We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Foia

Mount Foia
37.310652,-8.588219, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 170 Attractions in Algarve
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Fóia is part of the Serra de Monchique (Monchique Mountains) range, with an eight-mile hike to reach its summit at 2,959 feet.
Perth
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Stunning views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you are in the area, this is a must see. Take at least 30 mins or more to enjoy the stunning beauty of this place. On a clear day the unrestricted views and fresh wind is breath taking. I am told that in the winter months, clouds blanket this high mount.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seaham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having visited the Algarve on several occasions over the last 10 years or so I can recomend an afternoon out to visit the ONLY mountain in the Algarve. It would only be a hill had there not been a huge pile of rocks placed at the summit to add the few metres required for "mountain" status, On a clear day the view is tremendous, appart from that there is nothing to do. The top is covered mostly with antenna masts and dished so unless you are into that sort of thing its a bit of a let down.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great views all round from the top of the mountain. A lovely cooling breeze if you have spent the last few days baking on a beach. There is a cafe, toilets and a (somewhat expensive) gift shop. Since we were last there 5 or so years ago people have taken to building small balanced stone 'sculptures' everywhere - why not leave your mark too? And best of all, it's free.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Up and up and up. What a view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We decided to head out to Monchique to sample it's "untouched by tourism" delights but ended up driving through. We kept on going up and up, pushed on by the views as they kept on getting better and better the further we climbed. Eventually it was more of a stubborn thing really - to get to the top and not be beaten by the distance!

I'm so glad my stubbornness paid off, as at the top the views are breath taking. A clear unobstructed view to Portimao and Lagos and the bay in between and miles to the east and west of the towns. There was quite a big shop where you could probably get all of your tourist trinkets from, but aside from that the observatory was the only other building. The restaurant/bar is attached to the shop and looks like it would well be worth a visit.

The mountain is 3000ft high at it's peak. At the top I must admit I felt a bit weird. I'm not entirely sure that it was the altitude that did it, but perhaps worth baring in mind if you have any experience at that sort of height.

A really beautiful place to visit and well worth putting on your "drive around the Algarve" day trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

What a gorgeous place to visit, and the scenery as you climb higher and higher up the mountain is amazing. you get to see natural springs and the cork trees. also when u reach the top, you must sample the local 'fire water' which definetly lives upto its name. well worth a visit to this gorgeous mountain range

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Foia also viewed

 
Aljezur, Faro District
Monchique, Faro District
 

Been to Mount Foia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Foia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.