We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forte Do Vale

Save Saved
You added Forte Do Vale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forte Do Vale
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Dunfermline | Apartado no 632, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Forte do Vale for 2 weeks at the end of June. Fab time in a very comfortable apartment. It lacked a few kitchen utensils but we managed to improvise. Would rather have had an oven than a dishwasher and instructions for the combination microwave would have been handy. Although if we had had instructions then we would have needed bowls, trays to cook in. Slept comfortably in the beds and on sofa bed. Did the morning rush for sun loungers but only because we wanted to be near the toddler pool with a small child. Only a few people put towels on chairs and didn't turn up for hours. Most were families that stayed by the pool for the day. Felt a little guilty leaving them on whilst we went for lunch and would have been a little annoyed if they had been removed having been there since 9am (which was the time my daughter wanted to be in the pool!) Can imagine it would be very busy in August! Bought a parasol for €5 from supermarket to avoid fight for very limited number of provided ones by the pool.
Perfect location for old and new town. Used the small supermarket a couple of times but mainly walked to large Continente supermarket for fab prices and quality.
Only issue was the safe in the room. I found it rather expensive. Cost me €35 for the 2 weeks and a €35 deposit. I had arranged to get my deposit back the day before we left so that I didn't have a purse full of Euros to go home with. Our flight was early the next morning and wanted it to spend on our final evening out! Was asked to come back in the morning which I told them was impossible but I had to be fairly forceful and wait until 6pm for the money. Shame. It spoilt the end of the holiday a little. The staff were generally very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    214
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
198
281
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Beautiful modern hotel, rooms were huge and nicely decorated. It has everything you could need, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, large balcony and air con. Swimming pool was perfect, loads of sunbeds, pool bar was was great very cheap and nice food. WIFI throughout the hotel and the reception are very helpful.

The location of this hotel is perfect, it's about 15 minutes walk to the old town, 10 minutes walk to the montechoro strip and an 8 minute walk to the beach. Its less than €5 in a taxi to the strip and old town so if you are feeling a little tired. There is a small super market around the corner and a large one about 10 minutes away. The small train stops right outside the hotel, this is €2 per trip or €4 for the day.

Room Tip: Room 215, pool view, WIFI, sun in the evening, little bit of noise from the bar, but finished by 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on a hen party with 22 girls arrived at the hotel at 11am and we were all able to check into rooms straight away we had 8 apartments between us, rooms are huge with great kitchen appliances the pool bar was ideal and very reasonable for food and drinks we all managed to get sun beds around the pool at all times during the day although I travelled with friends I would return to this hotel with my young family also it was a great base to visit old and new town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week from 22 July 2013 with my boyfriend and two other couples. One of the couples stayed here previously last year so recommended it. We arrived at 13.00 but was told we couldn't get into our room until 4pm which was annoying. There was a room available to store our bags and we were able to change using the toilet next door.
Once we got into our rooms they are huge. Kitchen full of everything you could need including a dishwasher and washing machine. We got a room on top floor above the main entrance. No problems with noise and was a nice view. Wouldn't recommend a ground floor one next to the pool as its not very private.
The pool is big but make sure you get towels down by 8.30am. There is a sign saying towels will be removed if not used but never saw this happen. Pool bar well stocked with drinks and snacks. Pool does need some updating- tiles missing etc.
The bar downstairs is good for drinks before we went out. Variety of cocktails- would recommend the pina colada! Bruno and Joho who work behind the bar are great. There were a number of acts which we could watch in the bar including a band, an Irish dance group and a parrot show.
We didnt eat in the hotel restaurant but the prices looked reasonable.
There is a train outside the hotel that you can catch if you want to go to the New town or Old town. Prices are €5 return and you get to see some of Albufeira while you're on it! New Town is mainly bars and clubs and the old town is more restaurants although there is a few bars here as well.
Overall would recommend the hotel for families and couples but its not a 18-30's kind of hotel which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

