We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Providing vast, fully- equipped apartments.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments to your Saves list
Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Boca da Alagoa | Herdade dos Salgados, Albufeira 8200 - 424, Portugal (Formerly Vila das Lagoas Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Providing vast, fully- equipped apartments.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

A great overall value.
The sheer dwelling size is the nicest & most obvious feature here.
There are a large number of suburban style vacation housing blocks here.
Each block averages 3-4 stories high, & consists of multiple units.
Long, circuitous, palm-lined streets suggest the complex is designed around private car use.
There is a pleasantly residential feel to the place.
My apartment was generally tranquil; except when a neighboring unit was occupied by an inconsiderate set of neighbors. In those cases, late- night shenanigans & occasional loud screeching of furniture against the bare floors- was highly annoying.
Needless to say; I think that carpet installation would improve the units.
Nights in the vacation housing complex are generally quiet- again depending on who's next door to your unit.
The furnishings are somewhat spartan, but complete.
The mattresses are solid & of good quality.
Both the floors, & the linens- could use some bleach.
Otherwise, an excellent place to stay.
Dishes, towels, & lights- were included in the unit.
The option to park underground, adds to the residential feel.
Above average window curtains are a plus, as is the somewhat generous artificial lighting available.
Dark wood panelling, & some leather- topped chairs; provide decourative contrast to the largely bright white interior colour scheme.
There is a modern intercom system- for guests arriving at ground level.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
53
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments at Herdade Dos Salgados in September 2013 with our 6 week old and 5 year old daughters. The apartment and resort are very nice, everything catered for within the apartment. However the day before we were due to go home one of the extremely large and heavy wooden MDF pictures fell off the wall onto the sofa where 30 mins previously both children had been sitting. The picture was so heavy i could hardly lift it so it could of very easily killed the baby and seriously hurt my older child. The picture had been put up with a very flimsy tapping nail which was falling out the wall. After checking all the other large pictures in the apartment which are all located above the beds, half of them were to be found to be put up the same with the others put up correctly with thick screws with raw plugs. We reported this to reception who didnt seem bothered and i even wrote a email to the hotel manager (attaching picture evidence) when i returned but no one bothered to reply. So i would not advise anyone staying in these apartments as i think they are extremely dangerous!!!!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights at the end of August. When we were booking there were no trip advisor reviews from this year- however those from last year seemed quite positive and upon doing some research and looking at the advertised facilities we felt confident in booking this " 5*" holiday. The price we paid also reflected a 5* holiday!
Its a difficult one to rate really because some things were good, but unfortunately the lack of stated facilities leaves it far from 5*.
The resort is also on its own (amongst a cluster of hotels from the same chain and who also seem to have limited facilities - or their facilities weren't available to people in the apartments). Its quite a distance from Albufeira (a good 20 mins in a taxi), a 20 min fast paced walk into neighbouring Gale (again only limited restaurants there), and the only bus that seems to come by is the sightseeing one, which isn't great value if you just want to get from A to B.
As an earlier review said, the reception is literally a desk on its own, in a huge building which used to house a restaurant, bar, spa/health club, indoor pool etc, These are all closed/ non existent- as were the shops, coffee shop, driving range, gym, hairdressers. Upon arrival we were given a map of the resort which showed about 5 or 6 restaurants or bars "opening soon"- but there was absolutely no sign any building work. The staff weren't overly helpful - either that or they didn't know much about the area, because they all told us different things.
Facilities that were there (other than the apartments) were the swimming pools (not lifeguarded - as some descriptions indicate), Golf Course, a pool bar serving snacks (not open late at all- was closed by 10pm each night we were there and not open til 11am ish), a reception desk, a couple of tennis courts and a football court (which a security guard was very quick to pounce on users for payments). That was it.
Just outside the resort there was a well stocked, reasonably priced small supermarket, and a beautiful sandy beach. Within close walking distance there were 2 restaurants- one on Salgados beach and one part of the neighbouring hotel. We were told that we couldn't use any of the other restaurants in the other hotels as they were for hotel guests only.
The apartments were very comfortable and well equipped, with a good choice of TV channels (just as well as there was no where else to go/no entertainment!). The lighting could have been better as we found the dining area and bedrooms/ bathrooms were pretty dark
If you are looking for a chilled out self catering holiday, close to a beautiful beach, have a car to get around/ to a supermarket or don't want to eat out in a variety of places then this would be fine. If, like us, you were looking for a self catering apartment with hotel type facilities (ie gym, health club, restaurants and bars), don't have a car to get to a supermarket/ around then I think you will be disappointed.
I feel really sad having to give this place such a low rating because its in a beautiful location next to the most gorgeous beach and it has so much potential- if all of the facilities were open and as described then I have no doubt that it could easily be 5*, but sadly that isn't the case and didn't look as if it was likely to be anytime soon.
Additional tips: Check in is 4pm which is one of the latest ive come across, its worth investing in a cheap parasol for the beach (best 10Euros we spent) and don't have too much electric on in the apartment or the fuses blow!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and higher level as the others look over the roads (quiet) but still if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed during the post season in September in a 2 bedroom apartment. The complex is new or renovated and looks modern. The apartment was very, very spacious. The living room + kitchen was about 80m2! Furthermore, the balcony was very large with a nice view.
The complex offers a lot of very nice pools (during our stay enough space to lay at the pool). The beach is a short walk (less than 5 mins over a nice walking path over the dunes) as the complex is actually situated at the beach/dunes. There is a small supermarket next to the complex.
Wifi connection is very strong as the router is located in the living room. Besides, the TV offers a lot of channels including sports and movie channels.
You will need a car to get off the complex since it is situated somewhat outside the village of Albufeira.

