We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant. Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Da Fonte

Casa Da Fonte
Rue joao de Deus, Albufeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 573 restaurants in Albufeira
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant. Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I visited here when we managed to offload the kids with the inlaws for the evening. The food, ambience, service, welcome were all excellent. One slight crib was that I was seated underneath a patio heater so the back of my baldy head got a bit warm!

The food, though: outstanding. I had butterfly clams followed by giant prawns and my wife had garlic prawns followed by a chicken kebab. The seafood was exquisite and the kebab was pretty good too.

Visit Casa Da Fonte.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    188
    93
    25
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A fine dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in the Algarve and ate at this fine restaurant whilst there. It was recommended to us by two elderly ex-pats whom we met elsewhere and we were not disappointed. The setting is excellent, in the old town, and the atmosphere ideal. We did not find it expensive, indeed compared to other places we have eaten it was fairly priced. There is a selction of tables with benches and tables with seats, we were glad that we had the seats. My wife and I had a mixed kebab which was plentiful and enjoyable, although our friend was slightly disappointed with his piri piri chicken which was slightly hard on the outside. The wine was local and of good quality and a complimentary glass of port finished our meal of in splendid style.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average food in lovely setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us so nought we'd give it a go, on arriving we were given choice of either sitting by log fire or in the covered terrace, both areas are lovely and the restaurant had a really nice feel to it. Menu very limited and pricier than other places, I chose the fish kebab while hubby had chicken steak. Both meals took about 20-25mins to arrive which is fine as it showed that food was freshly cooked but we were only ones in restaurant so would dread to thin how long the wait would be if it were busy. My fish kebab looked better than it tasted, fish was nicely cooked but bit watery why makes me think it was frozen prior to be cooked, hubby said his food was ok. All in all setting is really nice, would happily sit here all evening before taking a stroll trough tunnel Onto beach, but food is only average for the cost.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Reasonable food bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had the fish kebabs served on a skewer hanging over a plate of potatoes and vegetables ( choice of vegetables or salad offered) - very dramatic looking!! the cod, salmon and king prawns were very tasty having been charcoal grilled. My husband chose the grouper steak which was okay tasting but a bit on the small side and disappointing having paid similar price and had much nicer fish the night before. We had to wait quite a long time for the food , over 20 minutes I reckon, the restaurant was not busy, only three other tables occupied and despite being able to see the chef, and the grill area, chef seemed to be standing around not doing anything, so no idea why the wait.......we had bread to nibble on with a few olives and had almost finished the wine by the time food arrived. We had the house wine which cost 13.50 Euros bit pricey and the following night we had the same elsewhere and it cost us 10 Euros. So all in all, okay food and ambiance but can get much better elsewhere......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great hanging kebabs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went here on my partner's birthday, following a recommendation from some local people.

The evening was cool, so we ate inside in the dining room, which had a rustic feel to it. The starters came almost immediately after the bread & sardine pate, which was a shame - 10 minutes between would have been better.

Although I've learned since that it's not an original presentation style, we'd never seen kebabs served on a skewer hanging over the plate before - so were very impressed with the drama of it! My fish kebab (cod, salmon and king prawns) was excellently cooked, and the small potatoes it came with were very tasty. If I'm honest, my partner enjoyed his meat kebab, but was more excited planning how to make the hanging skewer (which was attached to the plate trivet) when we got home!

We had 3 drinks each, then coffee - one with baileys and the other with white port - and the bill came to 80 euros. It was quite expensive, but OK for a special treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Da Fonte also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to Casa Da Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Da Fonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.