We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sent away...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Dunfermline, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“sent away...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well from reading the other reviews its interesting to know that we arent the only people this happened to... booked and paid for this hotel in February, we had stayed here before 2 years ago. When we arrived at the hotel on 1st September they were in the process of sending another distressed couple away, then when we went to check in we were told that the hotel was under new management (also noticed a new picture of what looked like a maffia boss behind the desk). Then we were told that we wouldn't be staying at Forte Do Vale but in Aura Praia but not to worry because its the same standard and closer to the beach... aura praia was ok but quite a distance away from the old town which is where we like to go each night, also the apartment they gave usxwas above a bar. As we had previously stayed at forte do vale we were also aware that this place was not the same standard! My partner went back to forte do vale and asked to see the manager who "wasn't there" but was told he would phone us when he arrived at 2.30pm. He never phoned so my partner went back again and after kicking up a stink, the manager magically appeared. After much complaining we eventually managed to get a room in forte do vale the next day. When we got to the room there was a letter of apology and a bottle of wine, which was all very nice but pity we had to go through all the bother in the first place! It is a shame because we really like the location and the standard of this place but unfortunately I wouldn't book in the future because I wouldn't be confident that this won't happen again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,
As you already know, MGM -Petchey Leisure has recently taken over the direction of the Hotel Forte do Vale. Unfortunately we have found a situation left from the previous management, where there were some over bookings for several different dates.
We fully understand the frustration and disappointment of our guests, and we made our utmost to avoid major nuisance or inconvenience for a situation that we never presented to our customers before. This was an unusual situation for us, and we appreciate all our customer comprehension.
This situation has already been solved, thanks to the efforts and professionalism of our team. According to your words, our director did the best under the circumstances to fulfill your request, as well as sent you an apology letter and a little attention for the inconvenience caused. However, your words are not appropriated regarding the photo of the owner of the company. We will be asking Tripadvisor to remove your post as we considered it a xenophobic comment.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    265
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
232
353
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for first time, end Sept 13. Phoned ahead and asked for pool view. Given room 111, overlooking pool. Rooms 9,10,11,12,13 and 14 on each floor overlook pool. All other rooms have car park views. Room - excellent.Very spacious with everything you need in kitchen - hob, toaster, kettle, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer, utensils. Lounge/bedroom very big. Heard NO noise during the night, either from inside the hotel, or outside. Loads of wardrobe/drawer space. Fair size balcony. TV has usual euro channels and BBC1/2,ITV1/3 . Great aircon in Lounge and Bedroom. Light modern decor. Very clean. Maid service daily - sheets changed twice a week, towels changed on demand. Big gripe tho' in paying 2.75e/ day + 35e deposit for a key/lock for room safe.Should be free these days!. One star knocked off for this, as well as for the facilities at the hotel - poor. Games room = 3 pool tables/air-hockey table. Inside Lounge is large/modern butalmost always empty- no promotions or enticements to use it. Gym - 12euros per day/25 per week for residents. No poolside activites. This creates a lack of atmosphere in public areas. Reception staff a bit aloof but not unfriendly. Also, surprised at no hotel information brochure in room. No info on anything - eg restaurant opening times. Restaurant did not even have a menu put up anywhere. Good free wifi in public areas and I got good wifi in my room.Location - 10 minute easy walk to the Strip, 20 minutes to the Old Town. As we left, they were advertising a free shuttle to the old town every 15 minutes. If you don't want to walk to the old town(downhill there, uphill back) the 'Lidl' tourist bus stops outside the hotel every 20 mins and takes you there in 5 mins, but 20 minutes on way back as it goes in a circle round the area. 4.00euros return. Taxi cost just under 5 euros and there are tons of them at the rank in the old town - hardly ever waited. I will return to Albufeira and would definitely go back to Forte Do Vale.

Room Tip: Phone ahead a few days before arrival. Rooms 9 - 14 on any floor are pool view, car park views else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear customer, many thanks for your review, your feedback is very important to us. We are glad you had a good time at our hotel and were satisfied with our customer service. As you know, Petchey Leisure has recently taken over the direction of the Hotel Forte do Vale, and as such we are making adjustments and improvements to the services provided to meet the expectations and satisfaction of our customers, as always.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, and have the opportunity to receive you with the quality that characterizes Petchey Leisure services, and provide you an unforgettable holiday.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chiltington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked through cosmos with my Tesco vouchers which gave us a great saving. Spent two weeks here. on booking in was advised would be given a ground floor apartment facing the car park. Advised that i didn't want this and a nice lady found room 414 top floor overlooking the pool. These are great apartments. have large bedroom , loung/diner, bathroom, good sized hallway adn a kitchen. However previous posts say beds are uncomfortable. It wa like sleeping on concret. even with a thin duvet, 2 doubled up blankets still uncomfortable. So i got all three cushions from back of sofa and balanced on them all night. Not easy but a lot more comfortable. Alos ther is NO OVEN. Only a microwave and NOTHING to cook in. Only had 2 saucepans and a frying pan for use on 4 rings. A/Con great. need a car though as its great to see the area. Lagos is good, cape st vincent, Cliff richard Adega. Swimming pool area always crowded by 9 occlock as people put their towels down by 8 , so didn't even sunbather during the holdiay even though it was very hot. Little dotto train stops at roundabout and you pay 4 Euros each and it will take you to the Continente which is a great big supermarket. But i think a car is essential. We booked with economy car rental and they were brilliant and you pay no excess charges. extended car hire and just phoned up paid and it was so easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor looking at the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your remarks about the mattresses and kitchen utensils to the Management Team for investigation. Reservation of sun beds with towels is a worldwide problem. We are doing our best to control this issue. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Albufeira.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, united kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

For all those who have stayed here previously and given a good review, myself included, beware!!
I was unaware that the hotel had been taken over at the begining of september and is now part of the Petchy group who I have had issues with before.

