We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 - Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 162 hotels in Albufeira
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from our stay at this hotel, our first visit to Portugal. We found the hotel to be excellent, very good value for money. We stayed on a b & b basis as we were keen to try out the local restaurants and were not disappointed. Breakfast was everything you could possibly wish for, the dining room and the terrace outside were kept clean and tidy, the staff constantly clearing tables after use. The only comment I could add is the same as everyone else, the dilute orange juice was a mystery although the other choice of juices seemed to be ok. This certainly shouldn't take away from the overall breakfast experience which was very good. We were upgraded on arrival to a deluxe room on the first floor overlooking the garden and pool area, there was a kettle and a coffee maker, slippers, dressing gowns, a fridge and a safe provided. The only thing that let the room down slightly was the shortage of wardrobe space, there was only a small amount of hanging space which had a drawer and the safe below it so that long dresses had to be folded over. Apart from that we had everything we could ask for. The hotel is in an excellent position with a short transfer time from Faro, and there are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. Buses stop very near the hotel if you want to get around, it is about 10 minutes on the bus to the Old Town. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    267
    70
    14
    11
See reviews for
45
497
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ok... Like many others I'd imagine, the reviews were a big selling point for me. I booked this hotel in hope that all those reviews were true (the good ones). And as I guessed, they were. The hotel was clean and the layout is beautiful. But!! I did not feel the service was good. It seems as though they like their regulars, for example, a guy came in with an Armani suit and they bent over backwards for him. I asked for an early check-in via email which was agreed. When we got there this promise was not carried through. The staff elsewhere apart from in reception are so lovely. They seem happy to be a part of a beautifully well put together hotel. The swimming pool area is nice but the seagulls on the tables where people eat outside needs to be sorted out.

Overall, lovely hotel. Easily approachable vie email prior to your visit but don't expect your request to be carried through unless you're willing to pay money. Don't expect happy smiles from the staff in reception but elsewhere in the hotel they are great. And if you're going to portugal soon, bring a cardigan for the night time.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunrise choose level 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were looking for a "fly and flop" holiday so the hotel was an important factor for us and thankfully this hotel ticks all the boxes. The staff are friendly and efficient, our room and the public areas were spotless and the cleaners work really hard on this.
We took the B&B option and yes, we also noticed the diluted juices but it wasn't the end of the world and the breakfast selection was overall very good with plenty of options. Like other comments, there is only complimentary tea but the local supermarket is five minutes walk away and has everything that you may need at reasonable costs and as you have a fridge in your room, keeping milk etc cold isn't an issue.
We stayed in room 213 which overlooked the road (unlike other reviews, we did not experience noise issues from traffic etc. however, agree the walls are a bit thin) in a standard room and taking into account the type & cost of the holiday, we thought it was great value for money.
There are loads of eating out options close by and in seven nights, we didn't have one bad meal and the meal at the beach resort was superb!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just got back from 8 day stay, can't wait to go again! Staff at check-in were really friendly and welcoming. Deluxe room (219) was gorgeous, sea and pool view, complimentary slippers and dressing gowns, massive comfy bed. Breakfast was good, always hot and fresh. Close to beach via some steps, 10 min walk to 'strip', nice bars and restaurants. Take a taxi to Old Town, really lovely. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are on pool side, sun in the morning and gorgeous view. Try rooftop terrace for sun loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very thin walls between rooms therefore noise levels were bad! Orange juice at breakfast was diluted orange squash, this from a country where they are selling oranges at the roadside. Good location as it was just a couple of streets away from the noise of traffic. I did have a complaint which I spoke to the Manager about but it was not one which could be resolved immediately; it was a complaint about a large crack in the balcony glass! Could have been dangerous to people walking underneath if knocked with the chair or table. It was known about so therefore I think it should have been sorted out before allocating that room to guests. When I was there, a large group of golfers were there, and they were rather noisy, even during the night, but I feel that the management could have spoken to them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

OK location to the beach, main strip and about 35mins walking distance to the old town. Service during our stay was very professional with a friendly smile. The rooms were of decent size however the balcony was a bit on the small size. The breakfast was good, but had to wait in line for toast & the hot drink machine which was wasn't so great. Our evening meals were OK, loads of choice but the vegetables were boiled to death and therefore bland. Which meant even thou we were on half-board package we decided to eat out two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned from a week in this hotel to celebrate our anniversary . Very modern, almost 'boutique' feel to it. We had e-mailed ahead and asked for a high floor room and they obliged along with a bottle of bubbly and chocolate fondue as a surprise, which was a lovely gesture. We had room 325 on the side sea view (there are four floors on this and the pool view side with three floors on the road side). We had the sun in the morning, it then moved round across the pool view rooms finishing off on the road side of the hotel. We had a kettle in the room but, as other travellers have mentioned, you need to get your own tea bags/coffee. Supermarket just around the corner so not a problem.

Pool area very nice with plenty of loungers although they are a bit cramped in around the pool area; just move a couple of beds out on to the grassed area to give yourself some space (I like my own space!!). Very quiet with no children and lovely, smooth jazz style background music playing from the pool bar. Definitely no boom, boom music here!!

We were not bothered by any noise whatsoever in our room and didn't experience the problems that others claim to have suffered.

We stayed bed & breakfast and found it OK to be honest; typical hot plates and continental (can confirm the OJ is very weak). We had lunch by the pool one day and it was lovely. The tuna salad looked good!

We had a few nice meals out; try Paulu's Italian (just past the big supermarket), a little further up the road (next door to the Holland Bar I think) is another lovely restaurant, we had a lovely piri piri chicken lunch and there were lots of locals eating in there (always a good sign). On the opposite side of the road opposite the supermarket is another great restaurant, it's down a slope next door to the Chinese Wok restaurant. Very good food in there also. If you want a little pre dinner tipple, the terrace of the Oura Praia hotel (think that's what it's called) is lovely. It's opposite the other Chinese on the road down towards The Strip, sit in the sun and sip a G&T, very nice.

Overall, a relaxing week in a lovely hotel; would recommend.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor with side sea view is good. Quiet with early morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel

Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Pedra dos Bicos, Lote 24 - Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-381, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Pedra dos Bicos)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Proudly rising over the Bicos Beach, the Hotel has views over the city of Albufeira, the seaside cliffs until Vilamoura and the hypnotizing blue of the Atlantic Ocean. Standing on an unique location, the Aqua Pedra dos Bicos hotel is 300 meters away from the most famous bar and nightlife area of Albufeira and a stroll away from supermarkets, restaurants and touristic information offices. The proximity of the Bicos Beach - 180 meters away with direct access from the Hotel - the Santa Eulalia and Oura beaches, along with the Hotel's modern design and its inspiring views to the Ocean complete this unique hotel in the heart of the Algarve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedra Dos Bicos Albufeira
Aqua Pedra Dos Bicos Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.