We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to stay in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa to your Saves list
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to stay in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel and first impressions were good, the front of the hotel is well kept and clean the reception area is impressive we found the reception staff to be polite and helpful.
we upgraded to a sea view room which was well worth the extra money, the rooms them self are good, spacious and well cleaned with nice overall feel to them.The pool was a good size but very cold never had a problem getting a sunbed but we are early risers, the snack bar serves some good food and drinks but is a bit pricey.we only stayed B&B and didn't try the main restaurant but the breakfast was fine. overall this is a good hotel for the money its clean well presented and a nice place to stay the best part being its location just a ten minute walk from the beautiful old town with its tiny winding back streets and its plentiful supply of bars and restaurants,the main square and strip are very nice and even have shows but do take a walk through the back streets and other routes where you will find some great bars restaurants and shops, we did go to the strip in the new town but found it very tacky ok if your 21 and just want to get leglass but not much good for anything else my advice is stick to the old town its nice, and have a meal in the old converted fort at the corner of the beach and old town thats a fish restaurant bit pricey but worth it. Overall when you consider this wasn't a very expensive holiday i thought it was very good value for money nice hotel nice place very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are defo better but get one away from the bar can be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review and rewarding comments on our hotel. We were very pleased to find you have enjoyed our hotel and Albufeira. Our location is ideal when visiting Albufeira as it is ideally situated in the heart of the city.
We hope to welcom you once again
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    315
    122
    31
    11
See reviews for
181
415
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

clean comfortable , mini fridge did cool ambient temparature drinks very well , choice of food o.k not the best but enough , food was lukewarm rather than hot . Hotel did provide a meal in room first night as we arrived after 11p.m. location good, short walk to beach but is hilly .Pool very good , clean ,sunbeads always plenty ,we were all in , food and drink very pricey if not . Mini train stop outside hotel very handy to visit the srip etc.Reception staff very good other staff apart from manager not so friendly . could do with some music in bar and some entertainment and this would make hotel much more attractive.Can have early breakfast from 4.a.m if needed as we did .Hotel will even give you a packed lunch if going out for day ,let them know day before. All inclusive guests 7 or more nights or more are able to have a free a-la-carte meal in separate restaurant which is very good and worth 35 euros , make sure you book it day before , many guests did not realise this so make sure you claim yours ! Hotel will also book some local excursions and offer wake up calls . Wrist bands for all-inclusive are only paper so only last couple of days , very anoying to have to keep asking for a new band , should have plastic ! stayed 10 nights from 30th sep , every day hot and sunny , water on cool side , however indoor pool o.k ,but no bar ! Sauna , steam room jacuzi o.k but no drinking water on hand . Beggars etc should not be able to get into hotel and pester the guests ,. Overall not bad , just a few thigs to mend and it be at top!

Room Tip: Ask for higher bed if have bad back , beds very low .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your detailed review and are pleased to find you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Your comments regarding lack of entertainment and the all inclusive wrist bands are welcome will be taken into consideration.
All guests who reserve all inclusive for 7 nights or more can have an a la carte menu on one of the days ( just advise 24 hours in advance )
We hope you may choose our hotel again should you return to Albufeira in the future
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

BAD POINTS

Communication - Emailed hotel enquiring cost for special requests i.e fondue on arrival for anniversary and had no reply just that they would look into it depending on availability!?!?

Reception staff failed to mention that you would have to swipe a credit card in order to put any services on the room. Very embarrassing when walking out a restaurant not knowing we had to pay upfront as our credit card details were not taken YET asked so we had no idea of this.

Mini bar - NOT working and RECEPTION staff kept us waiting in the room over 30mins for maintenance to arrive and had to ring again to be told that maintenance were now on lunch and it would be done in the evening. Not on at all. Also note this is a MINI BAR not a fridge so does not cool items only maintains temperature.


NO FREE WIFI - Very uncommon for 4* / 5* hotels to not offer free wifi. This was charged at a daily rate and ONLY AVAILABLE to use in the hotel Lobby.

PAY for a SAFE - Safe only available to use if you decide to pay a daily rate. Shows hotels guests security is NOT a priority.


