We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa to your Saves list
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

When we first arrived at this hotel I was not impressed as the front exterier is not very appealing. But I soon learned not to judge a book by its cover. The rooms are very nice and quite modern and very clean. The staff are helpful however I think they could have been more freindly especially the staff working the reception. One major thing the hotel needs to improve is to provide more information on things to do in the area. The only information they have is about a dolphin show. They do not provide any maps of the area. If you need to book any activities they will tell you to go to the hotel up the street to book your activities which I thought was weird. Some things we did include the dolphin speed boat ride (nice boat ride but didnt see any dolphin's, water park which was great, and shark fishing we did not catch any sharks. Also didnt even touch a fishing rod as they do it all for you which is very disappointing.
The pool area is nice and the breakfasts were very good also they were buffet stile and had a wide variety of hot and cold items). We didnt have dinner at the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review. We are hoping to change the frontal exterior of our hotel during this winter and improve it.
Our reception provides local maps and information and do apologise if this was not passed on.
Hoping you may visit us again

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    336
    123
    34
    13
See reviews for
193
436
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in July with my family we had two incidents in this hotel within the first hour of our check in my mothers handbag was pick pocked in the lift and all her holiday spending money was taken the staff of the hotel were by no means helpful or sympathetic and they did not have any CCTV by the lifts or around that area by reception for us to show them the two guys that were on the lift wit us. the second incident was i left my property in the hotel by accident I left a GHD hair straightener and a curling wand wrapped around together in the drawer of the table where the TV is it was the one place i forgot to look before i left i rang the hotel and after numerous phone calls back and forth i was filled with excuses that they cudnt contact the maid or house keeper and when they did she had handed in the curling wand but never found the GHD straightener i was appalled as to how she found the cheapest of the two when they were wrapped around each other the excuses were first the maid found it in the bed sheets then she found it in the wardrobe and i was called a liar and i was told the maid is working with them for the last 30 years and they believe her its a sad state of affairs honesty is not their policy this is supposed to be 4 star hotel it was by no means cheap to stay there and I will never recommend this hotel to anyone i got no law the staff were so god dam ignorant and horrible

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review, and it is quite surprising to read these incidents you have mentioned. We do have a CCTV system installed and there are cameras at the entrance of the reception area. Police should have been called so you could report the incident with the handbag in the lift as this is the first situation of our knowledge.
Our hotel has a lost and found log and have returned many items to our guests, as we did with your curling wand which was all the could be found.
The hotel is not responsable for items or valuebales not deposited in the hotel safe.

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed for 1week all inclusive 19th July. The hotel was nice enough but was let down by the quality and choice of food on offer. It was much the same with limited choice and very little for vegetarians at lunch and evening meal apart from salad.pool area was a good size but lacked enough sun beds for the amount of people staying in the hotel and as stated by others, you needed to be up by 7.30 to get a bed. Staff were friendly enough but it looked like quite a few hadn't worked there for long, especially the ones in the restraunt.location of the hotel is good and is only a short walk into the old town.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review and your comments are welcome and very useful to improve our food variety and pool issue.

We hope you may visit the Cerro Alagoa again

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

just returned 5th august could do with more sun beds up at half seven every morning for two weeks tireing.Have to mention the fun team mainly vera full of life brings a smile to your face every morning, always there to help and give advice. Clean and vey safe food average in hotel can be exspensive if not all inclusive we wont go half board again,saying this the management and staff very helpful that is our honest opinion.

Room Tip: choose a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We were pleased to find you have enjoyed our entertainment and hotel in general. We will pass on your comment to our entertainmente team, in special, Vera

