We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa to your Saves list
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here twice and really enjoyed our stay each time. We booked a room on the 4th floor - highest floor - for both stays. Can just about see the sea - which in fairness the hotel does explain beforehand that it's not a full sea view.
Nice clean spacious rooms with basic kitchenette facilities - which were ideal. Pool area is very clean and spacious. Breakfast is buffet and good choices.
Location is ok. Beach and escalators are about a 10 mins walk. Some reasonable restaurants and bars within a 5 mins walk but all the best bars and restaurants are in the town centre. Albufeira is a beautiful location with a great atmosphere there day and night. Taxis only about 3-4 euros from hotel to centre of town.
Would definitely recommend and will be back later this year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was very pleasing to read your review which we appreciate and thank you for sharing.
We hope to welcome you back again this year !
We inform our guests that the Vila Galé Cerro Alagoa has undergone some renovations. We have a new show cooking area in the restaurant and new paint work all over the hotel.

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    337
    123
    34
    13
See reviews for
193
438
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is excellent,Eduardo was the best,Paulo the bar man was also very good. The reason I am complaining is, we were all inclusive very good so far, until check out time, we were then presented with a bill for 33 Euros this was for the water in our room cost 3 Euros a bottle so as we were all inclusive we did not see any list for water, we have been on many holidays all over the world and this is the first time we have been charged, is this another hidden charge? So be warned not to drink the water from the fridge in your room. I would be interested in the hotels explaination

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review. We were pleased to find you enjoyed our hotel and will pass on your comments to Eduardo and Paulo.
We are sorry that you did not notice the information ( round sticker ) on the mini bar door mentioning that the drinks inside the mini bar ( waters ) do have a charge. This information is on the mini bar door and we hope guests may read this as to avoid future misunderstanding.
The drinks in the mini bar are charged despite what board you have booked ( Bed and breakfast, all inclusive, etc ).
We do hope that this misunderstanding will not change the good impression you have had during your holiday, and sincerely hope you may visit us again

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have just returned from a week spent in the Vila Gale. I travelled alone but was given a large comfortable bed. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean and the food in the restaurant really nice with plenty of choice. The breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit.
The staff were helpful and pleasant especially Eduardo the acting manager. I will return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quieter than the front which overlooks the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review as it was very pleasing to find you have enjoyed your holiday at the Cerro Alagoa ! We hope to welcome you again in the near future

kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff are so friendly and helpful in this hotel, nothing is too much bother! Marco on reception helped us to our room. I had my elderly mother with me and Eduardo met her every meal time and personally helped her with her choices, it made her feel so special and also meant that I had time to myself.
We had a disabled room and the bathroom was well equipped for mum to manage. There is a fridge in the room. I would have liked a kettle to make tea but that is just a little minus. Rooms are spacious and very clean.
Lots of facilities, children's pool and playroom, gym, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, spa, snooker and games room, outdoor and indoor pool, library and bar (Paulo was great fun and always smiling).
Location was great, the hotel is between the old and new town so both can be enjoyed. A little train stops outside the hotel if you don't fancy walking and you can purchase a daily ticket and use it as often as you like.
We were half board and the restaurant food was lovely with something for everyone. Even Rosa, the manager , was there on occasions to greet you and make sure everything is OK.
Will definitely return, thanks everyone.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your lovely review as it was a pleasure to find you and your mother have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. We will pass on your review to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Hoping to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed there from Dec.19 th to 2nd Jan and both myself and my girlfriend had a great time ..after a shoddy cancellation close to our departure date for this holiday I can honestly say this was the best move we could have hoped for..Christmas was quiet but we met some great people there and made our own entertainment..closer to new year it picked up and was a truly excellent holiday.when we heard there was a beach party on new years eve we had already decided to go to it so missed the gala dinner. My advise is to go all inclusive as the beers are quite expensive .The staff were awesome too from cleaners to the buffet to the reception .bruno the manager was a top bloke too.he even had the chef make us a curry as a different option which was great .we also got switched from a road view to sea view in our 2nd week .just a final say to 2 of the bar staff .Mario &paulo top blokes made our time at the bar fun and joyful ..I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to come to albufeira .just the staff alone make this a top hotel .so much effort is put it and us holidaymakers noticed .thanks for the effort put in and may be just may be we will see you soon .Gary & mandy from halifax.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We will pass it on to our staff as they will be very pleased to read it and find that our main objective which is our guests total satisfaction has been achievd.

Thank you for choosing the Cerro Alagoa and hope to welcome you back

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here over the new year, travelling with travel department. Excellent location between old and new town. The new year gala was brilliant. The staff are excellent, room staff, bar staff and especially the restaurant staff. Only quibble I have is that the "free" internet available in reception is awful. The hotel are losing a lot of customers over this. One day I counted 8 people from our group in a nearby bar using the internet all drinking, the hotel is loving this revenue. I felt that they wanted everyone to pay for upgrading! The rooms are a little bit tired but clean and well serviced every day. Spa is really tired and changing rooms are just awful, indoor pool is very badly lit.

Room Tip: Get a room facing pool, rooms at front are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review, we were pleased to find you enjoyed your stay and the Newn years eve with us. We will pass on your review to our staff as it is highly motivating for them.
We are trying to improve our wifi-internet signal, and your suggestions and comments are welcome regarding this and the indoor lighting.
We hope we may welcome you back in the near future


Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent a week in this very nice, ultra-clean hotel which has spacious well presented bedrooms. Being winter, it was nice to have the indoor pool, though I did brave a dip outdoors as well! The sea was a bit too rough for trying a dip, though the water was adequately warm for an irish person like me. The food was lovely, very pleasing. Next door is the most wonderful cake shop and cafe! The hotel put on a fabulous New Year Party for 2013-2014-well done to the fantastic staff for feeding us, watering us and entertaining us so marvellously.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your lovely review as we were very pleased to fin you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa and the New Years party.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.