We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view & very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruina A Restaurant

Ruina A Restaurant
Cais Herculano, Praia Dos Pescadores | Restaurante a Ruina, Albufeira 8200-061 Albufeira, Portugal
+351 289 512 094
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #268 of 572 restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb view & very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Another great lunch experience on the Algarve coast. In the heart of tacky touristy Albufeira find a peaceful spot on the roof terrace overlooking it all. Choose a fresh fish and enjoy it alongside seafood starter salads, potatoes & vegetables. Good wine selection, nice sweets, friendly service. Prices a bit higher than elsewhere but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    96
    77
    46
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over priced bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Now it may be that I'm used to more downscale restaurants but I unfortunately came out of this place hungry. Food and drink seemed over priced, I ended up with 12 prawns (no sides included) and my partner had a steak (asked for medium, came out rare enough to still be alive) service was poor, we both clearly looked unhappy with our food and waiters avoided us. We also had to ask three times for our bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely view but the food is only average and is extremely overpriced. Had so so fish (grilled sardines to share and then a small, white fish for entree) along with a couple of beers and lunch cost $90. We went on the recommendation of Fodor's that listed this place as cheap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Memories not sustained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came to this place as I had a very good and happy experience some 20 years ago and wanted to re-live it again. Unfortunately, the fairly large restaurant was almost empty, with apparently a few more customers on their upper floor. Even though the restaurant was empty, the manager sat at the next table with a group of friends, we had to assume, and had a very noisy meal which totally ruined the ambience. The octopus salad we shared was very big and quite good, while the grilled golden sea bass was a very plain fish, good but not extraordinary, but the price of 50+ euro for the fish for 2 was a bit of a shocker. I guess we have been cured of these memories.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ok, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We sat on the upper terrace for our meal at A Ruina, which unfortunately was both: (a) cold if you weren't near a heater; and (b) marred by a large group of what were probably stag weekenders loudly proclaiming what sexual favours they were going to receive later that evening. To be honest it would have been nice if the management could have had a quiet word, as this is a classy venue and not the kind of place where loutish behaviour is ok. Besides, it isn't nice for any diner to have to sit and listen to obscenities during their meal, regardless of where it is.

Anyway... to the food. it was ok, but not spectacular - my partner had sea bass and I ordered the gambas (king prawns). I wish I'd ordered a meia dose as the portion was huge with no accompaniments bar garlic mayonnaise, which required a separate side order.

At nearly 50 euros for two main courses, one beer and a mineral water, this wasn't good value at all. I accept that you're paying for the view - which is lovely, situated in a building overlooking the Praia des Pescadores - but it is possible to get better value seafood or fish elsewhere in Albufeira.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruina A Restaurant also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Ruina A Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruina A Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.