We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Luisa Restaurante

Maria Luisa Restaurante
Praca 1 de Maio, n 14, Evora 7000-650, Portugal
+351 266 781 333
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 149 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, Tapas, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Maria Luisa Restaurant is located in the historic center of Evora, precisely on 1st May Square, number 14, near one of main monuments, Bones Chapel. Betting on Traditional Cuisine combined with flavors and aromas of the world. Contemporary space with simple informal decor, in which details make this place a unique restaurant.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Manoj found that they serve veg curry and rice in this veg starved country ! We had a good meal there - manojs lamb roast was outstanding. My veg curry rice was ok. Patricia who served us was very sweet. Overall a very nice experience tho.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    67
    13
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
1 review
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Good quality food, wide range of choice and excellent service. So good we went both nights we were in Evora. Top chef - the food is great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Sweet server. Enjoyable meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

At first, we were turned off by this restaurant because once we sat down it seemed that everything that they had on their menu was unavailable when we tried to order it. However, we were patient and just went with the specials and we were not disappointed. Both our codfish and roasted lamb were amazing. The house red wine was also very good. A special recognition to our server. She was very attentive and went the extra mile to ensure our dinner was wonderful. We would definitely recommend and would return.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Two visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First night we had the traditional Alentejo meal of pork with clams, a first for me. It was not what I was expecting but exceeded all expectations. This was followed by Olive pudding, again not what I was expecting and again exceeded all expectations. The waiter was attentive but not too over-bearing.

The second night I opted for the entrecote steak and it was the best one I have ever had. Dessert this time was home-made ice cream and it didn't disappoint.

Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“lunch in the square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice location in the square next to the chapel of bones. Wonderful staff who made us feel like we were long lost friends. The food was good, we had codfish which was very pleasant. the restaurant itself if very clean, lovely inside as well as outside tables on the square. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria Luisa Restaurante also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Maria Luisa Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Luisa Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.