We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold star ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Antonio Aleixo, Albufeira 8200-091, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
liverpool
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Gold star ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and My Sister stayed at the Cerro Mar Gardens in October it was our first time in this hotel having been coming to Portugal for 12 years we thought we would stay in the old town as lately we have been spending most our days and nights there. This hotel is just steps away from the square which we found ok to walk up and down even in heels. When we first walked Into our room we thought wow it was spacious modern and the sea view was wonderful. You could see the church bell tower which was lovely to hear the bells. The housekeepers came in everyday and did a wonderful job even though we're not messy people it was nice to come in everyday to a clean room. We ate in the restaurant the first night chops and potatoes it was Lovely and reasonably priced. We did get a Voucher for a free bottle of wine but we didn't get it as we did not want to drink too much before heading out for the night. But it was a nice touch from the hotel for doing that. The hotel snack bar salads are delicious and freshly squeezed juice is so refreshing. We got a massage and it was amazing to feel relaxed and to get rid of all the knots in our backs. This hotel has everything you could possibly need and being minutes away from the bars and beach and supermarkets is the ideal place to be. The staff are all wonderful very helpful and make you feel very welcome. We came home and a couple of days later booked via email to the hotel for another stay at Cerro Mar in February.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    106
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
121
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I think this complex are resting on there laurels!! Have been lots of times and so looked forward to returning this October, so emailed them several times no response!!! Booked through another agency and when we turned up were told well gardens are fully booked!!!! Info that might have been more useful several months before.To be fair our appartments were lovely however do not like being ignored and really think they are taking returning guests for granted...... Not happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Last minute deal that was in a fantastic spot and good clean rooms. Our apartment was huge with table and chairs on the terrace as well as sun loungers. Bedrooms were spacious with a shower room/bathroom each. The beds unfortunately were very hard and the pillows small and lumpy. Kitchen was well equipped with washer and dishwasher. Although there was maid service everyday there was no dustpan & brush so we had to be careful not to make crumbs because the ants seem to sniff out the slightest thing. We were given some ant spray by the cleaner to use for the week which seemed to do the trick. There were not many ants but a small brush would have been helpful. The hotel is lovely with all amenities expected. I had a massage for €25 and it was wonderful. The outdoor pool was very cold (obviously in October) but the indoor pool is heated and pleasant. Swimming caps MUST be worn by everyone. You can buy them at spa reception for €4 each but I wish I had known as I could have brought some from home. There is no entertainment at all bit this is what makes it a relaxing break. We were self catering which was great as we could eat around the main square with plenty of places to choose from. The people enticing you in from each restaurant was a little off putting to say the least. They all basically offer the same menu give or take. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but it looked like it lacked atmosphere and oomph. Aldi and lidl are a few minutes walk away up the hill and take a right at the car park. The security guard at Aldi called a taxi for us to take our shopping back and it was quick and reasonable. We hired a car through the hotel for the last couple of days and went to zoomarine (closed from 1 November) and was great with really good original animal shows. We also took a drive to vilamoura which was beautiful around the marina with some good shops and delicious cafés and restaurants. The car we hired was as much for 2 days as it was for 3 which would have been helpful had we enquired sooner. Also the full insurance is €21 approx on top of the hire cost. It is the same amount if you have a car 1 day or 3 days.
The steps down to the square are not a huge challenge but does leave you a little out of breath when you get to the top. Our youngest renamed the Main Square, Flicker square as there are people selling light up flying toys that flick up in the air. They're not too expensive and passes a half hour.
All in all a great stay in a lovely hotel with good quality furniture and appliances and very spacious. Would recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at Cerro Mar as a family from 19th to 26th October, we were located in room 401. Booked this through Jet2 who were great if I say so myself, however it took around 45 minutes to an hour (at the most) to get to the hotel, by the time we got there it was about 8/9pm.

The apartment simply cannot be faulted, incredible. Despite not being on the top floor, it was still lovely with an amazing view, one thing we did notice however, was as soon as we got in the apartment, the floor was wet, possibly from the maid cleaning up earlier, this wasn't a major problem as it was done within a day.

The hotel has a lot to offer, such as a bar upstairs and downstairs, 2 outdoor pools and 1 indoor, a spa, gym, games room, tennis court and squash court. A bowling alley was also available, however it was out of bounds. We thought the games room was our own secret hideout until we found more people discovering it to our disappointment.

