We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and friendly biggest selling point is location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa to your Saves list
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“clean and friendly biggest selling point is location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ideally located for the old town and beaches. Rooms cleaned every day and towels changed every day excellent cleanliness. We were in room 203 on a corner and so had a huge corner balcony with sunloungers on! Rooms 303 and 403 alsobhad these. They did look out onto a main road but this did not bother us and did not keepnus awake. Showers were great and very powerful. We only stayed b&b but breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Breakfast room a little dark and The chairs werent super comfy though so not sure if they would maybe put cushions on these at night time?? As I cant imagine sitting on these for long periods of time. We did not use the pool as it is not our scene but all looked clean and nice as did indoor pool and jacuzzis. Staff on reception were great when we had a cloudy day they were very helpful in providing a bus timetable and highlighting all the buses we could get.
If you want to be in a great location with a clean and friendly base to explore it from this hotel is just for you.

Room Tip: 203 303 and 403 have huge balconies with sun loungers on.although do overlook a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and for taking the time to give us your opinion regarding your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your opinion and suggestions are very important and help us to improve our service and standards.
We hope that the recent renovations made in our hotel are of your approval and serve to improve our guests comfort.
We were pleased to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back in a near future to a Vila Galé Hotel.
Kind regards
Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    396
    140
    40
    15
See reviews for
245
503
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BlackpoolEngland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Many of the reviews for this hotel are good and this is no different.We stayed from July 1st to July 15th.We were All inclusive and in a roadside room 105.Flew from Blackpool which is very handy as we live in Fleetwood.Transfer was only an hour,and we were in good time for the evening meal.Always found reception very helpful changing money and calling taxis.The room was large enough for the two of us and had all the extras as has been mentioned before.The pool was good but soon learnt that towels on the beds at 8 am was a must.No activities around the pool but probaly because of lack of room.Used the pool bar every day and went in for the lunch in the dining room,nice and cool and plenty of choice.Evening meal was very good with plenty of choice.Always a big cheese selection lunch and dinner.The bar was fine and quite a few nights thefootball was on when we were there.We enjoyed one or two nights in the bar when a good crowd were in and it created a good atmosphere.We did go out at night to local bars and local restaurants and there is lots of choice .We preferred the old town .Overall a great stay and we will be definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berks.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a room overlooking the street and slept every night with the windows open. There was street noise and we were woken from time to time by shouts and laughter, but it wasn't a major problem and if we had chosen to sleep with the window shut and the air conditioning on, we wouldn't have heard it at all. Although it wasn't the best view, it was better than I had expected. Sound proofing in the room was good and we hardly heard any noise from other rooms or the corridor. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept on and better than the one I have at home. The rooms were clean and comfortable and my only suggestion would be to move the mirror nearer to the window. We only had breakfast, but there was a great selection, with something for everyone and wonderful fresh fruit. The location was great with a few restaurants in very close proximity and the majority a safe, 10 minute walk away. As others have mentioned, it was difficult to get a sunbed, but not impossible as we were only 2. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and it was one of the best package holiday hotels I have stayed in. One last thing, previous reviewers had mentioned that it was cool in the evening, I thought that was because they had gone early in the season. Be warned, even on hot days, it does get cool in the evening - some of the restaurants/bars have blankets and heaters!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for a week with my family and from the start nothing was too much trouble for the staff. On arrival asked if we could upgrade to a suite and after a brief consultation our request was granted the suite we were given was large and spacious and as it was my birthday the hotel gave us complimentary champagne and chocolates (thanks again).Overall a clean and welcoming hotel and very highly recommended we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a fantastic time at this hotel. I travelled with my daughter, granddaughter and her friend. We had booked two rooms, one all inclusive and one bed and breakfast. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to all inclusive for us all and given a suite which was on the top floor with brilliant views! There were two ensuite bedrooms plus a living room with kitchen, each room had a huge balcony. The food was very good, the all inclusive meant we had constant access to free drinks, ice creams, toasties for lunch from the pool bar, as well as an excellent choice of food in the dining room. We were also entitled to a free three course a la carte meal which was top class. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and it was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Well done!

Room Tip: An even numbered room is better as it faces the pool. The suites are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review as we are really pleased you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa and were satisfied with the all inclusive option.
Our all inclusive also includes for7 night stays or more an a la carte dinner.
We hope to welcome you back in a near future and thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels

Kind regards


Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked into this hotel to be away from the noise of the party areas and we got the impression it was quiet. The noise of the traffic woke me up at night, every night, as our room was on the road. The rooms were clean but very basic, I had expected more considering the price we paid. (over 1000 euro).
Another problem was that we never got a bed at the pool even though we got down to the pool no later that 10am after breakfast. A few days during our stay we had to sit on the grass or just walk around until we could get a bed near the pool.
The entertainment in the bar was awful. I was expecting maybe a dance show/caberet etc.
I won't be back and unfortunately wouldn't recommend this hotel to family or friends.

Room Tip: Get to the pool at 8am if you want a bed. Pay extra to be away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and we do regret you have not enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We do advise guests not to reserve sunbeds by the pool and appeal to their good sense and civism but unfortunately this is not respected and becomes difficult to control in the peak season.
For nightly entertainment we have live music 4 times a week, folk dancers, a show with dancers on Friday ( Luel ), a magician show and karaoke.
We hope you may reconsider and choose a Vila Galé Hotel for a future holiday.

Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just got back from spending an 11 day holiday at this hotel with by wife and 16 year old son. We could not fault the service with the rooms cleaned and the towels changed on a daily basis. the standard of food was excellent with a wide choice available to suite every one. We had an evening flight home and were provided with a shower and clean towels prior to our departure even though we had checked out at noon.
Would recommend this hotel for everyone as it is close enough for everything (only 10 minute walk to the "square") yet quite enough if you are just looking to relax by the pool. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review and are really pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again in one of our Vila Galé Hotels on a future holiday.
Kind regards

Rosário Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
3.9 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#17 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#74 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#8 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 stars 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#24 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.