We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home, with the sun and friendly folk to top it off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Dunfermline, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“home from home, with the sun and friendly folk to top it off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed for a week here, it was a lovely hotel, clean, modern,very spacious and in a good location. Reception staff were really helpful. use the Modello supermarket not the one next to the hotel. Lovely restaurant called "Expresso" just along the road, good food, friendly people and not over priced. Fat Cats nice English run bar a bit further along the road too!
have been back a week and are looking to go back in October!! Can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    265
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
232
352
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We travelled with another couple and we all loved al the parts of this hol .
We did it all independent so were nervous , booked hotel on internet we dropped on was fine modern and new ,well equipt , we also had a pool view which was nice , the other side was ok but not as nice, .
We also booked transfer on net it was private bookalbufeiratransfers.com, it was cheapest we found and great service met us at a sign with our name on it and we went in a huge car with more space than the plane, we got a free bottle of wine as a gift the guy spoke great english and told us all the hang outs on the local strip and suggested we went to the restaurant opposite "tres Palmeiras " we did 4 times ,,, yummy................

We liked the old town its traditional and only a little further the strip lovely ambiance ...

This was a great location and lovely little town we would like to return and do it all again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

My husband I fell in love with Albufeira, Portugal on our first visit in May 2002. 14 visits later we have found it just as appealing and all the better for the 4* hotel/spa Forte Do Vale it is up a running so no excuses for not being over booked though we are greatful it is not because of its ideal position and convenience.

A lot of people seem to enjoy the outdoor pool eventhough we choose not to use it.

Neil an d Sandra

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Just spent six weeks at the Forte do Vale.. In the winter it mainly caters to seniors like ourselves..Staff friendly and helpfull.Apartment is clean and has daily maid service.Kitchen has clothes washer ,fridge,stove, microwave etc..no oven though.But thatss cool as we ate out once a day and ate in other times.. a ten min walk from the strip and a twenty mn walk from Old town..THe library is up the road for free computer use and there is a supermarket at the top of the road.you pass a lovely bakery on the way. Also up the road is Fat Cats a great English pub with poolside patio and friendly owners..by the way we fly from Canada to get there so it must be good as we have already booked it for next Jan Feb. met some lovely people who we will see next year. The restuarant in the hotel I cant vouch for as never used it and they have a bar which is open most of the time. but Alubfeira has so much more to offer we were out and about every day..Love the forte do Vale...Dennis and Chris

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Forte Do vale was amazing value for money. We couldnt believe how lovely the place was for the price of the holiday. It is close enough to the strip to walk to but far enough away to get sleep! we recommend asking for a pool side room when booking as our balcony was lovely. the jeep safari was well worth a visit too. the local food was fantastic we ate out 7 nights and not a bad meal! having trouble finding a holiday the same value this year-might go back instead!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here with my boyfriend for my 20th birthday from the 19th-24th december. The staff were pleasant and helpful, they drew us maps of how to get to the old town which is about 15-20 min walk away and how to get to the new town which was closer. On arrival the hotel was beautiful, although there didnt seem to be very many people about. The room was very nicely decorated and clean, had a kitchen, bedroom, bathroom with hairdryer, living area with a few english tv channels and a nice balcony. Due to the time of year we went we were told that about 90% of the shops and restaurants were closed, so it was quite difficult finding a place to eat at night, although there was a nice little restaurant at the back of the hotel, and there is also a big shopping centre about 10 min walk away. As for the restaurant in the hotel, we did not go to it because we were not sure if it was open or closed because nobody was ever in it, or i didnt see any staff in it.

I would definately recommend this hotel to someone however i would definately say go during the summer, as this hotel is very quiet and the entertainment wasnt very good, i think they had the same country singer for 2 of the 5 nights we stayed and that was all. The guests at the hotel were of the older age group at this time of year so i would not reccommend this for younger travellers in the winter season.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I booked Forte do Vale through Travel Republic last year April 2009 for 10 ten days. There was myself, my best friend, her mother and my best friend son who was 7. We booked a one bedroom apartment there, and i have to say it was fantastic.The facilities avaliable in the apartment were very good, a working kitchen and enough cooking utensils, for you to manage for ten days or even a good two week holiday.In earlier reviews, people were complaining about not having a kettle!!. Traditonally in Portugal they do not use a kettles really, and you can request a special type of pan, especially for boiling water or milk at reception, and it is brought to you within the hour. In fact any request is uaully forfilled really quickly and the staff were helpful. The apartment was spacious, and the sofa bed was not too bad considering it was a bit of pain to set up,but then i find anything like that on holiday a pain as i just want to relax, so it wasnt that bad!!! The view we had was amazing, and the facilities there were very good. The pool was clean, but a bit too cold as it was April, but i am sure in the peak seasons of July and August it would be a welcome cooldown after a hot day at the beach.
The location was ideal, and in easy reach of all the beaches on Albuferia, as well as in walking distance of the old town, and the strip if you wanted more nightlife, which is great great fun if not slightly tacky sometimes!!!
Overall i really enjoyed my stay, and i have already booked with Forte do Vale again for 7 days in July. The standard is very good compared to some places i had previously stayed at (Club Praia da Oura AWFUL DIRTY AND OVER PRICED!)
I would 100% recommend these apartments to everybody,they were very very good!!!!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale

Address: Rua Dunfermline, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.