We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praia de Rocha

Praia de Rocha
2 miles southeast of Portimao, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 170 Attractions in Algarve
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Portimao, Portugal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Park at Praia do Vau at low tide and walk from there to Praia de Rocha (2.7KM). A great walk.

Or you could do a bar crawl there and back, but that would be much harder (too many bars).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful beaches in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I really reccomend everyone to visit this beach. I loved it and so did my family. It is very scenic, the water is clear, it is large and spatious, lots of space to play and run.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Praia da Rocha - A good place to stay when visiting Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We arrived to Praia da Rocha from Lisbon, by car. We rented it at the airport and helped us to reach to Praia da Rocha and also to visit nice places in Algarve region such as Faro and Cabo de Sao Vicente.
In Praia da Rocha we stayed at "Club Praia da Rocha". The hotel was placed quite close to the sea, and the apartment we stayed in had a fully equipped kitchen. The furniture was a little old and "tired" but for the price we paid there's no reason to complain.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Spent 2 wonderful weeks in Praia Da Rocha.
The beach is fantastic, great board walk along entrance to beach, so if you are not a lover of the sand you can still go for a walk along the beach..
I think Praia da Rocha is more suitable for couples and families as oppossed to younger single people.
Would not recommend the Slide & Spash water park, we went one day and only stayed a short while due to very long ques and even the quality of slides would not be to the same standard as other water parks I visited.
You should also take a short taxi trip to Alvor one evening, some fantastic fish Restaurants. Can get very busy around 9, so should go a bit earlier or make a reservation.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nosolo Agua The best attraction in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

We have spent our entire holiday at this amazing sea front venue.The Nosolo Agua has a beatiful fresh salt water pool as it's centre peice surrounded by beautiful rattan furniture including sunloungers , settees and even four poster beds facing the ocean. The food is of a high quality and the staff are fantastic . If you want a memorable experience of your holiday then visit this beautiful venue it is an absolute must .

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia de Rocha also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Ferragudo, Faro District
 
Portimao, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Praia de Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia de Rocha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.