We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa to your Saves list
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here over the new year, travelling with travel department. Excellent location between old and new town. The new year gala was brilliant. The staff are excellent, room staff, bar staff and especially the restaurant staff. Only quibble I have is that the "free" internet available in reception is awful. The hotel are losing a lot of customers over this. One day I counted 8 people from our group in a nearby bar using the internet all drinking, the hotel is loving this revenue. I felt that they wanted everyone to pay for upgrading! The rooms are a little bit tired but clean and well serviced every day. Spa is really tired and changing rooms are just awful, indoor pool is very badly lit.

Room Tip: Get a room facing pool, rooms at front are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review, we were pleased to find you enjoyed your stay and the Newn years eve with us. We will pass on your review to our staff as it is highly motivating for them.
We are trying to improve our wifi-internet signal, and your suggestions and comments are welcome regarding this and the indoor lighting.
We hope we may welcome you back in the near future


Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    315
    122
    31
    11
See reviews for
181
415
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I spent a week in this very nice, ultra-clean hotel which has spacious well presented bedrooms. Being winter, it was nice to have the indoor pool, though I did brave a dip outdoors as well! The sea was a bit too rough for trying a dip, though the water was adequately warm for an irish person like me. The food was lovely, very pleasing. Next door is the most wonderful cake shop and cafe! The hotel put on a fabulous New Year Party for 2013-2014-well done to the fantastic staff for feeding us, watering us and entertaining us so marvellously.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your lovely review as we were very pleased to fin you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa and the New Years party.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa many times over the past few years always found it very clean throughout ,the staff always friendly, food at breakfast time is very varied all fresh, eggs are cooked while you wait, cater for all tastes loved the pancakes with the chocolate sauce... top makes.
Pool and pool area is immaculately maintained, great having a dip even in October when we were there last. loved it that much we are going again tomorrow, for a 3 day short break cant wait.
Hope they are still doing the wine tasting on a Thursday evening Vila Gale wine is very very good
Hotel is situated in a good position between the strip and the old town both a short walk or jump on the train it stops just outside... 4.00 euros for a day pass, some nice small local restaurant's on the way down to the old town worth a try.
Beach at the old town is beautiful, through the tunnel clean sand cant beat it.
See you tomorrow X

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing you review, and hope you have enjoyed once again your stay at the Cerro Alagoa. It is really pleasing to know you continue visiting us.
We are still doing our wine tasting on Thursdays and will continue to do so.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After a first class traveling experience with Jet 2. com this hotel was the icing on the cake.
Upon entering the reception we were greeted as though we had won the lottery, we were offered a disable room, but was informed one was not made up , we were offered one with a sea view on second floor , but one had to be prepared, no problem ,as we could leave our luggage securely at reception having arrived early afternoon we would go for a walkabout for a snack and a drink,

We returned to the hotel and our room was ready and luggage already taken up to our room, and wow! What a lovely surprise what a very clean room and en suite and very tastefully decorated and laid out.

The staff were at all times very polite and helpful and no pressure to book full meals etc as we booked only B&B.
There is three lifts of a good size which also accommodated my mobility scooter so that was a bonus at not having to leave it in reception where the little people may think it was for them to play on!
There was a choice of continental or a full English,now there is a full English Yorkshire style but this Portugese full English is totally something else, I,m convinced sometime in the past a true Yorkshire man hand a hand in this excellent breakfast feast.

Now not forgetting lunch, we like to try out different cafés etc but we found a real gem on the cliffs walkway to the Fisherman's Beach , it is called The Lemon Tree, very small but very big on welcome and food quality and Vladka the waitress was a very nice and friendly girl who spoke excellent English and had a very good sense of humour, her daddy is the chef and his choice of mealse were superb,
So would we go back to this hotel ,well that,s a BIG BIG yes Even though it is a very hilly walk down to the beach and the old town, as far as mobility scooters go one need one with at least an 18 amp battery and climbing the hills is no problem.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main road may be a little noisy from traffic but not from people as this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Your review was really pleasing to read and thank you for having taken the time to share it. We were very happy to know you have really enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa,and will be back !
That is our main objective ... our guests total satisfaction.

Hoping to see you soon

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

If I was to describe this hotel in one word it would be: Average. There is nothing that stands out about the hotel in either a positive or a negative manner.

The room was okay -- an ideal place to get sleep at night. We were on the third floor and faced towards the street, and so sometimes had to contend with a good deal of noise from traffic and passing pedestrians. Nothing that a pair of earplugs couldn't fix. On the plus side the room did have black out curtains.

