We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia to your Saves list
Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Estrada de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Like the previous reviewer said, there was very little info available on these apartments when we booked (3 days before going!). They were a really good size and very well equipped in terms of the kitchen. The apartment was cleaned and towels changed every other day, and the linen changed mid-week. We found the staff very friendly but more the kind who would give you plenty of help and advice if you asked, but not volunteer info otherwise, so just ask. Take a few dishwasher tablets from home as all apartments have a dishwasher, and a few pegs so your swimming things don't blow away while they're drying. The only gripe with the room is that the beds are very very hard! There are lots of books in reception that you can borrow, and the 'free maps' are very useful.

There are 2 lovely beaches within a 15 minute walk (turn left at the roundabout for Santa Eulalia or right for Oura), lots of good restaurants and bars, a supermarket etc. and the bus to Albufeira old town stops just outside the apartments. The very first restaurant as you head out and turn right (by the shop) does lovely pizzas and the one on the opposite side just before the roundabout does great trad Portuguese food (down the alleyway). The pool area I think probably would be a bit over stretched in school holidays but no problems in early July, although it does suffer from people leaving towels on the sunbeds all day and only appearing for an hour (Grrrr...). Overall we had a great time and these apartments made a comfortable, quiet and convenient base.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool may be noisier if the pool bar is used at night, but they don't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
75
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I don't normally write reviews but felt compelled to do so as there was little information about these apartments available before we stayed. I agree totally with the comments in the earlier reivew from luigi campedelli 'refreshing relaxed and fully functional'. I'm not sure what more we could have expected from a self catering studio. We stayed for 10 days at the begining of July and couldn't have asked for any more. The couple of times we needed staff they were extremely helpful and polite. Cleaning staff appeared conscientious and we had our towels and bedding changed much more frequently than advertised. We did use the pool and although busy at times were always able to find a bed. The apartments are sited in a decent postion, handy supermarket near bye. Close enough to the strip..but far away enough for the noise not to bother us and a short 'city bus ride' to the old town. 1.20 euros. (well worth the visit). We used public transport a lot and found the 'open top tour bus' useful and informative - but a little expensive at 13 euros each for two days but you can 'hop on and off'. Nice resturants near bye including Paulau's and Neto and many more. We ate out most nights and found this reasonably affordable, but on the odd occasion when 'eating in' the kitchen was more than appropriate for this, and in our opinion ideal if catering for a young family. Plenty to do and see and although a steep walk or lots of steps (which ever route you take) to the beach its all within reasonable walking distance, and with the nice coves, well worth the effort. We are a couple in our early 50's and felt this holiday would suit all ages.

Room Tip: Room 49 looked over a very small park - so ask if you want a pool view - but saying that once doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

These apartments are a great choice. We arrived at the apartments early in the morning around 10.30am and check-in into the rooms wasn't until 3pm. However, the staff got our room cleaned straight away and we were able to get into it within 15 minutes of arriving. The apartments are surrounded by a security gate with a code system making it feel very secure. The reception area is lovely and welcoming and the reception staff go out their way to make you feel welcome.

We booked a studio apartment, and it is the biggest studio apartment I have ever been to! There is a small kitchen at the back which has all the appliances you could wish for including a large fridge/freezer which is really suitable for freezing water and taking it out with you. The bathroom is also spacious. The main area is large considering it is a studio. There is plenty of room for 3 people. There are two balconies one to the rear of the apartment and one to the front. There is a safe in the wardrobe which uses a code system so once it is set there is no need to carry a key with you. It costs 13.30 Euros to activate the safe, which is reasonable for 1 week. There is also a stand-alone fan in the room which you can just plug into the wall, however, the nights are fairly cool so we found we didn't need to use it.

The pool area is fairly small but doesn't seem to get that busy because a lot of the residents tend to go to the beach. There are two types of sun beds and some of them are just flat so if you want the good ones then you need to get there early. The pool is a good size and has a shallow end and a deep end, however it is only 1.60m in its deepest point. There is a snack bar by the pool which sells nice food and drinks at a really reasonable price, it also serves evening meals. The apartments, pool, surrounding area and gardens were really clean. The maids come twice a week and supply you with new towels, bedding etc.

