We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Dom Carlos

Restaurante Dom Carlos
Rua Alves Correia 100, Albufeira 8200-090, Portugal
351 289 541 224
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 578 Restaurants in Albufeira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had not expected to find such a different restaurant in the old part of Albufeira. We had the 5 course meny, all very well prepared and presented with much attention from the owner and his wife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    50
    19
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality venue amongst a sea of trashy touristy restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Just far enough away from the centre of the old town and its array of below average restaurants is this little gem. Don't get me wrong there are a couple of other gems to be found but this one is on another level. Quality decor, table linen, wine list, service and of course the food - all top quality. Five courses for 44 euros including homemade breads. I particularly liked the soup which I believe is a good sign for any restaurant. I was also particularly impressed on how they adjusted the set menu for vegetarians.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Having read the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to book a meal at Dom Carlos and we were not disappointed. The food was superb. The menu is priced at 44 euros for a 5 course dinner. Home made bread to start. We enjoyed scallops with smoked salmon, courgette soup (delicious), Hake with Fennel, Steak with a Red wine Sauce (our friends had the slow roast lamb with said they really enjoyed) followed by Strawberries in cognac....every course was a delight and we could not fault anything. The hosts Anna and Peter are charming and attentive. We enjoyed a coffee and free glass of port to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If only we hadn't had lunch!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fantastic eating experience. Unknown to us this restaurant only offers a 5 course meal (44 euro) - had we known this we would certainly have starved ourselves all day to better appreciate the fantastic food on offer! After an excellent starter of scallop, smoked salmon with mango we launched into a soup course, portobello mushroom for him and cauliflower with raisin and pear salsa for her; we had a fish course of grouper on wilted spinach with roasted piccolini tomatoes. There followed a meat course of either chicken, steak or slow cooked lamb with complementary vegetables and sauces; topped off with a choice of raspberry roulade, marinated strawberries or basque galette! We were begging for mercy at the end, particularly since the charming owner/chef Peter offered my husband a further fillet steak and basque cake after our desserts! Everything was home made including the delicious breads (banana, soda and sour dough) and the menu was both well-planned and highly executed.
Needless to say the food was exemplary, however, it does not end there, the attention to detail from Peter and his charming wife Ana is exceptional! It is like going to friends or family to dinner with its intimate, charming, pale blue ambience and friendliness of Ana and Peter. An experience not to miss in Albufeira!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was superb, a given. What makes this such a great place to eat is the owners. Charming and funny. We went as a large group and were welcomed like old friends

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Dom Carlos also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Dom Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Dom Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.