The breakfast buffet was good but boring. The selection didn't vary at all from day to day and after two weeks of the same food choices breakfast had lost all appeal. Fried eggs were cooked literally fried in oil that was an inch thick in the pan -- which turned me off as we're a spray the pan with pam and crack an egg kind of family. After seeing how they did it I stuck with the boiled eggs for the rest of our stay. The bacon was also undercooked for my liking, but you can't please everyone all the time.

The location was however ideal within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The little bakery/café at the hotel next door was a nice option for lunches, dinners, or grabbing a pastry as a snack. It was also nice to be able to walk to the Continente grocery store, and being near to a Laundromat across the road. I also appreciated having free Wi-Fi in the lobby area.

Housekeeping staff was friendly. There was never a time that we passed the housekeeping staff in the hallway that they didn't take a second to say hello. Unfortunately the same can not be said about the staff at the front desk who rarely if ever greeted us as we went past, and many times there was no one at the desk inside the breakfast restaurant to greet guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review. Your comments are welcome and help us to improve our standards and service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in a future stay and hope at that time we may attain your expectations.
Thank you for chosing the Cerro Alagoa for your holiday

kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

On arrival at the Hotel, we were very impressed by the presentation and location. The reception staff have a great sense of humour and are quick and efficient. We arrived to our room to a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered pineapple and nuts. A lovely gesture for a recent birthday.

We had a pool balcony room on the 3rd floor. The views are nice and you can see the sea in the distance. If you have the option for a back room, take it, it’s night and day to the road at the front and side, and although quiet on all sides in the winter, I could imagine it getting pretty noisy in the high season.

The room itself had a fully tiled bathroom with power shower, well lit with a large mirror. There were 2 large wardrobes with plenty of hanging place and box shelves, a massive super king-size bed, 22inch TV with a good mix of channels including the usual satellite news channels. Air conditioning, fridge, table and chairs and a safe were also present. It’s also worth mentioning that the room was way above average size. Really spacious.

One area for improvement could be slightly softer beds, the mattress was quite hard but that’s just a preference. Another suggestion would be a mirror above the dressing table rather than on the wall near the door.

The hotel staff are a lovely bunch of people. With the exception of a couple of grumpies, they are a pleasure to be around. They work very hard and over new years’ eve and new years’ day some work from breakfast till 3am with only a couple of hours rest. At breakfast the following day there were some bleary eyes as some had only been home to sleep for 3-4 hours and were back on the job.

Paulo, as mentioned in many reviews is a lovely guy. Warm, kind and friendly – A true advocate for the hotel and loves what he does. He is always happy to chat and nothing is too much to ask of him. Mario is another charming guy. In the restaurant, Manuela and Ines are great girls. The Manager Bruno and General Manager Rosario clearly care for all the guests, the staff and the hotel . They welcome feedback at all times and will do all they can to ensure a happy stay.

Before our holiday, we read some of the reviews regarding the food at the hotel as a few people seemed a little disappointed. I can honestly say that neither ourselves, nor the others we met felt this way. It’s a difficult task for any hotel to cater perfectly for all the different nationalities and tastes at every meal. The Vila Gale in Albufeira is as good as you will find without spending a fortune.

Breakfast had all the usual things you would expect. Cold meats and cereals, breads, and a hot buffet. Quite a large selection. You won’t find an authentic English home cooked breakfast here as is the case with most of the med. But they try, and it’s not bad. The bacon is thin cut good quality ham, grilled on a not plate, the sausages are the hot dog type and the mushrooms are tinned. But everything was very fresh, very well cooked and very edible.

Lunch consisted of lots of fresh variety, salads, breads, hot buffet etc.

Evening meal was always lovely with lots of choice for everyone. At least 5 different hot choices with meats including duck, pork, chicken, turkey, leg of lamb, veal and steak. There was also lasagne, curries, meatballs, fish and pasta dishes. Unless you are incredibly fussy, you would struggle not to find something. It’s worth pointing out that just because something isn’t to your taste, doesn’t make it bad or poorly cooked.

Desserts were varied. Always ice cream and sauces with toppings. A variety of cakes and spoonable deserts. There was always an abundance of food choice. Always fresh and lovely.
Outside of meal times, the bar serves toasties and sandwiches which all come with salad and crisps. You never go hungry and it’s always done well.

The hotel has an inside and outside pool, both clean and safe. Spa facilities which are reasonably priced, Jacuzzi, steam room and gym also on the same floor. There’s also onsite hairdressers and a games room with pool table and games machines.

