We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Catraio

O Catraio
Rua de Outubro, Albufeira 73 8200, Portugal
938186637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 584 Restaurants in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children, we ate here twice and loved every bite. From the outside it looks a bit like your usual cheap cafe, do not let looks fool you.
The first day we ate from the tourist menu, it was €9.50 and you got soup or garlic bread starter, mains were piri piri chicken, grilled salmon, pork and a few others, the salmon was huge and was cooked to perfection and the chicken was the best I have ever eaten, you had a choice of creme caramel or chocolate mousse, then coffee and another drink while you eat. The service was great and the place full of locals (which is always a good sign)
The second time myself and my hubby shared the meat cataplana with rice, it was €22 and worth every penny. Very tasty.
All in all I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Can't praise it enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    72
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

As the title suggests the food in this place is excellent. We visited Xmas week and I chose the Monkfish Kebab and the missus the grill sole. Both were spot on and plentiful. Definitely go back next time in Albufeira.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the O Catraio where we ate from the tourist menu - 9.9 euros for 3 courses plus coffee, including a glass of wine/beer or soft drink. We had the garlic bread to start followed by a lovely salmon fillet accompanied by salad and new potatoes. There was a choice of sweets and we chose the chocolate mousse - delicious. Lovely food and great value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Repeat Visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visit Albufeira 3 times a year, always make a point of eating here, friendly people, wide ranging menu catering for all tastes, good wine selection ( go beyond the house wines ) all at a very good price, always busy with a mixed bag of Europeans, can't say better than that, a must do restaurant when visiting the town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just done street from our hotel. such a good value small place away from the busy square.
Had one best Sirloin Steaks here in a long time cooked to perfection. Had Chicken Piri Piri another evening very good also. Prices much lower than other places nearby as well. A must visit place and so popular that they even turn people away as full. Other places around empty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Catraio also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to O Catraio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Catraio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.