We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Diner

American Diner
The Strip, Albufeira, Portugal
289542177
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 580 Restaurants in Albufeira
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

lovely staff, excellent decor,food great! !!!!!would definitely recomend trying this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    18
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visited twice on my recent golfing trip to Albufeira. Both times the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The first time the lovely waitress even delivered the whole order to a local bar where we were all drinking. She really couldn't be more helpful. First class service....
Try the Torpedo Sub...... Lovely !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our worst meal in Albufeira.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week stay in Albufeira. We visited this diner with our 3 young children. For a start the service was very very slow. The food was dreadful. We waited 30 minutes for potato skins which had easy single cheese melted over them. Chicken on kebab was raw after waiting 45 minutes for main course. Childrens chicken nuggets were awful. Milkshakes not much better. Burgers were horrible. On the plus side the childrens pizza was good. The only thing american about this place was the decor. Will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Diner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel I stayed at it was literally just down the road from the American Diner in Albuferia and we saw the menu outside one night and I had read reviews previously saying this place was lovely so we made a night to eat out here. We went quite late but they were still welcoming and let us sit and eat for as long as we wanted.

We had two massive burgers and milkshakes, with fries as sides and the whole meal only cost us 20 Euro which is good considering the conversion rate. The food was delicious as were the milkshakes and the burgers were massive and if I could have afforded to eat there the whole time I might just have!

The staff were lovely also, asking us if we were enjoying our meal and checking things were generally okay, they were also friendly and chatting away with us as we were the only people in at that time. They have lovely little figures of famous Americans, such as Elvis, The Blues Brothers and my personal favourite, Betty Boop, haha.

I would definitely recommend eating here, there are a few of them in Albuferia I believe, one in old town and also one just 10minutes from the Strip in Montechoro which is the one I ate at.

A quirky little place, not to be missed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The American Diner in the old town of Albufira is fantastic, one of the best reasturants i've been too in a long time, the food is fantastic, the service is outstanding and the price is very reasonable. Can't recommend it more

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Diner also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.