We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel in the heart of Evora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M'AR De AR Muralhas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added M'AR De AR Muralhas to your Saves list
M'AR De AR Muralhas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Palmeira 4 | ex. Hotel da Cartuxa, Evora 7000-546, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Evora
verona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel in the heart of Evora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Romantic and cozy with a good restaurant serving a nice breakfast buffet included in the room price. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The garden and the outside pool are surrounded by the ancient walls of the city. Free parking and wireless internet in the common areas. Just next to the centre of town. Best choice of our trip in Portugal.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    202
    51
    11
    4
See reviews for
114
183
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The location and grounds are perfect. City walls, an expansive yard, quiet away from the streets. The hotel at first appears to be a beautiful, cavernous monastery but is quite new. the decor is a bit over the top - Pottery Barn meets Home and Cottage meets Portuguese antique, but in an odd way it works. Beds are too soft. Breakfast is nice, not spectacular. Inernet access only on certain public areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
478 reviews 478 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed in a family suite which consisted of two double beds and a pullout sofa located in the separate living room. Our suite was very spacious and the bed were comfortable except for the sleeper sofa which is rather typical. We were in room 208 which had somewhat of a view of the city. Parking is underground and complimentary. WIFI is free in the lobby but it is rather spotty. Breakfast was also included and we were pleased with the selections. The staff were helpful in giving us directions. We did not use the pool because of the weather. The hotel is located just inside the walled city which was great since we didn't have to travel on those narrow winding roads. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all the sites in the city of Evora.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ourem, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This a charming Hotel.The rooms are lovey well decorated and have a good breakfast. I recommend you to go in the summer so you can enjoy the pool, but if you cant its a nice stay anyway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed there, me my mother of 81 years old and a friend. We got room 109. The place does not have a fitness center. I missed it.

Also, for the price they charge it could very well have free wi fi all over the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Framed by the old city walls this exceptional spot is worthy of a multi night stay. At times we felt as if we were staying with friend's with the warmth and graciousness of the staff. The restaurant was well worth the vist and the wine list was above average for most of Portugal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The refurbishment of this hotel has been a success. Good, clean, comfortables rooms, a beautiful setting, 2 outdoor swimming pools (one of them for kids), excellent breakfast.
I also had dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant and the food is just wonderful.
If you're looking for a nice hotel with lots of charm, good rooms and helpful and friendly staff, this is the one for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to M'AR De AR Muralhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M'AR De AR Muralhas

Address: Travessa da Palmeira 4 | ex. Hotel da Cartuxa, Evora 7000-546, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Evora
#6 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — M'AR De AR Muralhas 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your M'AR De AR Muralhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m`Ar De Ar Muralhas Hotel
m Ar De Muralhas Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M'AR De AR Muralhas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.