We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish id found you on the first day of our holiday instead of the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The English Kitchen

The English Kitchen
Edficico-christina, Albufeira, Portugal
289541629
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 580 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We Are a Little Family Run Business In The Heart Of Albufeira, Only Serving Home & Hand Cooked Meals! Open For Brunch,Lunch & Evening Meals!
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wish id found you on the first day of our holiday instead of the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Just left the English kitchen it was the best food i have had since iv been here. In fact i want to take the chef and staff back to hornsea with me. Child friendly lovely staff. Im a very picky vegetarian and my vegetarian bangers mash and vege gravy was flipping spot on. The rest of the family had Sunday dinners and a burger. Clean plates all round. 3 words to say yum yum yum ! AND they had a lovely hand cream in the ladies ;-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    48
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Would like to say anyone visiting the Algarve must visit the English Kitchen its a little gem of a place the food is divine and the staff are out of this world very kind and helpful. You will want to visit the english kitchen over and over again once you have been here must say try the chicken salad its mouth watering the best chicken salad weve ever had will be definitly visting english kitchen when were back in portugal next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“on our to visit list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely food, great service and reasonably priced. we will definitely return next year. if you have had enough of chips, this restaurant will give you a taste of home and not break the bank.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service with a smile !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the nearby Vila Petra for the 2nd time this year which I also recommend. Visited the EK for breakfast and evening meal (3 times !!) (not bad in 7 days !!). Steak, fish and roast all very good !! Topped off by excellent staff who make you feel most welcome. Please pay them a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A terrible disappointment.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Prior to going on holiday we always make a list off Trip Advisor of the restaurants we would like to visit and the English Kitchen was on the top of our list due to the excellent reviews and the fact that it would be easy to find being at the top of the Strip. I can only assume that the regular chef was having an night off and that they inexperienced replacement, either that or it is now under new management. I had fish and chips, the fish was under cooked and the batter soggy. My wife ordered the pork chop which turned out to be two very thin pork chops which were extremely over cooked, this must have been evident to the chef and he should not have served them up, the were not edible. Our portions were small and overall the price expensive. This was our worst meal in Albufeira by far.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Kitchen also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The English Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.