We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of our Portugal trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best stay of our Portugal trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I did a 10 day car tour of Portugal, and without a doubt, Albergaria do Calvario was the very best hotel of our entire trip. I based my booking on Trip Advisor reviews, and once you have spent some time at this hotel, you realize that it is even better than you could have imagined. The breakfast spread alone surpassed anything we had encountered anywhere in our travels, not just Portugal! Our room was huge and very comfortable, quiet, and even had a covered terrace. Staff was extremely helpful with everything, from parking to dinner suggestions to umbrellas for the drizzly weather. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the second floor with a covered terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    90
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
172
724
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Small boutique hotel in excellent location within walls of Evora. Limited parking.
Beautiful small hotel. Rooms medium sized - simple but very nice and all you need.
Staff and owners are exceptionally helpful and friendly.
Breakfasts are really excellent with hot dishes cooked to order.
Lovely residents lounge.
Tremendous value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

When you read other people's reviews you sometimes wonder whether they do not exaggerate a bit too much. I can assure everyone that in this case the reviews are true. A beautiful boutique hotel with top staff ( they really want to please), an excellent breakfast, very nice rooms with excellent beds and on walking distance to a charming little city. So, you can imagine that this was a very nice experience. They are aware of their rating in Tripadvisor and want to make sure they keep it. Tripadvisor is in this sense very important to us travelers.

So, if you are in the area, go there. The only drawback is the price of the accommodation, but that is forgiven.

Room Tip: when you have the opportunity choose suite 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Deserves all the praise it has been getting in the different hotel booking & evaluation sites. It is extremely comfortable and charming, you are served (buffet style) a royal breakfast, the personnel are extremely attentive to all your needs, and it is within walking distance to the historic nucleus of the beautiful town of Évora.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Evora is a charming little town in the Alentejo region and our experience was heightened by a great stay at Albergaria do Calvario.

A charming courtyard welcomed us after a short jaunt into the walled city. Parking was a breeze in their underground lot. And, the staff at reception was incredibly welcoming - the warmest we met in our Portugal travels. Specific tip of the hat to Ruth (wonderful) and her colleagues Carolina and another young woman (whose name escapes me just now, but who learned her US accented English from MTV) - their service and hospitality level was superb.

The room was clean, artsy, funky and had a pleasant view of the courtyard.

Breakfast was excellent - with fresh eggs cooked to order and a variety of locally sourced goods.

Public areas were gorgeous, well put together and comfortable.

From what I understand, the property is owned by an American and his Brazilian wife and they've created an experience akin to most boutique hotels that exist in the US, but that I havent seen as much in Europe.


Evora is well worth 2 days/3nights to fully get into the groove of R+R ...sadly, we were only there one night, but will return for a lnger stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After 2 months on the road, we are getting critical of hotels. The warmth of welcome at this hotel from all the staff swept aside all cynicism. Their warmth shows through in all the details... the way breakfast is individually cooked... the 5 - minute tour advice when you arrive. The care in parking your car in their garage. This place deserves a booking in your travel plans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and we strongly recommend it to anyone staying in Evora.
The reception staff was very helpful and provided us with a list of restaurants of their choice that were amazing.
The breakfast buffet was made with only fresh ingredients, from the fruits salad to the cakes and bread... the best breakfast ever during our 10-day trip in Portugal !
The room was nice and clean. It was convenient to have an indoor parking as places are limited in Evora.
Also, the location of the hotel is great and very close to restaurants and main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.