We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a Hotel -- an Experience of a Lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than a Hotel -- an Experience of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I spent several nights in this beautiful hotel, with our young children. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Evora -- a charming town with some interesting historical sights (including a chapel constructed entirely of human bones--eery and an impressive Roman acqueduct), nice shopping and not too many tourists. The hotel was formerly a very important convent and church and you are surrounded in history. They have done a great job preserving the original spirit of the place, while bringing it up to the standards of a luxury hotel. (You must check out the gorgeous chapel that has been maintained and is filled with works of art.) Our room was huge, with a separate room for the children and furnished with antiques, as well as all the modern amenities you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. The multiple pools and grounds are gorgeous.

The service was some of the best we've experienced. We were greeted with a cocktail upon our arrival (incorporating a locally grown herb), and it seemed as if every one of the many staff members knew us by name and were concerned that we love the hotel as much as they clearly do. The hotel manager was particularly charming and solicitous. You should also take time to enjoy a luxurious meal at the dramatic and beautiful restaurant. (That is, if you can find room after stuffing yourself at the huge breakfast buffet.)

We left feeling pampered and refreshed and as if we had an experience that was far from ordinary. This is not just another generic luxury hotel, but a truly special place that is worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    105
    16
    10
    2
See reviews for
119
298
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I first saw this property on a Westin in house tv promotion, and decided it looked like an ideal location to turn off. I had been to Evora before, but this hotel is a true haven, abut 3 km out of the (amazing) city. We spent 2 weeks there, and found the hotel to be one of the best experiences I have had anywhere.
The staff could not have been more helpful, and the facilities (indoor outdoor pools, gym) were excellent. There are bicycles available for local touring, and the staff are most happy t pick you up from evenings out in Evora with the shuttle.
As a base to explore the region Evora is well placed, with the wnderful mountain villages near the Spanish border close at hand. Breakfasts were excellent, with plenty of local produce. Dinner was good, but it might be sensible for the restaurant to include some more European dishes as the local (very tasty) specialities might not be to everynes taste.
The only tenet I would have is t be careful of the season. The region can be fearfully hot in summer, and April / May / Early June seem to be the safest.
Overall, I would whole heartedly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

This is without a doubt the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed at. It was beautiful and the staff went out of their way to help us. I can't recommend it enough. The only slight quibble I have is that the water in the pools was a bit cool and the hot tub was more of a "warm tub", but overall it was a great experience. The hotel is a bit out of town so it's better if you have your own car, though you can take a cab for about 7 euros (each way).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

A five Star resort with a five star service. The breakfast is just very good :-(. The accomodations are fantastic, tough we had a problem with the AC. The pool is just perfect. The building is an authentic palace with church and monastery included. For dinner check Liz, ask the concierge, they have a wonderful wine stock.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdrid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We were there during the weekend of the first bank holiday and we found the staff to be slightly overhelmed by the big amount of guests (many families with children running around the swimming pools). Our first dinner in the hotel was a fiasco. We had to wait more than 40min to get a drink on the table and then followed the cold and too salted courses. On the other hand we had a room in the new building wing which was amazing and with views to the monks' garden. I have never slept so well in my life. Its monumental beauty, the location, the spa and the outdoor swimming pool are the strongest points of this hotel which I would recommend with precaution. You pay what you get and it could seem really expensive when you have to chase the service to get finally your room cleaned in the afternoon and a deck chair in the swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Really nice hotel, in historic and beutifull convent. The location is also great.
I stayed in one of the convent rooms...a bit small.
Service is also very good.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed at the Convento for 6 days. The service will blow you away. The staff are impeccable in their standards of service and friendliness. The spa treatments were heavenly. You must ask for Slaysia - she is brilliant. Now on to the hotel itself. Our room had a balcony that overlooked fields with horses grazing. You have a pillow menu offered as well! Although the hotel is just outside Evora itself if you want peace, relaxation and recuperation you will find all of these here. The hotel is furnished to the highest standards. You are provided with a spa robe and slippers in your room and offered the local tipple when booking in - It is minty and I dubbed it Monk's Champagne as it a locally made product. The hotel has 3 bicycles which you can take out. We cycled out of the hotel and followed the road to the right and entered what can only be described as an idyllic heaven. We took a right turn at the junction which eventually became a dirt path leading through cork trees and old stone ruins as cattle with their bells clanging grazed amidst the undulating hills. It really was magic. You can do a circular route which we found but it meant handing one another our bikes over a stream which was rather hysterical. There are many beautiful walks at hand and the tourist information office in Evora have leaflets.

I have a few criticisms of the Convento: one is that the room where you have breakfast(which,however, is excellent) is rather dark and needs to be brightened up for daytime use and I found the room cold. We had dinner on 3 evenings. The seabass is fanastic as is the baked spiced banana. The soup was tasteless with the texture of babyfood. We had lunch one sunny afternoon sitting in what was the cloisters area - the tranquility and peace of that afternoon really struck us both. A second criticism is that the television although cable has few English speaking broadcasts and the news channel is business.
Overall this hotel is a real gem. We have stayed all over the world and have never found a hotel that matches the standards found at the Convento. It really is that great - but of course with greatness comes cost and it is not cheap however I can say without reserve it is absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa

Address: Canaviais, Evora 7005-839, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Evora
#2 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#2 Business Hotel in Evora
#2 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#2 Family Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Do Espinheiro, a Luxury Collection Hotel And Spa
Convento Do Espinheiro Heritage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.