Hoping to welcom you back in the near future

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Returned from this hotel on 2nd August. to be honest I was quite happy to return home. The few gripes I have about the hotel are as follows: 1. SUN BEDS. policy of the hotel is not to put towels out before 9:00am. First morning I went down for breakfast at 8:30 thinking I would be ok, out by the pool by 9. Shocked to find virtually every bed was taken, but where were these people? Next day I went down at 8:30, again all beds taken apart from the odd one scattered about and still no bums on them beds. On my last morning I had to leave at 7:00am, amazed to find people running down in their nightwear placing their towels on the chairs, CRAZY. 2. No entertainment, the odd night, a gentleman playing a piano singing in a foreign language. The bar in the hotel had no music playing, people were just sat looking at each other, no atmosphere. 3. Being all inclusive I expected some decent dishes. The evening meals were almost the same each evening apart from the meat, which switched from beef pork and chicken Breakfast was the same every day. If you like lots of fruit then you'll enjoy the meals. Also it would have been nice for the staff in the dining room to try and force a smile or a nice "Good evening".
As this was my first visit to Portugal, I wish somebody would have informed me not to wear flip flops around the hotels and streets. I had several accidents slipping on them pavements and around the pool area.
Sorry to put a dampner on this hotel, but sorry I certainly will not be returning.

Room Tip: Try and get pool view otherwise you'll be looking out at Mcdonalds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

We do regret to read that you were not pleased with your stay in our hotel.
We do try to alert guests not to reserve sunbeds but unfortunately are not always sucessful.
We have a 14 day buffet rotation with a selection of salads, hot dishes, vegetarian dish and salads and regret that you have found little variety with the hot dishes and will look in to this, as our guests satisfaction is our main objective

Kind regards

Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel and rooms are very clean. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel itself is on a main road but even though our room over looked it there was very little noise. The room itself was large and had plenty of hanging space, a safe, air conditioning and a small fridge in it as well as a balcony to sit on. The room also had a television with several English speaking channels on.
The all inclusive package served drinks from 11am until 11pm, ice creams all day from the pool side bar but offered a limited selection for both lunchtime and the evening meals. That said we managed to find something to eat. The snacks that are served at the pool side bar were also quite nice: an assortment of sandwiches served on soft baguettes.
The pool got very busy during the day and even though guests are requested not to reserve the sun beds using their towels they often did.
The hotel offers some sort of entertainment each evening in the pub but again this was quite limited: parrot show for ½ an hour, bingo etc.
The hotel is a short walk to the sea front where escalators take you down to the lovely white beach, bars and shopping area (about a 10 minute stroll)
We would definitely stay at the Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa again if we visited Portugal

Room Tip: Towel hire was free but if you loose them there is a forty euro charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest

We were pleased to read your review and find that you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
Hoping that you will visit us again

Kind regards
Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

the hotel is very clean with the vast majority of staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms were cleaned daily. There is a relaxed atmosphere around the pool. Our kids 7 and 10 had a great time in the kids club for 3 hrs each afternoon. The food is not great but is ok. If you are on all.inc the snackbar does bagettes and toasties at lunch which are better than the main restaraunt. All in all very pleased with the hotel and would recommend especially for a family.

Room Tip: pool view is quiet side a bit of traffic on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review as it is with great pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay at the Cerro Alagoa.
We are pleased to know you were satisfied with our choice of food and snacks, as well as the entertainment for your children
We hope to welcome you again soon

Kind regards
Rosario Ribeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 26 | Apartado 2155, Albufeira 8200-916, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#29 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxury hotel is ideally situated in the tourist centre of Albufeira, just one road from the Fishermen (Pescadores) beach. The lively town centre, which offers a huge variety of shop, restaurants, bars and entertainment venues, are within 500 m of the hotel. Faro airport is the nearest and is approximately 35 km away. Built in 1990, this hotel was completely renovated in 2004. There is a total of 310 rooms spread over 7 floors including 73 rooms with view and 24 junior suites suitable for families. Guests are offered a stylish lobby with lifts and a 24-hour reception desk with a safe. It also has a TV and games room, a newspaper stand, a bar and an English pub, a restaurant with a non-smoking area and highchairs for small children. Business guests may book 2 meeting rooms with Wi-Fi internet connection and media devices. Additional services include a laundry service, garage as well as medical assistance. In addition, a car park as well as children's club and playground are on offer to hotel guests. The modern, stylishly furnished rooms come equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the outdoor complex, there is a pool with a children's pool, a pool bar as well as a sun terrace with sun loungers and parasols. In addition, the hotel features a Health Club with indoor heated pool, a gym, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Guest may also take advantage of massages and beauty treatments. All meals may be chosen from a wide buffet. At lunch and dinner guests may choose their meals a la carte. It is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Hotel Albufeira
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.