We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos to your Saves list
Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua do Municipio | part of Clube Humbria, Albufeira 8200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Albufeira B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed at this apartment in April/May 2011 with my girlfriend. We only paid 200 quid each for the whole holiday (flight ,transfers and hotel) so for the price we couldn’t complain.
The hotel is not a 4* hotel in my opinion but it is a very good 3* hotel. The staff speak good English and are very helpful also rooms generally clean. BUT THE DOWNSIDES!!!!! The poolside bar wasn’t open until may the2nd which was a pain and wasn’t stated. The pool was being used as a bird bath as it was raining for a few days. Birds nest above door to poolside bar and obviously the birds mess ewwww not nice. The room was generally clean few bad points where little stains on curtains, outside light broke, no plug for the bath. All these are miner little problems there are no big problems with this hotel !!! I would defo go back.
Good location as supermarkets was just over the road or a shopping centre 100yards down the road. Also nearby the hotel is a mc donalds, pizza hut and kfc all within 2min walk. 100yards down the road was also a taxi ranch. The old town and beach is about a 15min walk away I would say ideal for most people but if u have trouble with walking not such a good idea all though a taxi only costs around 4 euros. Ask at reception for a map and how to get to the town and they will help.
I have been on a fair few cheap and cheerful holidays over the years and this has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
29
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We arrived expecting a 3 star hotel as 4 star generally equates to this, but feel this hotel is more 2 star in quality but has a few more facilities if they were open or could be used. We were very disappointed with the hotel, the beds were very small and the pillows hard and lumpy! The refurbished rooms consist of a paint job on the bathroom tiles of pink and bright blue, as for the shower you are unable to stand underneath it to shower as the head has no bracket for overhead use and also had no power. However there was always hot water for a bath. Three out of the five lights in our room did not work, the handy man did respond very quickly and all that was needed was the bulbs to be changed, we did show him the shower and how it was un-useable and he smiled, to work it needed to be totally replaced. When we arrived there was only 23 sun beds by the pool, for the first 3 days lots of people had to put there towels on the floor to sun bathe around the pool.There was lots of parasol bases around the pool, far more than sun beds but no umbrellas available for use, 3 days later 10 more sun beds appeared out of a store, but no umbrellas. There were still not enough sun beds and the appartments were no where near full. there was lots of people (children included) that suffered sun burn due to the lack of umbrellas and shade. The pool bar and restaurant was not opened at all during our stay, so know where within the hotel to buy an ice cream or drink by the pool.
This hotel/apartments are definitely not 4 * much closer to 2*, you get what you pay for, just do not pay much.

Room Tip: Do not stay here stay else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Alagoamar apartments with my husband. 1st time in Portugal. This place was supposedly refurbished 2 years ago. However a dont think a paint job and a hairdrier in the bathroom equates to a refurb as this is all that they seemed to have done. What was good-Quiet although we were on the pool side and not the street. Room was cleaned every day but bedding changed only once a week. Great location between old and new town, lovely view of the pool and the sea, huge supermarket 2 min away. What was bad-Grumpy receptionist on arrival ( we saved up all our questions for the man who came on in the evening as he was very helpful and nice), bar only open between 12-6pm every day and manned by very unhelpful staff. Beds were small and hard. You had to pay to use the safe in the room. not what you expect of a 4* place. This is definitely not a 4* establishment. 3 at a push. If you want a no frills place in a great location, this is the place. Dont expect anything else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were also greeted by the same rude receptionist at the last reviewer! The room itself was recently refurbished so looked lovely. The twin beds were tiny and rock hard however (I was with my partner so would have appreciated a double). Also the bathroom was overlooked in the refurbishment and was best described as grotty. The tiles were all stained and the shower was the worst ever. Went hot and cold all the time and has a grungey awful shower head. We were very thankful of a pool view room as the road out the front is the busiest road in portugal and very noisy. Location wise was the best in Albufeira, 10 mins walk from both the old town and the strip and 2 mins from the huge Modelo Supermarket. Definately not a 4* in the UK sense of the world but we got a good deal on the price from Thomas Cook so was ok.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a very rude receptionist. The room was situated at the front at the hotel, it was therefore very noisy. The room was also in need of a good clean. Overall I do not feel this hotel met the 4* rating which they are currently supposed to be.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed here from 17th - 23rd April 2010 after we were stranded due to the ash cloud. It was a very last minute booking done through booking.com but were really pleased - we had been staying in the Hotel Auramar (see separate review) the week before and this was much better for us. We had a spacious studio apartment which had basic cooking facilities 2 rings an microwave and a fridge , dinning area and balcony. Big bathroom, plenty of hotwater. It was cleaned every day. It wasn't luxury but was really comfortable. the only small thing that would have been better is a sofa to sit on, if we wanted to watch TV we had to sit on or get into bed!
Can't comment on how it would be if you were there in height of summer as if you stay at the front (where we were) you have a view over the main road, but we enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the world go by, but the views from the back over the pool were lovely, and very quiet, and I think probably caught the evening sun
Pool was lovely,(bit cold in April!) sunbeds , grassy area, it was April and was very quiet , expecially as the disruption went on and no new people were arriving.
Perhaps best of all was the proximity to everyting without being in the thick of it - underneath the apartments were 3 places to eat (the bar/snack bar in the apartments was closed for the winter) - a buffet eat in/ takeaway, great choice of home cooked portuguese and international food, an Angolan bar and restaurant, and a pasteleria (cake/coffeeshop) - all of which were EXCELLENT value for money frequented by the locals. There were 2 huge supermarkets within 5 minutes walk and it was a 10/15 mins walk to beach, (the escalator down onto the fishermans beach is a real God send especially on the way up) old town Albufeira or about 20 mins to the infamous strip. if you feel lazy its minimum charge in a taxi which is €3.90.
We were also 10 minutes away from about 20 other restaurants, some real gems. the reception staff were charming - always said hello, asking after our day, news of our flight etc and very good as we had to extend our stay as the ash continued.
There is an internet booth there were you could connect for €1 for 10 mins - yes its expensive but that's the same in most of portugal. Also a large book shelf full of English (and other language) books to read which was handy as I had a week more than I expected of reading time!

So all in all if you are looking for a good value, central place where you can do basic catering with nice pool and near everything, you can't fault this. I'm planning on going back next year for a girly break!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

To be fair I did not pay very much to stay here with a cheap last minute booking. The rooms were clean but in need of TLC. No handle on refirgerator, shower falling off the wall, pool not in renovation, staff bored, last day no hot water. We had a view of the busiest street in Albufeira, the roundabout and the supermarket. Practical but not pretty.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos

Address: Rua do Municipio | part of Clube Humbria, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alagoamar Hotel Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.