Quite a big let down for me was the food, this may come across as a different opinion to others though. We had food from the buffet in the evening instead of from the menu, this food was not hot at all, or possibly just lukewarm for a few minutes. The meals were nice but a lot of the food on offer didn't go well together, sometimes you'd end up with spaghetti and chips. Breakfast was also not the best, this is on from 8am to 10am, we would usually go just before 9am and by then a lot of the food would have ran out, this became a lack of organisation and possibly not enough staff around, they weren't lazy in the slightest but some jobs were left out or undone. The worst breakfast being Friday when we had to wait about 10 minutes just to get a glass of water or fruit juice, this also became a problem with plates.

The steps (of course) are dreaded and an absolute nightmare, more coming up than down. I counted 105 steps going down whether that is accurate or not, however once you get into town there is a lot to be seen/to do. Plenty of restaurants as well, this does come as a consequence because as you walk around possibly from midday onwards, you find a selection of annoying members of staff outside their restaurant, practically begging for you to come in. Some leading to harassment. On the last day we eventually went to one of these places which I would certainly recommend, called the 7 ½ Bar, which is not far from the beach. They have a specials board which includes about 6 different meals such as Piri-Piri Chicken, Fish and Chips and more, these all come with chips and salad for 5 euros, which may be classed as a good deal for us tourists. The food was delicious (and hot, thank goodness) and the staff were very friendly.

A word of warning about when you're walking around town or certain places, the hills are horrendous, as we nicknamed them all "cardiac hill" , you'll understand later. As a family it is highly unlikely that we will be coming back here considering it was our first time in Portugal, we enjoyed our stay but still hoped for better weather than cloud and rain for 3 days in a row..

Room Tip: Get the mini-bus to and from the hotel if you detest the dreaded steps, these come every 2 hours fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked our first holiday together and decide to stay at cerro mar gardens. When we arrived we were checked in swiftly alongside another couple. Whilst checking in the receptionist checking in the other couple asked them if they would like to purchase a safe. Me and my boyfriend had already talked about doing this and told the female receptionist who was checking us in that we would like to do the same. To which she informed us that we would have to go to our rooms and wait and come back down later as she had a line of people to check in after us?!?!? Me and my boyfriend then went to our room, had to wait about before treking back down to get our safe key so we were able to go out. We then spoke to a man on reception who gave us a safe key no problem. (It also took him about 10 seconds to do this so not sure why the female receptionist had us waiting about in the first place)
Our room was lovely with a fantastic view of the sea and the pool. Unfortunately our double bed was 2singles pushed together but we were half expecting this to be the case anyway.
We used both the indoor and outdoor pool and found them both to be lovely.
We found the hotel to be in a lovely location as its just a 5 minute walk down some steps into old town where there are some lovely places to eat and some nice bars.
One particular night I was woken by a couple staying in the room above ours who had obviously been out for drinks as I had to listen to the girl throwing up for a while whilst I was trying to sleep. You could hear everything through the ceiling and it wasn't a nice experience.
Check-out is at 11am and when we were due to leave at 10:30 we had 2 housekeepers knock on the door to ask us when we are leaving because they wanted to clean our room!!! Surely they could have waited the half an hour until check out!
The hotel and area are lovely but unfortunately I felt let down by some of the staff there which was a shame really. This is the first review I've wrote and I felt like I had to as it really let down mine and my boyfriends first holiday abroad together!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTL Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We returned for our second trip to Cerro Mar Garden after staying there 7 years ago. This time we went with a couple making their first trip to Portugal and their reaction was the same as ours, what a great place and what great value.
All staff are service oriented and the accommodation spacious, clean and comfortable. The Wednesday Bar-B-Q is great value and great fun. The infamous steps are a great excercise tester and the oldtown is still fun even at this time of the year.

Room Tip: Fourth floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

When we booked this through Jet2.com we thought the whole complex was Cerro Mar Atlantico but when we checked in after flying over from Glasgow we were led across the complex and ended up in the Monteagro buliding where there was no outdoor pool but we had an indoor pool in the basement (second floor). Also, we asked for an upper floor room and we were on the third floor but that didn't even count as an upper floor room, (third floor was actually ground floor). We had to cross two roads and sloped paths every morning for breakfast. Its good if you like descending 99 stairs to get to the town square, not suitable for disabled people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden

Address: Rua Antonio Aleixo, Albufeira 8200-091, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamento Cerro Mar Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.