We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best appartment we have ever stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento to your Saves list
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Rua Vasco da Gama | Praia dos Aveiros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best appartment we have ever stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just spent a week in a top floor appartment overlooking the pool. Clean, modern, well equipped with friendly staff. Close to a lovely cove and within walking distance of the 'strip' with shops, bars, restaurants. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: High floor and overlooking pool gets plenty of sun on the large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    112
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
97
140
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned from staying in these apartments over xmas. My partner and I really enjoyed our stay.
We arrived xmas eve at 11am and was unable to check in early as we had requested and had to wait until 12:30 until we could check in. We didnt mind though as we wanted to get a few bits and bobs before the supermarkets closed for xmas and we were able to store our bags whilst we waited.
We were very impressed on entering the apartments, very modern and large. Massive balcony, really nice bathroom (bar the dim lighting) , comfy sofa in lounge, lovely kitchen. Only thing I found was missing was an oven. Location was fine but in future if returning to Albufeira, we would book somewhere closer to Old Town as found the strip quite tacky and most of the good restaurants seemed to be in the Old Town. Located roughly 10 min walk to strip and 45 min walk to Old Town (did we go the long way round?!)
Would recomment the Clay Oven indian restaurant at the top of the strip near taxi rank, food was to die for! we also enjoyed Paulus Pasta Cafe , would recomment the canelloni.
Only problem we had whilst staying here was the microwave was broken, had to phone up a few times for it to be fixed, someone turned up said it was fixed, went to use it the next day and was still broken, once again someone came up and 'fixed it' , worked once then broke again so gave up!
Receptionists were blunt and rude bar one nice helpful lady.

All in al, had a lovely relaxing stay and would definitely recommend these apartments but ask for a pool facing higher floor apartment :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have just returned from a 5 night stay in Albufeira staying at the Areias Village Apartments for a nice winters break in the sun. i decided to book this hotel as it is only 2 years old and the rooms looked to have been a very high standard. I was definately not disappointed. On arrival, the friendly receptionist booked us in very efficiently and showed us a map of the local area which was very handy. The apartments are based in a private setting within a 5 minute walk to the strip and 20 minute walk to the Old Town. Oura beach was only a 10 minute walk away.The accomodation is very modern with all the standard amenities. The rooms were immaculate with a huge balcony overlooking the pool gardens. Beds were very comfy and the kitchen was of a very high standard. The hotel supplied only one pan though this was no problem as the receptionist kindly gave us another one on the spot. The bathroom had a lovely bath and shower though I felt the lights were too dim. (I guess you could call it ambient lighting which I slowly got used to) We had a nice flat screen tv with a few english satellite channels and a comfy sofa. The hotel grounds were immaculate and included a nice size swimming and paddling pools on a decking area. There was little choice at the hotel's restaurant so we decided to cook in the room and eat in other nearby places as there were plenty of restaurants nearby. I highly recommend the one opposite the hotel which the receptionist recommended. We had no problem with noise as it was out of season and the rooms seem to be sound proof. Overall I was so impressed with the hotels cleanliness, location and the friendliness of all the staff, I would not hesitate to return to these apartments on my next visit to Albufeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens for the nice views and the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our second stay at the apartments. They are lovely modern rooms, all mod cons included.
Nice quiet pool area with decking. In a good position close to the beach area and The Strip area.
Only negatives is that they allow hen and stag parties to stay here. Once they arrive the place is taken over and it becomes a different place to stay. The other is that The Kiss nightclub is opposite and this stays open on Fridays and Saturdays until the very early hours. We heard and saw people leaving here at gone 5am in the morning.
The first time we stayed here we had the top floor apartment. We requested a high floor this time. They put us on the bottom floor!

Room Tip: For privacy ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Considering a winter break, we were looking for somewhere comfortable to stay, convenient to restaurants and bars but near enough to the wonderful beach where we could wander along the coast to Olhos de Água or the beach to Albufeira. Our pool facing 3rd floor room at the Areias Village met all those requirements and more.

Positives: Location just 5 minutes from beach and choice of local restaurants, pleasantly situated in gardens - gated for security, spotlessly clean, size and layout of apartment, adequate storage, level of comfort, air con, quality of furniture, fitments and fittings, spacious bathroom with bath and shower, large balcony. parking, spacious reception with helpful staff, quiet room with books, WiFi, internet access (1e for 15mins). Flat screen TV with BBC1 ITV and Sky News. KISS club was probably closed while we were there as we heard and saw nothing.

