We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and very good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasquinha do Oliveira

Tasquinha do Oliveira
Rua Candido dos Reis, 45-A, Evora, Portugal
+351 266744841
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 131 restaurants in Evora
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The food was excellent and the wine list amazing. The place has a traditional decoration and we can have a course meal or do a meal with "petiscos". Overall is a great experiençe and a great place to have dinner in evora. Is a very small place. Max 15px.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    85
    34
    8
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oeiras, Portugal
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“This is the true Temple in Évora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It is considered one of the top 100 restaurants in Portugal, and once you have the opportunity to go there you understand why.How does it only rank #19 in Évora here in TripAdvisor beats me...
Everything, and I do mean everything, that is brought to the table is sublime, the quality, the flavours, the texture, just amazing.
It is very easy to go very expensive, so you must have a "meeal strategy": go for several cold and hot starters, and if you have still enough "stomach space", choose one main dish for each 2 people. Otherwise, you cannot try the desserts...and that would not be good.
And the owner is the friendliest of persons. You feel you're at a friend's place having meal.
There is one thing bad though »» it only sits 14 people! They are the "chosen ones", but if you are not able to go there, it is your loss.
Without wine, and using the strategy above, we payed about 32 euros/person. Not cheap, but I guarantee, worth every single bite...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Authentic food,charming room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We travel a lot internationally and feel that this restaurant is a gem. We sampled all of the starters and particularly enjoyed the fava beans with mint. We were glad to let the owner guide us in selecting dishes, and his suggestions were wonderful: a spinach souffle with shrimp, an excellent mushroom dish, lamb chops, and the cod specialty of the house.This meal, with the wine the owner suggested, cost less than a meal of this caliber in the States.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

As many of reviewers, I can agree this is a tourist trap. Too bad it was suggested by our private tour guide (who was also not the best in business).
The place has sticker of tripadvisor winner 2011 on door, that makes you think you can trust them.

As it is common in Portugal you get starters on table-some was good, some not. But unless you ask to take them away, you get charged and charged like 5eur for every appetizer.

As for main course- we choose monkfish with rice suggested by owner. Cost 30eur. But it turned up that it was far to be priced reasonably, as in the plate for 2 there were some 5-6 small pieces of fish, some shrimps and clams. Other was just rice and cost was 30eur x 2. Overall the bill came up ~150eur for 2.

The highest price we paid in Lisboa was 110eur at SeaMe restaurant, were we were served delicios fish , oysters and desert , wine etc.

My suggestion-if you go to Evora and want to have a good meal there, dont go to this place. Real worth of food that we had there would make up approx. 50 eur max including wine. Tourist trap.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WOWWW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There have capacity for 12 people > Small family business you get to meet the owner and chat with him. Great food and service and has a good selection of local wines. Well worth a visit, if you are in a budget dont go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasquinha do Oliveira also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Tasquinha do Oliveira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasquinha do Oliveira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.