We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn’t give any of mine away to the cats!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Penedo

O Penedo
R. Latino Coelho 15, Albufeira 8200-150, Portugal
(+351) 289 587 429
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 578 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I didn’t give any of mine away to the cats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was just going to have a light lunch but couldn’t resist the Rabbit Stew. I love rabbit and this was really good. Pieces of rabbit on the bone including part of the rib cage complete with cleaned out heart and kidneys so if you are a bit picky about your food it might not be for you. But if you want something really succulent and full of flavour this is great. Served with cabbage and may have been rice (or potato I can’t remember!) The restaurant has a number of obviously well fed cats who will look at you longingly but they went hungry that day.
Great views over the town, reasonable prices and quick service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    17
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Best views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Ate here on our Anniversary. The restaurant has the best views of the beach in Albufeira. It's a bit of a walk from the main square but is away from the hustle and bustle. The decor is average and the service is ok but the food is nice. €29 between 2 for a main course each and a drink.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a beautiful sea view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent a beautiful evening dining in this resaurant, sitting on the terrace with a spectacular view of the sea. The staff were very helpful and efficient without being obtrusive. The food itself was of an excellent standard and was good value for money. We will definitely go again on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a beautiful setting and friendly setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have visited albufeira before and always go back to O Penedo more than twice during our stay. The food is fresh and homemade, the staff are welcoming and smiling and the setting is lovely overlooking the sea. My husband recommends the chicken piri piri and my favourites are codfish gratin and algarve tuna steak. Thank you to all at O Penedo for the great food and service :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love O Penedo...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my fourth trip to Albufeira and I always make sure I go to O Penedo at least once as it's the best restaurant in town (in my opinion!) Love the terrace area as you get such an amazing view of the beach while you eat. The food is always so good - this time we went to O Penedo twice and I'd highly recommend the veterian lasagne or the monkfish kebab - both were amazing! Will definitely return again in the future...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Penedo also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to O Penedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Penedo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.