We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, great facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solaqua Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Solaqua Apartments to your Saves list
Solaqua Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Do Mediterraneo, Albufeira 8200-156, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Leven
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, great facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An excellent apartment and great value for money. Outdoor pool area was spotless and enjoyable as was the indoor pool and jacuzzi. 10-15min walk to both old and new town or €4 taxi. Snack bar good quality, buffet breakfast not so good but supermarket 100m away made life easy.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    242
    93
    27
    13
See reviews for
176
261
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a studio apartment which was basic but clean. The air conditioning worked but was very cold and we had trouble adjusting it. The pool was clean and not overcrowded however we stayed in June so I imagine it might be quite busy in peak season.

The rooms did not have WiFi which although wasn't a problem for us it might be a problem for some travellers. If you required internet access you could pay to use Wi-Fi in the reception area or pay to use a desktop computer as well.

The apartments were located across the road from a shopping centre and large supermarket which was ideal as we were self catering however it was roughly a 25minute hilly walk to the old town which although was nice enough did become a bit tiresome at times. The apartments were also about 20mins away from the New town strip. Overall the accommodation met the needs of the holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked these apartments for 24 nights as it was our honeymoon , I am unable to use lifts with being claustrophic we were put on 3rd floor which does,nt seem high but when you have to walk 54 steps up and down a few times a day plus if you were going to pool there was another 19 steps to walk it's every hard going at my age (63) after the 3rd day I was exhausted and my husband went to reception to ask why we were not on a low floor he even showed him the paper work with our request on , reception had same paper with it on but it had,nt been put on there computer system , he asked his manager for a low room and the answer was a NO , A lady who was on the ground floor who had just arrived wanted a pool view and higher room my husband offered to exchange her and reception still said it can not be done . Well the outcome is they spoilt our honey moon , any time you passed reception they never even acknowledged any one .. as we were leaving not one person on reception asked if we enjoyed our holiday all had miserable faces .. Must say bar staff were nice helpful people So the outcome is we will not be returning to Solaqua again and neither will our family and friends .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

good hotel for the price. Nice sized pool and hotel room. great location pretty much in the middle of the main areas and about a 15min walk to the beach. friendly staff and the rooms were cleaned everyday so should be a safe bet if your looking to head to albufiera!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here for a week at the beginning of July with 4 of my friends on our first girls holiday. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment so i thought it might be a bit of a squeeze for us all. However i was pleasantly surprised when we arrived as the apartment was much bigger than i had anticipated. The two beds in the living room had already been made up and the place was spotless. The kitchen had all the essentials, kettle, toaster, microwave etc. The bathroom is also spacious with a large mirror and we were surprised at how often the cleaners changed towels, bins and made the beds as they came everyday around 5ish. We stayed in an apartment near reception and got a pool view which was brilliant. The hotel was getting busy when we left and in the morning there often wasn't any sunbeds left as people do reserve them with their towels. The pool was clean and it was nice to have an indoor pool with Jacuzzi which was never busy. The pool bar wasn't open when we where there which was a shame and the snack bar was a bit disappointing as the staff were rude and there wasn't enough of them. The location of the hotel was ideal for us girls as we wanted nightlife which we got on the strip in the new town but we wanted to have somewhere nice to eat in the evening which we found the old town was better for. To walk to the strip it is about a 15- 20 minute walk, it is good for people who want to party and dance the night away as there are many bars and clubs. The old town is about a 10 minute walk away there are lots of lovely shops and restaurants which are nice to eat at, for good prices. The old town is more ideal for families and those with children. There is a train which comes every 20 minutes and is 2 euros 50 cent to get, it goes to the old town and the new town which can come in handy if you don't want to walk. As a group of girls we absolutely loved our first girly holiday here and would defiantly recommend to all ages, if we go back to Portugal i would 100% stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as if you don't you may end up on a low level overlooking the road and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks in June 14 , apartment large and has all you need for a week or two the only improvement would be electric kettles as the one to go on the hob takes too long and not sure if ours was a faulty one, but it 'wobbled' on the heat to the point of moving off the heat if left! Rooms cleaned every day, yes it was late in the afternoon but that was not a problem for us as we rarely went back to the room before 5

Excellent location for both old and new town and the large supermarket / shopping centre at the top of the street was a bonus.

Pool excellent,, deepest end was 1.6m which means the whole of the pool was used as not too deep and the water warmed up nicely, some of the sunbeds did look dirty but then that is because they are light coloured, whilst there they had set about jet washing some of them and whilst we were there they did take delivery of more beds and umbrellas which meant we never had a problem getting a bed even when we didn't get down until 11

All staff friendly and helpful, only ate snacks at the pool bar, no complaints, but there is a lovely café / bar at the top of the street that does lovely snacks too that is well worth visiting.

Albufeira is a lovely resort with a lively bustling old town centre that attract all ages, singles, couples and families, can't wait to go back and would definitely return to these apartments.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a pool view, but hotel at end of quiet road, so noise never a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the solaqua from the 21st - 28th june and had a great holiday !
We felt that the hotel was a big part to play on us having such a great time in portugal. The location is superb you 10 min walk from the strip, the old town is a easy taxi ride that costs around 4 euros and the beach is a 10 min walk. There's a massive supermarket at the top of the road that is really handy when your self catering!(also when you want to stock up on booze) I think the only thing we can say was slightly disappointing was there was no free wifi in the hotel but you get used to it after a while and there's a wee cafe at the top of the road that do free wifi !
So overall i would say if your going to be staying at solaqua you will have a blast !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solaqua Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaqua Apartments

Address: Rua Do Mediterraneo, Albufeira 8200-156, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Solaqua Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Solaqua Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaqua Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Solaqua Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaqua Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.