I’ve noticed on some of the other reviews that the onsite pub – The Dog and Duck has taken a bit of abuse. It’s not that bad. It’s a little dark and doesn’t have the comfiest seats but there’s loads of space, always football on TV when showing and music channels or news at other times. The TV’s would be better larger, as they are all very small flat screens, it might also be time to upgrade the cushions on the bench seats as they give you bum ache after a little while. You generally find that if there’s a good crowd as we found, you can have a good time anywhere. If you sit in the corner alone or as a pair, you will notice the negatives that little bit more.

At the bar there is a large selection for all with the usual wines and spirits. For the all inclusive bunch its good value. The selection includes:
Beer on tap.
Red, white and Rose made by the hotel group and good quality.
House Vodka, Rum, Brandy, whisky with mixers.
Fresh coffee as you like it is really good quality and included on all inclusive at the bar.
Cocktail of the day isn’t fabulous really. It’s not freshly made and comes from a jug in the fridge.
Fresh orange juice is at an additional cost as are all the branded drinks.

We stayed from boxing day until the 2nd of January so were fortunate enough to be at the hotel over the New year period. Included in the price of our stay was the hotels annual New year gala. This included welcome drinks, a full 5 course meal which was beautifully cooked and enjoyed by all. Champagne and wine on every table and a full waiter service for drinks which were all included. There was an after the bells buffet and the party went on until 3am with a live band that played for 6 hours straight and entertained all with a variety of music from all over the world. Everyone had a fabulous time and the staff managed a perfect blend of service and fun.

This area of Albufeira is sat neatly between the old town down at the coast where you will find the beach, quieter restaurants and bars and the strip if you want boom boom and kebabs. There’s a little bus train that conveniently stops right outside the hotel and covers 4 stops in one direction until it finds its way back to the hotel. It’s 4 Euros for the day each to hop on and off or 2.50 for one trip. It’s worth taking it one stop to the strip, walking down the strip, along the cost to the old town and then jumping on again up the hill back to the hotel. Around the hotel you will find a McDonalds and KFC opposite, 2 supermarkets on either side of the street which have everything you would ever need at local prices as this is quite a residential area so it caters for locals at competitive prices.

The old town was relatively quiet due to the time of year but you can imagine it bouncing in the high season. There’s bars and restaurants everywhere and dozens of shops that all sell the usual tea towels and t-shirts. Food and drinks are reasonably priced and you can always find a beer for a euro which is cheaper than at home.

We had a great time on this holiday. It’s easy to find fault if you look for it, it’s not Vegas and it’s not Dubai. You’re not always going to get a champagne holiday on a Coke budget. If you want the very best, you have to pay for the very best. It’s not fair to expect perfection regardless of what you spend. This was a great value, clean, and entertaining place to be with great staff, lovely facilities at a price you can’t argue with. We paid £550 each for a week all inclusive and couldn’t complain at all.

My final feedback for the hotel would be to boost the Wi-Fi. The signal drops out in the public areas constantly and is only reliable in the lobby. Every time you get disconnected you have to log in again with the long username and password. It does get a little tedious. The only other option is the paid wi-fi which reaches your room at 15 Euros for the week. We didn’t use this so I can’t comment on the signal or reliability.

Thanks you to all at the hotel for a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel with excellent staff. We recommend to all that you stay here and share the experience we had.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that we read your complete and honest review of the Cerro Alagoa and surrounding area, and thank you for taking the time to write and share it. I am sure it will be very helpful for many guests.
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the New Years gala, and will pass on your kind review to our staff as it very motivating for them.
We are replacing most of our mattresses this month as some of our refurbishment improvements foreseen for this year.
Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the Cerro Alagoa in a near future

Kind regards
Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Having booked our holiday in January 2013 for December 2013 I was surprised when I received an email from Jet2 to say there had been a change in Hotels, at first not too happy about it but as We where only advised two weeks before we were to fly out of Manchester we accepted it. Oh what a blessing, the Hotel its self was better located for everything, the Hotel was very clean and was maintained in this way at all times.

What can I say about the staff, I would like to be able to pick one out as being the Best, but they all give 1000% of their time to make sure your stay is good. The food was ok and plentiful but could do with a more varied selection during the stay. The indoor pool is good as is the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi, the gym is adequate but it did have some of the equipment in a state of repair (needs to be done but perhaps a bit quicker).

The New Year Gala dinner was fantastic and again the staff helped to make the evening go with a bang, a few of use where so impressed that we went to the kitchen door to applaud the all the staff.

Would I recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a pool view room the main road side of the hotel is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest

It was very pleasing to read your lovely review and find you have really enjoyed a fantastic stay and New Years at the Cerro Alagoa. Our staff will be very pleased to read your review about them.
Your comments on our gym and are welcome and will be looked in to.
We hope to welcome you again in a future holiday

Kind regards
Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.