We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Loule, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

To stay at the Albergaria is to appreciate why international travel guides list it as the best hotel in Evora. The key ingredient of its success is the approach of members of staff, who really seem to enjoy their work and will do just about anything (proper) to help you enjoy your stay.

Those we met are young, multi-lingual graduates of hotel schools. They have the knack of establishing a personal relationship with their guests and making them feel truly welcome.

The hotel is ideally located for guests arriving by car - as most do - just inside the walls of the old city. Negotiating the basement garage is not for the faint-hearted but the hotel is happy to park and fetch your car for you. I found myself being guided into an awkward parking spot just outside the hotel by no fewer than three welcoming members of staff - like a scene from a film!

From the hotel it's an easy 30-minute walk down the lanes and through the squares to the churches, museums, shops and Roman temple ruins that are the city's main attractions. Restaurants and coffee shops are plentiful.

Relaxing is easy in the hotel's attractive lounge and gardens. A computer is available in the lounge for the use of guests. Wifi can be accessed throughout the hotel. Breakfast offers a wide self-service choice, with eggs to be ordered according to taste. It helps if you like fado (passionate Portuguese singing) which is often heard in the public areas.

Our "superior" bedroom was spacious and comfortable although one or two more electrical sockets would have been appreciated. The mattress on our queen-sized bed was state of the art. The air conditioning really worked, essential for the comfort of visitors in the city's torrid summer months. There's a fridge in the room, as well as a safe although guests need to ask for a key. A litre bottle of water was provided free by the hotel each day.

The bathroom comes with all the accoutrements expected in a four star hotel, including a great shower.

We came for two nights and stayed for three. Beyond the bedroom windows could be heard just the occasional rumbling of car tyres on the cobbles. Sleep came easily. A great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    90
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
172
725
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What an oasis this charming hotel is! Welcoming, comfortable, wholesome. Especially if you might be a bit saturated, as we were, with over-the-top Manueline architecture and grand palaces and monuments. The people here take great pride in their hotel, their food, their friendly and competent service. Do you need help or advice about anything to do with Evora or its surroundings? They are happy and able to help. Since this was half way through our trip we were about to face the chore of handwashing some of our clothes when I noticed, at 9 pm, that they offered this service. I'm not talking about the $2 per sock thing offered by fancy hotels. For 7 eu they took a fair-sized bag of laundry and had it ready for us by early the next morning. And by all means do not miss out on the food they have to offer. They don't have a restaurant, but for a snack on the patio and breakfast the next morning, the food was glorious. Most of it is locally produced, much organically grown, simple, wholesome and delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I can't recommend this place for purely selfish reasons..the next
time I go back, and there will be a next time, it will be fully booked and
I won't get a room. I agree with all of the other reviews, this place is
top notch. It would stand up against any world class hotel for it's genuine
approach to pleasing their customers. No detail is overlooked or too small
to action. From the moment you check in to the sad moment you have to leave
you just feel so good staying here...Some businesses just get it! Great job Peter and
Nina.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room overlooking the courtyard and front entrance. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We just left the Albergaria do Calvario yesterday and are still basking in its glow. This has to be one of the very best small hotels in existence. Rarely do you find a business that comes so close to achieving what it is clearly trying to achieve - perfection! The location, the ambiance, the rooms, the food, the service are all bang on. The management leaves very little room for improvement but still asks what can they do better? Anything you can suggest falls under the category of "knits".

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I can not recall ever being treated so royally and with such sincerity at a hotel. Peter and Nina know what makes for a memorable and comfortable stay. Warm and inviting ambience, around the clock personal service by all staff who always have a smile and "want to help you" attitude, cleanliness,breakfast that out does any 5 star hotel brunches, 24-hour light meal service, comfortable and cheery rooms with ample towels and instant hot water and water pressure, car valet, luggage, and laundry service, help with suggesting restaurants and booking reservations and travel/sight suggestions,...etc., etc., etc. I left feeling that I was doing Peter, Nina, and their staff a favour staying with them, rather than they were doing me a favour providing the lodging and all their services.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Peter and Nina make you feel right at home. They are lovely and would do anything to make your stay more comfortable or pleasant. As others have said the breakfasts are great and there again, they made my husband pancakes and eggs the way he wanted them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was easily the best place we stayed on our 12 day trip to Portugal. Wished we could have stayed 1 more day (not on Sunday or Monday). The room was spacious and spotless. The breakfast was great. The beds were not extra firm like all the other places we stayed. It was a very relaxing place to stay and that started with Peter and his staff. They went above and beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: The Sundays and Mondays are days you should avoid in your itinerary planning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.