We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant sunday afteroon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro

Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro
Rua Almeida Garrett, 30, just off The Strip | Areias de S. Joao, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
+351 963 176 635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 580 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Eclectic, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Jazz and Blues themed restaurant. Johnny Hooper's live saxophone shows with fun music quiz, party atmosphere and dancing are on Tuesday and Friday nights. Chill-out Sunday afternoons take place on the garden terrace with cool local musicians providing the laid-back vibe. Gluten-free menu options.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“brilliant sunday afteroon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

went there with my husband and son on a sunday afternoon and had a fantastic afternoon. Live guitarist was excellent - reallt entertaining and good was lovely. Would deffo go back for another visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    103
    33
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Lincs.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great evenings entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went here after seeing the advertisement in the 'Free Maps'. We arrived on the Tuesday evening without booking. What a great night we had ! So good that we went back on the Friday evening. OK, the food isn't top notch, but it's good, but the overall evening with the entertainment and atmosphere is unique, The staff are very attentive, as soon as you want a drink or food they are there. We are going back to the Algarve in 3 weeks and I am trying to book a table at Johnnys for the 2 nights that we will be there. It may not be your scene, but we are in our 60's and we had a great night till about 1.00 in the morning, both about pissed, up to you !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERITH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Martin & Lynn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited Johnny's Sax Bistro 3 times during our holiday, once for Sunday lunch and music on the terrace and twice for the evenings food and entertainment. Staff, including Johnny made us feel very welcomed, food was very well cooked and a good choice available, wine to suite all tastes and pocket also available. All in All a very good value for money lunch/evening, considering the GREAT live entertainment you get included. Will be back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great all round venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This venue is a bit off the beaten track but what a find !! We had a traditional Sunday roast and it was excellent, there was background music on the terrace by a very talented musician. We went back on our last night in the Algarve and had a brilliant evening listening to Johnny Hooper playing sax whilst eating great food. The staff were excellent and attentive. The whole experience was second to none. Brilliant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Johnny will seduce you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Following a chance meeting in Old Albufeira town square, we were invited to an evening of sax & fine food. Turned out to be such a great party night that we went back again the following week and weren't disappointed. If you are lucky enough to visit his restaurant in Albufeira you will be in for a great treat - fantastic food, excellent music and such a fun night with laughter and merriment. You will come away with wonderful memories and a roomful of new friends.........along with a cd!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Hooper's Saxophone Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.