We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish place, friendly staff, excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BL Lounge

BL Lounge
Rua das Alcacarias 1, Evora 7000-587, Portugal
266771323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 149 Restaurants in Evora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Stylish place, friendly staff, excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were served by a very nice guy who explained the menu to us. We had the roast octopus and shrimp and asparagus risotto, followed by chocolate cake. A reasonably priced local wine was recommended and all in all, we had a great meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    24
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Occidental, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food - Very Accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Barbecued octopus with a heavenly sauce? Check!

Perfect shrimp with asparagus risotto? Check!

Perfect wine pairing? Check!

Curried shrimp and rice without the shrimp for the picky 15 year old eater? Check!

Attentive wait staff that spoke English? Check!

Return visit? Check!

Thank you BL!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A really good restaurant, friendly welcoming, and good advice on the menu ! The Bife Atum, the Gambas Curry the Tuna Steak and the most local meal, the Planalto were tasteful and well cooked ! In addition, the price / ratio quality is really honest. A restaurant you should absolutely try in Evora !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great spot. Hip atmosphere with a contemporary twist to Portuguese food. Super helpful staff. Generous wine pour. Had the potato salad tapas, baked cheese appetizer and curry shrimp for lunch. Followed it with delicious chocolate cake!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Dinner Experience in Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Chose this restaurant based on local recommendations & Tripadvisor reviews. When travelling we make every attempt to eat the country's regional cuisine, however after a week of bland & tasteless food we reluctantly prepared to give it one more shot. We were not disappointed!!!!
On arrival, the owner greets and seats everyone. He is welcoming, engaging & a passionate about the area. The tapas style dishes on the table (carrots with garlic & gazpacho) were excellent. Further appetizer selections of garlic mushrooms and warmed cheese with berries were excellent as well. Entree's asparagus/scampi risotto & beef cutlet with garlic & coriander in papillotte (first place to ask how we liked our beef cooked...med. rare) were also excellent.
Excellent wine selection and after discussions with the owner we were pleased with his recommendation. The owner was excited that we could taste the different olive oils used and after dinner provided 3 sample bottles for tasting and discussion. Too full for dessert, he insisted we try his "special brandy" which he refilled a second time & DID NOT CHARGE US FOR THE BRANDY!!!
All in all this was the best dinner we had during our 17 days in Portugal. The flavours were fantastic, the service was beyond excellent and the food was right up there with the service. If I could rate this 6 star, I would.
Thank you, Antonio for a wonderful culinary experience in Portugal!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BL Lounge also viewed

Evora, Evora District
 
Evora, Evora District
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to BL Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BL Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.