends, in an apartment with a sea view which was gorgeous, modern and spotlessl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just returned from a, very, last minute hol with my husband and 6 year old twins. Absolutely brilliant place! Had a lovely big apartment with a sea view which looked as though it had been recently refurbished. The pools are fantastic - we spent every day (we were really lucky with the weather as it was gorgeous 6/7 days) at the pool beside the restaurant and play park. Staff were so lovely and friendly. We obviously came at the right time as it was so peaceful with plenty of sunbeds. The communal areas were immaculate. The beach at the hotel is absolutely gorgeous - we had a little cove to ourselves! The only reason I'm not giving it 5 is our bed linen wasn't changed (although the apartments were very clean) the beds were very hard and the pool slides didn't have the water on them so the children couldn't slide down them - probably just the time of year and it didn't bother our children too much - apart from that, everything else was perfect and we had a wonderful holiday :D!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We Just got back from a weeks stay. The apartment was a good size which was very clean and modern. , The surrounding grounds are lovely and very well kept. There's three pools one over looking the sea a shop, bar, tennis court and a lovely little beach. Reception staff are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Its a good walk to the attractions but its worth being a a little out of the way because the Alfagar is such a charming place. One of the best places we have stayed.

Room Tip: We didn't have a sea view but we wished we had. They have an amazing view and better balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just got back from a week here with hubby and 20 month old daughter. Arrived quite early and reception managed to get us an earlier check in which was nice. Cannot fault the apartment, huge with everything you need for a self catering holiday and a massive balcony with table and two sun loungers. I would recommend paying a bit more for a sea view which was wonderful. Beds were hard but don't let that put you off. Lots of different swimming pools to accommodate everyone and children's playgrounds which my daughter loved.
Only one bar open as was out of season and was a bit slow, but waiters couldn't do enough for you when they had time.
About a 15 min walk into town which was pleasant - lots of restaurants there. I would recommend Netto.
Martins was also very nice, fillet steak and sea bream were both good.
Overall a really lovely relaxing holiday, would I return? Yes definitely :-)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

If it weren't for the rock hard beds!! Transfers (cheapest we found was 'resort hoppa' , 'green bus' was the name of the company that will collect you though. My family of 6 from faro return was about £30) were around 30 mins-easy, safe & pleasant journey. Check in was quick-1st impressions were very good. Hotel looks modern, clean & vast. Given a 2 bed apartment room 406. Very large, very clean and had everything you'd need. Balcony huge!! As we arrived fairly late (10pm ish), we made our way down to the bar/restaurant for a drink & pizza. First thing to say is 1) stray cats are really annoying! They don't leave you alone-they're not viscous, it's just not particularly pleasant. 2) bar staff are incredible-friendly, helpful, really go all out. 3) this is the only place on the resort you'll get free wi-fi, otherwise It'll cost you 7 euros per 24 hours, which I think is a little money grabbing in this day & age. Finally, 4) food & service is good. Breakfast is ok, you'll get better value for money if you take a left out of the hotel & take a walk for about 10 mins. (Take care though & hold little ones hands, a few mins up & on the same side of the road as the hotel, is a very dangerous stretch where there is a very large drop and absolutely no fence or walls between you and it!). We had a Chinese at the 'royal'-defo recommended.
The amenities & cleanliness of this resort are fabulous. No complaints at all. There are numerous pools (outdoor, indoor, big, small & everything in between!), slides, playgrounds, pool tables, tennis courts, supermarket. Literally everything for everyone. It's very pretty too-lots of Palm trees, plenty of sun beds & umbrellas. The other holiday makers were all very pleasant. I like the clientele this place attracts. Literally, the only downside was the rock hard beds! It was like sleeping on a breeze block!! Really awful. Oh and 1 man (forget his name) on reception. Think he suffers from little man syndrome!! But neither would stop me from returning. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfagar II Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.