Negatives:The previous review from ang2angel was spot on especially regarding the bathroom lighting and location of the electricity sockets. I found the covering on the mattress was noisy when I moved and the pillows were not that comfortable, small and squishy. No dishcloth, tea towel or washing up liquid, cooking facilities may be a little limited if you really are self catering for a family but I have seen far worse.

We did not use the restaurant or bar as it was so quiet so we cannot really comment on them though I would say it lacked atmosphere, the pool area looked pleasant on the day we arrived but it rained for the rest of our stay there so again, I cannot comment.

To sum up. for what we wanted it was absolutely fine and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Front, pool facing rooms on higher floors are sunny during the day and have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Essentially, the rooms are individual apartments within a hotel - and what rooms they are.

Upon walking through the main hotel door, the first impressions were good - newly built, clean, well kept, quiet. The lady on reception was smiley, friendly and spoke good English. Entering our apartment for the first time, we were pleasantly surprised by the sheer size of the rooms.

Positives? Great air conditioning, very modern/contemporary styling, friendly and approachable staff, clean pool right outside along with well kept gardens, shops very close for stocking up on food for self-catering, TVs in all apartments with a great choice of channels.

Negatives? Walls are a little on the thin side - conversations and footsteps could be heard, the Kiss nightclub - situated very close to the hotel, but could only ever be faintly heard on Friday and Saturday nights, the stray dogs and cats in the area - heartbreaking, but DON'T feed them as they'll follow you all night and the hotel restaurant which served up the most hideous three course meal known to mankind - go explore and eat somewhere else!

The location is great for the Strip (if cheesy nightclubs are your thing) as it's about a five minute walk away. The Old Town was preferred for us as it's full of restaurants, bars and beautiful architecture and this was about a fifteen minute walk away. Drinks and food were surprisingly reasonable.

There's plenty of buses and taxis if your legs get tired, and there's even a little train/bus that loops around the main touristy areas which runs every twenty minutes.

We had a great week away and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Well after reading all previous reviews I can only but say they are MAINLY all spot on.The apartment its self is BIG,CLEAN and in an IDEAL location.As with everything each person will have their own negative and positive views so here goes with mine.

POSITIVE: BIG APARTMENT,AIR CON,CLEAN, MODERN,GARDEN AREAS,IDEAL LOCATION,FRIENDLY STAFF,GREAT FURNISHINGS,IDEAL FOR UP TO 3 ADULTS,HAPPY HOUR 1 EURO LARGE WINE!FREE WFI

NEGATIVE: No oven (if self catering be pre-paired to eat out every night)we did!!!
Lighting although mixed Positive and negative ....Negative for females wanting to apply make up and do hair etc for the night!)
Positive it is cosy and the Balcony lighting is dim so nice to sit out at night.
Plug sockets not allocated in right places IE: Mirror in bedroom no plug socket for hair straightners or hair dryer! (hair dryer in bathroom rubbish) and with dim lighting it's not good

Also if you choose self catering I would advise the Supermarket in Albuferia central BUT you will have to get a taxi back,the reason I say this is because the 2 little shops (1 small and 1 supermarket) are not very good!!!
The night club KISS was not a problem atall and for opening 2am till 7am 7 days there was no noise at all but again this time of year may be different!

The location is GREAT for the Strip (5 mins away) and Old town (20 mins away)and the surrounding beaches 10 mins and 20 mins away!, We did travel 29th Oct 2011 so everywhere seemed very very quiet which was fine but there was a lot of things closed,although there are still enough people touting for your custom even on the beach!!! (Pains).

The transport around Albufeira is very reasonable and with your owns legs! FREE and Taxis around 5 Euro from old town to hotel not too bad,there is also the road train 3euro 50 all day!

All the Beaches are well worth a visit (as long as no rain) which we had! A visit to the old town is also worth a visit although again this time of year nowt going on really.

All in all THIS IS A VERY GOOD HOTEL AND WELL WORTH A VISIT,I would recommend to my friends and family,very good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for pool facing this gets all the sun all day,higher the better but it only has 4 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Praia dos Aveiros, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento Hotel Albufeira
Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areias Village Hotel-Apartamento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.