We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and helpful staff, and beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“friendly and helpful staff, and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This hotel is a nice cosy place to stay for a few days. The staff is very friendly and helpful, always ready to answer any questions you might have about Evora or Alentejo in general. Local restaurants, tourist attractions, driving destinations, they always have an informed suggestion.
The place is decorated and furnished in a contemporary style, which pleasantly contrasts but fits with the old, typical Alentejo building, giving it a bright, light atmosphere.
The breakfast is superb, offering an assortment of delicacies to start off the day the right way.
The rooms are clean, bright, and quiet.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    90
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
172
724
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

Staying at the Albergaria do Clavario was a great experience. While I had looked at website pictures, I had no idea this hotel would be so beautiful, spacious and immaculately clean. Both my own room, my parent's room, and the common areas could not have been anymore inviting. The staff and owners are charming and accommodating and provide the best possible home away from home. Evora itself has much more to offer than I expected and the town and surrounding area are simply beautiful. There are signs along the ring road just outside the city wall directing you to the hotel. Just inside the city wall it allows you to stay in the historic city without the hassle of driving through it. All sights are a very short walk. The breakfast just doesn't get any better. Whether you want to impress yourself or someone else, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel and its service was amazing. I had travelled to Evora in March to attend a conferance. My husband came with me and prior to our stay at the Albergaria, we spent 10 days touring Portugal. Of the 6 hotels we stayed at within Portugal, the Albergaria wa by far the best!

The hotel is simply beautiful, with each room unique. Ours was a large room with arched ceilings, a brand new king sized bed, and 50 in flat screen TV. The bathroom was beutiful and large, as well the soaps were fabulous. The court yard was also charming and provided a great place to relax day or night.

The breakfast was unbelievable. Evrything from organic yogarts, to meats, cheeses, fresh squeezed juices to bacon, eggs, pancakes.

However, just has the other reviews suggest, it is the service which makes this hotel such a gem. Peter, Hugo and Rita were by far the most friendly and accomadating people we met on our travels. They went above and beyond in many ways. For example they had fresh roses in our room in congratulations on our recent marraige, and Peter was a great companion for my husband while I was bust attending my conferance in Evora. He even went so far as to lend my husband his bike.

We could not say enough about this hotel and the quality it provided. Thanks you Albergaria Do Calvario

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

It must be a first to review a hotel you've never stayed in but I was so impressed I felt I had to mention it.
I was due to stay in ths hotel for a few days in the middle of April.In the course of the booking I spoke to two members of staff who could not have been nicer and -in case its a worry-spoke better english than I do,
As a result of the volcano I had to cancel my booking with almost no notice.Although they would have been in their rights to keep the fee-leaving me to the wiles of my insurance-they refused to accept a penny.I will get there one day!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

What a perfect getaway! My husband and I spent a weekend at this charming hotel with our two children. We stayed in a suite where two extra beds were provided for the childen in the spacious sitting room, along with our comfortable king size bed (with its top quality down comforter)and marble bathroom. Hot water was available at the drop of a hat, along with the well chosen individual -sized toiletries. Both the sitting room and the bedroom had modern LCD televisions, along with a few books of interest. Both nights the owners, Peter and Nina, suggested excellent restaurants with typical alentejo food. But even better was the buffet breakfast with everything from fresh fruit, olive bread and organic coffee to pancakes and eggs, my kids' favorite. We enjoyed getting some sun and reading outside in the private patio. Our kids enjoyed playing outside or at times playing inside on the computer available to all guests. We also enjoyed that it was a safe environment for them. Being within the ancient city walls, we basically walked everywhere. All in all, the hotel is an excellent mix of modern and cozy...the perfect setting for some rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Had a great two-night stay here and can't recommend it highly enough. Everything from the welcome, the rooms, the local knowledge and the breakfast of fresh, local produce was fantastic. The owners and staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to welcome you and help you with anything you need. The guest house and its rooms are very tastefully furnished with a blend of both older and modern furniture. Évora serves as a good base to visit the Alentejo area and if you stay at Albergaria do Calvario, you will be guaranteed a memorable time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We loved everything about the hotel! One evening they beautifully laid out an olive oil tasting for my husband when he expressed an interest in the local fare. It was a place to let out a sigh in the middle of a hectic travel schedule. We agree, Peter, Nina, Hugo and Deborah are wonderful caretakers, we could not have asked for anything or anyone better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.