We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for children but relaxing enough for adults too!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfagar II Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alfagar II Aparthotel to your Saves list
Alfagar II Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for children but relaxing enough for adults too!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We went last August for 11 nights and have just booked up for August 2014 for 14 nights this time. My son of 8 and daughter of 6 had a blast and we met some wonderful friends. The whole complex is spotless. Rooms are spacious and airy,comfortable and well-equipped. The balconies are huge, making sitting out there for breakfast/lunch/dinner in the beautiful Portuguese sunshine, a real treat. You aren't right in the middle of the restaurants etc but that's what we loved. It's chilled and peaceful. No music blaring 24 7, just respectful, friendly guests and staff. We found lots of lovely restaurants near to the Hotel. The warm walk in the evening was lovely, didn't bother us at all. In a nutshell, you will not be disappointed if you come here, a wonderfully, relaxing, enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    157
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
267
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kirreimuir
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was a last minute family break,and chose the Alfagar as it was on the
outscirts of Albufeira. This turned out to be a good choice the apts were
very nice in fact the whole complex was lovely. Yes whilst it was outwith the
peek holiday period ie we went early september the weather was perfect.
Plenty of pool space with a choice of 4 pools plus indoor pool,typical ent
laid on nightly.Good choice of eating within the complex, 10 min walk to a
very pleasant eatery Martins food good and the service was excellent a
further 10 mins took you to a nice Chinese at the rounabout,and further
eating esablishments at the start of the strip.
From the comlex you could walk down to a nice beach [not an easy walk
for the unfit down a steep set steps but worth it in end]
A very nice relaxing holiday in a very nice holiday complex

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

So clean. Cleaners in everyday towels changed regularly. Crisp white sheets. Microwave, coffee machine, toaster, iron, hairdryer etc. Everything you could possibly need.
Happy hour at bar from 3pm till 6pm. 30% of drinks. The 3 meals for 45 euro was not great in the bar but everyone has their own taste.
Beds were a bit hard for me.
Weather was grill though a bit cool in the shade as it was
S December.

Room Tip: Ask for sun in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

As a young couple staying here in the low season we were unsure how our trip was going to pan out. Alfagar II was one of the highlights of our trip to the Algarve and we plan to come back in july and stay here again. The apartments are SO clean it is unbelievable and the staff are wonderful to talk to and extremely helpful (we even had conversations with the maids who were very pleasant). Unfortunately when we went the main pool was closed due to scheduled maintenance but there were other pools in the complex which were open.

The grounds at alfagar are kept impeccably well and the interior of the hotel has a modern feel to it. A special thanks to Victor, the receptionist who did everything he could to ensure our stay was fab. He advised us on places to go inbthe off season, the beat value tours, how to not get cheated by the dodgy taxi drivers and told us literally everything we needed to know.

To sum up, bad points: they charge 50 cents to book a taxi for you and you have to pay 10 euro for a tv remote and a safety deposit box. Good points: the pool, the fact the hotel backs onto the beach, staff, cleanliness, very fairly priced!

Well done Alfagar

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel was great. We had a one bedroom corner apartment overlooking the pool. The whole hotel was spotless. The beds were very hard though. We did not eat in hotel. Mini market was handy and had everything you needed and not too expensive. No wi-fi in rooms which was very annoying in this day and age, free at pool side bar.
All the pools were fantastic and great for kids, as were the two great playgrounds, really good for kids.
The main problem with this hotel is the location, it is out of the way, it's a 15/20 min walk to main area and a taxi ride (€6-8) to old town each way. We walked a lot but it was hard work as there are many hills and the paths are not great for walking with a buggy, there is no seafront walk so it's all streets and you need to cross the road a good bit so you probably would need to factor in the cost of extra taxis. Hotel runs a shuttle to old town for €1 per person but only during the day, if this was more frequent, then this hotel would be so much better. Lovely stay but location was a factor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week at the Alfagar2 with my boyfriend. Large apartment. Very clean, large balcony all you need for a comfortable stay. 20 min walk into Albuferia which is fine but can be a bit dark on the road up. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spend ten day with family in September. Absolutely lovely hotel, staff location etc.. nothing is a problem for staff. From check-in until check-out - full professionalism. Few names to be mentioned: Hugo at reception - nothing a problem, Miguel at pool bar - kids loved him - always smiling, joking - great personality. Ruben - in red bar and pool bar as well. fantastic all together. I don't remember all names but really great staff all together. Cleanliness I would say it's the priority which is first thing for my family as well. Looking forward to coming back next year. thank you very much again for everything.

Room Tip: Room 517 - fantasic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfagar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfagar II Aparthotel

Address: Santa Eulalia - Balaia | Apartado 866, Albufeira 8200-912, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#7 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#9 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alfagar II Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alfagar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfagar Ii Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Alfagar II Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfagar II Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.