A great base for going to old and new town. Stayed in rooms 404 & 405 and was able to use the wifi no problem. None of us took any coat hangers, the apartments only had 10, for 4 adults in one apartment this wasn't sufficient, reception did however send five more which helped, one of the apartments didn't have a toaster and on reporting to reception they explained there aren't enough to go round and as soon as anyone checks out from one that does they would send one round which they did the following day. Other than that the apartments were excellent, washing machine was great for freshening up beach towels. Bar lacked atmosphere when we were there. Sunbeds are limited but in our second week, there were more beds available throughout the day. We did get up earlier than normal to make sure we got beds which meant going down at 8am, it's not realistic to all be down and ready to sit at the pool from 8am so we used to take it in turns to stay with the beds to show willing and generally we were all present within an hour or so, there was an occasion that the manager removed towels if there was no-one present. Beach closest to the apartments is lovely, to the right there is a beach restaurant which give you a free drink for each €5 bed. Used yellowish for transfer, excellent value and service. If you enjoy live music, try sir Harry's in the old town, new town try libertos and wild & co. Would definitely stay at forte do vale again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got back last week from Forte to Vale and were glad that we have given it another chance. This was our 4th time there but the last time we were very disappointed mainly by the staff.
Checkin was quick and efficient and we got a lovely room with a pool view, rooms cannot be faulted as they are so big.
Some changes we noticed this year was the eating area at the pool which is a big bonus, the bar staff are always helpful and smiling. Apartments are in a great location for both the strip and the old town.
Thank you to Joanna the receptionist as she always had a smile for you, even translated a bottle of suncream for us one day.
We will definately return again as you cannot fault the accommodation, the washing machine alone is a godsend with young children.
Only one thing I can say is they should put a no towel on bed policy before 9.30am unless you are going to actually sit on the bed and use, getting up at 8am everyday on holidays was tiring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 3 friends in July, all of us girls in our 20s. This is our 5th time in Albufeira and we've stayed in a different place each time, always self-catering, and I can honestly say this is the best equipped self catering apartment we have ever stayed in. We had a one bed apartment which was very large with two single beds in the bedroom and 2 sofa beds in the lounge/dining area. The kitchen had a large fridge and freezer, 4 ring hob, microwave, kettle and toaster as well as a dishwasher and washing machine and for once we actually had a full set of plates, bowls, mugs, glasses and cutlery! There is a small shop less than 2 minutes away from the hotel where you can buy basics but they are quite overpriced for Portugal and so we just walked to the big Continente supermarket which is around 10 minutes walk away and stocked up. The bathroom was a good standard with a hairdryer and we had a nice balcony overlooking the pool which had the sun on it for most of the day. Our only slight complaint about the room was the lack of mirrors, one in the bedroom, one in the bathroom and for some reason there wasn't one over the table in the bedroom which we found a bit strange however this is only a minor complaint as four girls trying to get ready to go out in the evening! We found the standard of cleanliness to be excellent, in fact the overwhelming smell when we first entered the room was cleaning, and sheets and towels were changed regularly however, as others have mentioned some of the towels are a bit threadbare and probably do need replacing.
The one downside to this hotel is that it has a lovely, huge pool but it is almost impossible to get a sunbed if you emerge any later than 9am. One morning we witnessed the absolute stampede at 8am when the pool opens to put towels down and of course half of these people don't even use their sunbeds until they come to collect their towels at 6pm. It means you can't decide to split your day half pool and half beach like we like to and the hotel really needs to do something about it. The other issue by the pool was that the pool snack bar service was pretty dire, it took us 30 minutes to get 4 sandwiches one day! We had a couple of drinks in the main hotel bar which are reasonably priced but the entertainment leaves a lot to be desired, not important to us as we intended to go out anyway. Our only trouble with this was our first night when we headed to bed at around 1o.30pm and were kept awake by Jessie J/Adele. As a family it may be wise to request a room which isn't directly above the bar, we were on the 2nd floor, 3 floors above the bar and could still hear it perfectly.
A major plus of this hotel is the staff who we found to be very helpful, especially Gina the receptionist and the very helpful Miguel, the night porter. We unfortunately had a quite severe mishap whilst away and he did nothing short of help us in every possible way he could think of.
The hotel is in a good location, about 10 minutes from the strip and only slightly further to the old town, less so in a taxi which reception will call for you and always seemed to arrive in less than 5 minutes. The nearest beach is about 5 minutes walk away, is less crowded than the old town beach and lovely.
As it is more than likely that I will be returning to Albufeira again next year I would definitely look to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: 214 is a pool facing room with a balcony that gets afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forte Do Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forte Do Vale

Address: Rua Dunfermline | Apartado no 632, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 93 Specialty lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forte Do Vale 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Forte Do Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Do Vale Hotel Albufeira
Forte Do Vale Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forte Do Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.