The interior looks like some furniture has to be added. In the living room there was only 1 sofa to sit. As a couple this was enough, however, if you stay with more than 2, you need to bring the diner chairs to sit in the living room. Because of lack of furniture it looks a bit empty. Perhaps this will be improved as some parts of the complex will be finished in the coming month?
The bathroom also needs more light. We left the doors open taking a shower, because it would have been to dark to see anything with the doors closed.
As the complex is relatively new, it was a pity that some facilities such as the gym and a few restaurants were not opened yet. It was not clear to me whether this was a matter of weeks or months. However, one could use the gym (or spa) of the other hotels of CS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked what was classed as a 5 star resort for a week in September. We got here and started to worry as the reception consisted of a desk with a hole in the ceiling and looked more like an out of business office block.

The apartment was spacious but no information about the resort or surrounding area and we then went to investigate only to learn there were no leisure facilities or spa apart from the pools which were nice but with sun lounges without any pads on.

Next disappointment no restaurant or bar in our resort and then we had to go to nearby hotels within the group however very limited dining and bar facilities there also.

We came here to chill out but also to use the facilities which are non existent!!

The place lacks atmosphere and even the hotels within the group with facilities are not fully open as advertised, we were told by one of the receptionists at a nearby resort that things will be open next year!!! This is not helpful and we are here now but waiting to be moved:(

This is definitely not what was advertised when we booked, be careful!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great quality, incredibly roomy apartments with a number of unusual amenities (sports channel pay tv in the appartments). It's only a 3 minute walk across a wooden path to one of the best beaches in the Algarve. if you rather stay by the pool there are 7 of them and they're quite big so you won't feel crowded. I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I had an amazing time here, its a 5 minute walk away from a stunning beach which is accompanied by its own bar/resturant and is a 8 minute drive away from Albifuria. Cost me €10 each way in taxis. The villas are stunning in layout and quality with all utilitys at your expence. the 7 pools were clean and well looked after and the bar that accompanies them was a useful asset for food, drink, tobacco, and supplying low level background music for a peaceful setting. The staff were a pleasure to speak to, no task was too much and were all fluent in the English Language. The only setbacks were that the reception was not open due to finance difficulties and the new builds created a slight eye-sore as they were not finished and did not look in any rush to be completed in the near future. Overall the holiday, location and experiance was perfect if you want somewhere to relax in a peaceful quiet atmosphere. For the socialites who want a relaxed day and a night of partying i reccomend visiting Albifuria New Town, for the more low key night-goers who want a traditional setting then Old Town is the place to visit

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments

Address: Rua Boca da Alagoa | Herdade dos Salgados, Albufeira 8200 - 424, Portugal (Formerly Vila das Lagoas Apartments)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments is a private self-contained holiday resort that is located on the Algarve coast, close to the Salgados beach and the golf course. The contemporary styled apartments are spacious, aside the fully fitted kitchens also boasts large balconies and windows offering natural light. In the gardens, the seven swimming pools are displayed among the olive trees and palm trees, the ideal spot for your children to play. Perfect for families and couples alike, the resort is the perfect choice for your holidays, either by its walking distance to the beach or by the array of facilities that include Restaurants and Bars, 18-hole Golf Course and Salgados Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Vila Das Lagoas Hotel Albufeira
Salgados Vila Das Lagoas Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salgados Vila das Lagoas Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.