GOOD

* Ideal location

* Plenty of sun beds

* Nice selection of breakfast and dinner (can become repetitive)

* Clean

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool view as it will be quieter. Most double rooms are TWIN but if you email...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

We do regret that you did not find our reception serivce to your standards. Usually, when we are informed of aniversary dates beforehand we offer a complimentary sparkling wine in the room.
Regarding the credit card details these will be asked for should you wish to charge expenses on your account and pay upon check out, otherwise you can pay directly as you go along.
We do apologise for you keeping you waiting on the mini bar and you are absolutely right, the mini bar should only be used to cool drinks as it does not work as a fridge.
Safe and wifi do have a charge
Thank you for choosing our hotel
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here because of the location and the size of the pool which although cold,typical of Portugal, is huge with plenty of sun-beds around it.
It is a 10 minute walk to the old square and a 20 minute walk to the strip although the "train" stops regularly outside the hotel if you so desire (3.5 euros for a full day pass) as one of its 4 scheduled stops.
The rooms are great,the beds are huge & comfortable,the staff are attentive but unobtrusive and the breakfast is sufficient.
Only downside is the cost of food & drink around the pool..... 3 euros for a soft drink & 7.5 for a sandwich .... admittedly it was one of the nicest things i ate all hols. (heaps of smoked salmon with boiled egg,salad leaf & capers ... outstanding!)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing the Cerro Alagoa to spend your holidays and were very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, and especially enjoyed our sandwiches!
We hope we may welcome you back in a future stay in Albufeira
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location between Old town (10min walk), New town (15min walk). Our preference was the old town, found the new town pretty tacky. Wait until 12am in the old town starts to liven up. We discussed a lovely Steak house round the corner from the hotel on to way to the old town call Dom C...I can't remember the full title, but we went there twice, I recommend the Portuguese Fillet Steak, service is perfect. Also went to an Indian in the Old town which is upstairs down a back alley, but it's lovely. Avoid the Mexican on the water front, next to an Italian. My partner had Nachos, the 'salsa' was poor, not spice, basically it was like tinned tomatoes. I had fajitas, it had no flavour, no spice. I had to ask for Jalenpenos and was charged for them. Staff were miserable. The place was busy, but don't be fooled it's not because the food is great, it's because like me I had never been before. The views from some of the restaurant along the sea front were perfect. Be aware there are a lot of beggers. I also hated the fact I was in a restaurant during the day and had a guy with a guitar come in and ask for money, also a deaf guy put cards on the table asking if we wanted to buy something, although they were pushy, I found it unacceptable when enjoying food and drinks to be asked for money. I felt staff should have told them to leave.
Overall the hotel was perfect, room and bathroom was great. Although overlooking the road, I had some of the best nights sleep, some people complained about the noise but as a light sleeper I had no problems sleeping. Cleaners came every day. The bar is a little pricey, bars around the hotel are a lot cheaper, we stopped buying at the bar after day 2. Also check the menu for prices when paying, as there were a couple of occasions we were charged more than we should have. Evening food was ok, not great but in my opinion what you would expect from a buffet type food Breakfast was great, you can't really go wrong with continental, English, fruit breakfast. We also used the indoor pool for a change of scenery, Sauna and steam room, which was free and nice for a change.
Overall had a brilliant holiday, I will go back to this hotel, everything was perfect for me and my partner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your detailed review regarding the Cerro Alagoa and the tips on Albufeira. We are happy you have a brilliant holiday, and enjoyed our breakfast and other facilities as our indoor heated pool.
Regarding the prices you should always get a receipt on what you have paid and should there be a mistake this should be discussed at the time to avoid any misunderstanding.
Hoping to welcome you back in the near future
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed for a week in the hotel: lovely and helpful staff in every department, spacious rooms, great facilities (indoor and big outdoor swimming pools, sauna, steam room, gym, jacuzzi), good variety of food - could be a bit more sea-food selection, all-inclusive option had only local alcoholic drinks, some of them were the quality of the bootm shelf of the Lidl... but it was described in my holiday offer, so I don't complain - they were working fine. Housekeeping team very polite and providing very good service. On the whole - I really recommend the hotel and I try to come back again at least for a short break as the location is also great - close to the Ocean and to highway to Lisabon and between the old and new part of Albufeira.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea-view room on the highest floor - best view and less noise from the downstairs bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your kind review and we are most pleased to read you have found our hotel and service excellent. Your rewarding comments will be passed on to our staff.
We look forward to welcome you back
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from a week at this hotel on a Half board basis. This was our fifth visit. We were allocated the two bed suite on the first floor for our party of three. Super views and spacious modern accommodation. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful and very willing to help with any questions from anything to do with the hotel to timetables for the local bus. Food varied even from a vegeterian point of view (I'm a veggie)! restaurant efficiently run with staff on the ball from replenishing food to clearing tables.

Room Tip: Upgrade to poolview rooms as other rooms over a very busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest
It is most satisfying to read your review which we appreciate and find very pleasing that you have once again enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We hope to welcome you again on your next visit !!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#20 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.