The apartments are located in Santa Eulalia which is just outside Albufeira and has restaurants and bars really close by the apartments. However, it is literally a 5-10 minute walk to the new town of Albufeira which is bustling with restaurants, bars, clubs. Even though it has some clubs it is not unsuitable for families and we saw lots of children and people outside the 18-30s age range enjoying themselves. These apartments are really appropriate if you want to relax but also be near to what is going on. There is also a supermarket right by the apartments if you turn right when you come out. The beach is also only 10 minutes walk away and it is a lovely sandy beach.

You can also get a taxi to the old town of Albufeira which we were told would cost about 5-8 Euros each way. However, we were told it is fairly similar to the new town and so unless you are looking for more than just restaurants then you might not want to bother. It is a little far to walk. There may also be buses available.

There is a large variety of nationalities who stay at these apartments, we met British, Norwegian, Dutch, German and I'm sure there were lots of others.

Tips: It is very windy and can be a little chilly on the evenings!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a large roof terrace. If you have difficulty walking request a room with lift acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 nights , what was ment to be a nice relaxing holiday but we were wrong. If it weren't the builders near bye making a noise first thing in the morning it was the ones in the apartment above us. Swimming pool is way to small for the amount of people that was staying there. Had someone pinch our towels whilst being out on the balcony left to dry and £30 pound Stirling taken... We spent the most of our time in the old town which is about €4 in taxi which has a better selection of bars n restaurants. If we were to come back we would defiantly stay in the old town area where the beach is lovely to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed here in october and it is definitely one of the best apartments i have been to. The staff are lovely and the pool while a bit small was very clean. The room was a studio but had lots of space with huge double bed and a couch that turned into a double too.Would highly recommend Palmeiras ,its well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Stayed in same room on second visit overlooking the pool.Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is an apartment-hotel with independent access to each unit. There is parking within the enclosure and for some apartments you are able to park your car in front of your apartment.

We stayed in a studio apartment for two weeks. The apartment had two large twin beds and a flip-flop couch which could easily accommodate a couple. The sitting room area had a TV with most of the British open signal TV channels including, curiously, the BBC Midlands news. The dining area had a relatively good size wooden table for 4 people. The kitchen was fully equipped with a fridge including 4 drawers freezer; the cooker was electrical (induction); there was also a dish washer; a toaster; sets of crockery and cutlery and we could ask for extra items in the reception. The bathroom had a bathtub that could be used as shower; besides, of course, a sink, toilet and a bidé; the whole house was supplied with hot water from an electrical water eater tank conveniently situated in one of the balconies. The apartment had two balconies; one of which off the kitchen had a clothes hanger dryer; perfect for drying our beach towels. The apartment was cleaned 2/3 times during our stay; with change of towels and supply of toilet paper. However I'm sure extra cleaning could be arranged, had we wanted and had we asked the manager. At an extra charge we could had an apartment with air conditioning; however having a north facing façade and being on the ground floor, our apartment easily did without the AC, or any fan, despite the hot Algarvian climate.

The hotel is situated at the heart of Areias de São João; a growing suburb of Albufeira. But you can easily avoid going to the city centre. Not far from the hotel there is a supermarket; plenty of restaurants and the best night-life the Algarve has to offer. Nevertheless the hotel is sufficiently isolated from "the Strip" to guaranty a good night sleep. The hotel has a swimming pool; but we didn't use it; as we prefer the beach, which is in walking distance. There is wireless Internet access from the lobby.

The staff are very welcoming. The manager, Dona Filomena speaks good English and is more than happy to try to satisfy your special requests.

Room Tip: On checking in, ask for an apartment in the ground floor and north facing façade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touristic apartments near the fabulous beaches in Albufeira, and near restaurants and cafes. Swimming pool, bar, TV, kitchen with all appliances. Friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmeiras De Santa Eulalia Hotel Albufeira
Palmeiras De Santa Eulalia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmeiras de Santa Eulalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.