I have stayed here for times and booked this holiday back in January. I called them two weeks before (as instructed) to request certain rooms and expected a little help due to my loyalty. Well that was a mistake! I was offered a room for disabled people and the bathroom looked like a public toilet. After complaining and viewing a further three rooms we settled for one overlooking the car park. not too much choice really!

The bar has changed and prices gone up considerably! 1 euro on a pint and 3 euros on wine. No one goes in as you would expect. They did not even have change for the one drink I did have in there. Also the restaurant has closed except for breakfast, again at inflated prices.

The new management havn't addressed the old issues ie, a lack of cuttlery and utencills etc, no iron or ironing board, no wine glasses, the list is endless.

They have however managed to put up a nice photo of the new owner and a statue of the madona. (not the pop star)

It's a shame as it is a nice location and building, but do yourself a favour and book elsewhere!!

Room Tip: don't expect to choose a room, It won't happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear customer, thank you in advance for taking you time in this review, since your feedback is very important to us. It is with discontent that we found that your stay did not meet your expectations. I can however assure you that this is not the level of service that our clients usually toast. Petchey Leisure has recently taken over the direction of the Hotel Forte do Vale, and as such we are making adjustments and improvements to the services provided to meet the expectations and satisfaction of our customers, as always.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, and have the opportunity to receive you with the quality that characterizes Petchey Leisure services, and provide you an unforgettable holiday in any of our 4 projects in Albufeira: Hotel Forte do Vale, Clube Praia da Oura, Oura View Beach Club and Oura Praia Hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a shame !!! Been 4 times to this hotel and loved it, however our latest booking has turned into a nightmare.... The hotel is under new management and has overbooked telling us we either go to a sister hotel 1.4km away or they cancel it. As I booked the hotel due to the location I cancelled and now cannot get anything in the location I want as everything is fully booked !!! Thank you management at forte do vale for completely ruining our holiday :-(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Customer, as you are aware Petchey Leisure has recently taken over the direction of the Hotel Forte do Vale. Unfortunately we have found a situation left from the previous management, where there are some over bookings for several different dates. We fully understand your frustration and disappointment, and we are doing our utmost to avoid major nuisance or inconvenience to our customers. In this sense we are moving several guests affected by this situation to our sister property, the Oura Praia Hotel. This hotel is a 4 star property and well located near good amenities e.g. restaurants, bars, supermarkets and banks.
We been asking to all of our partners to contact clients on this situations, to give them an explaining and then they can be taken directly to the OURAPRAIA on their arrival.
As you know this is not something Petchey Leisure ever does, but circumstances have put us in this unusual situation.
We appreciate your comprehension and apology for the inconvenient .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I arrived on Friday13 September to find the rooms had been overbooked and there was no accommodation available for us. I had paid the accommodation on 16 August but had not been informed that there were difficulties or given a choice to have my money refunded. This was a big disappointment as I had searched accommodation in Albufeira for hours and was so impressed with the facilities in forte do vale and couldn't wait to stay there. We were moved to the near by Oura view beach club (3 star) accommodation and I was initially very disappointed as we were placed in an apartment that resembled a broom cupboard. I talked to the manager of Forte do vale the following morning and we were moved on the Sunday to another room with a great view. At this stage we were two days into a one week holiday and we knew we were not going to get what we paid for so we decided to try and enjoy what was left of our holiday. The staff at Oura beach club were very helpful and I couldn't fault them at all but any contact I had with Forte do vale was very disappointing. I paid for 4 star got 3 star and was basically told to live with it as there was no alternative. Sorry Forte do vale but due to the lack of customer service I would not rate you high or recommend to others. Regardless of a change in management you should treat customers better and protect your reputation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
as you are aware Petchey Leisure has recently taken over the direction of the Hotel Forte do Vale. Unfortunately we have found a situation left from the previous management, where there are some over bookings for several different dates. We fully understand your frustration and disappointment, and we are doing our utmost to avoid major nuisance or inconvenience to our customers. In this sense we are moving several guests affected by this situation to our sister property, the Oura Praia Hotel. This hotel is a 4 star property and well located near good amenities e.g. restaurants, bars, supermarkets and banks. We been asking to all of our partners to contact clients on this situations, to give them an explaining and then they can be taken directly to the OURAPRAIA on their arrival.
This is an unusual situation for us, and we appreciate your comprehension. Please accept our apology for the inconvenient .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked on 3 August 2013 to go this Friday 27 sept .hotel canceled Monday 23 sept they said over booked.i looked on there site it said last room booked 15 day that makes it 9th sept this is not right is it .we have plane ,car parking and transfers booked nightmare .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sue,

Leisure has recently taken over the direction of the Hotel Forte do Vale. Unfortunately we have found a situation left from the previous management, where there are some over bookings for several different dates.
We fully understand your frustration and disappointment, and we are doing our utmost to avoid major nuisance or inconvenience to our customers. In this sense we are moving several guests affected by this situation to our sister property, the Oura Praia Hotel. This hotel is a 4 star property and well located near good amenities e.g. restaurants, bars, supermarkets and banks.
This is an unusual situation for us, and we appreciate your comprehension. Please accept our apology for the inconvenient .
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale

Address: Rua Dunfermline, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamento Forte Do Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.