We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portuguese Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momentos

Momentos
Rua 5 de Outubro, 61B, Evora, Evora 7000-854EVORA, Portugal
+351 925 161 423
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Evora
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Portuguese Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We walked in and were immediately greeted with a warm welcome. The restaurant manager (or owner?) was so kind to explain his fresh seafood purchases from the market that morning. We followed his recommendations and glad we did! Grilled fish, watermelon salad and wine made for a simple and delicious lunch!

He checked in frequently without being overbearing. I watched him go from table to table making each guest feel welcome in their native language. Excellent service and hospitality!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    21
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middelharnis, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The patron of this restaurant is a very nice man speaking different languages and makes you feel at home. He takes a lot of time explaining the various courses on the menu. We camera with our family, two adults and two children, and had the the 2 'momentos' courses, one with 3 kinds of fish and the other with 3 kinds of meat. So we could taste 6 different kinds of alentejo food. We were very pleased with it, had a wonderfull diner and extreme value for money!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We went to this restaurant because it had good reviews and it didn't disappoint. We enjoyed good food especially the beef. And got some good advise on the wine.

They say the prizes are a bit high compared to other restaurants in Evora. But they weren't that high and you get very good quality for it.

Above all the staff was very friendly and you were definitely noticed. All in all a great experience if we get the chance we'll surely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, unique, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Tony and I loved the white sangria with cucumbers, the organic olive oils, artistically arranged delicious food and the great service. But most of all we adored the owner, George, who was passionately proud of his food. He was a great host, shared his ideas with us, gave us free samples and complimentary drinks. He made our stay in Evora so much more special. We wish him the best of luck and much success in the future. Much love from Canada!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb food, great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The chalk board outside promissed: fresh vegetables. That was the trigger to enter Momentos.
Two evenings we had a great dinner here. We started with a fresh squeezed and shaken lemon and lime lemonade: heaven. The chef/owner explains the menu at your table and takes care of you, checking is everything is ok. First evening fish and cheese tapas. The second evening a fresh fish with vegetables. Wine, desserts, coffees: everything is superb. We were really blown away by the kindness and hospitality of this team, under the direction of a charming host. I will be back for another dance...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momentos also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Momentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.