We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I did not want to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Save Saved
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Evora
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I did not want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Frankly, this is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at---not fancy, but very clean and comfortable. And like the previous reviewers have stated, it is the staff that allows this hotel to stand out. The only similar staff experience I have had was at the Intercontinental in Hong Kong at 4 times the price. I don't have much to add to the other glowing reviews, but that it was easily accessible by car and that the common areas were very comfy and were great places to just hang out. Take their restaurant recommendations, very accurate descriptions and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    845
    79
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
599
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This place was totally made by the staff who were fantastic, passionate and extremely helpful. They had plenty of time to talk. The location couldn't be better. The Hotel gives a sheet with all kinds of restaurant options, all very good choices and worth considering. Rooms are functional, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic with so many choices. A must stay when in Evora.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hepburn Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What an amazing boutique hotel! My teenage daughter and I loved our three nights here in early October. I'm not sure what else can be said that others already haven't. Yes, the location and decoration and amenity are all delighful. And the food, incredible. However, it's the staff and the ambience they seem to so effortlessly create that sets this place well apart from others (not just in Portugal, but anywhere in the world, really). Without exception, everyone was friendly and open and sincere while being totally professional at the same time. Every conversation was a pleasure. I really mean it. If you like beautiful surroundings, casual elegance, down to earth hospitality, attention to detail, and most of all a personal touch, Albergario do Calvario will delight you as much as it did us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the Albergaria for only one night but felt like we should have moved in for a week. The place feels like it belongs in Mendocino, Ca. Organic everything, as home feeling as you can imagine. the nicest, most helpful people. Fantastic orientation/map/restaurant recommendations at checkin. Excellent breakfast. Parking.

I can go on and on but this place is fantastic.

It is only a few minute walk to town and the hotel is in a very quiet location.

My one and only suggestion is that they should have a gym of some kind. Other than that, there are no improvements that I can think of.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

The staff was great. When we arrived, we were greeted, helped us park the car, gave us a glass of wine, & talked about restaurants in town. A must dinner is the 25 euro fixed plate, black pork speciality. This hotel & the restaurant they recommended were first rate. Best stay in portugal. Staff even got us great seats for the bullfight!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our stay at Albergaria do Calvario was one of best hotel experiences we have ever had. The staff was warm, attentive and knowledgeable and provided excellent recommendations for local restaurants (including one of the best meals we ever ate). The breakfast spread was extensive and full of delicious locally-sourced organic food. The hotel itself is beautiful and contains several cozy common areas for relaxing or having a drink. We would come back to Evora just to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Like Evora itself, this hotel is beautifully put together: the ambience of its quiet location inside the old city walls; the knowledgeable and friendly staff with an eye for detail and the excellent locally produced and largely organic food. It was worth getting lost finding it. Parked up in a narrow road we found the hotel on foot and the receptionist jumped at the challenge to locate and drive our Toyota RAV4 into the hotel's secure underground car park. We couldn't have been better served had our car been a Rolls Royce - wouldn't be surprised if he's parked one of them too!

Everything about this hotel is atmospheric, like the town and the restaurants. Sunday morning, we found, was special. After mass at the cathedral a thriving market opens up below the steps outside and near the delightful park. We went exploring immediately and did a deal on a cowbell!

We only stayed for one-night on our expedition to 'discover' Portugal. This hotel and Evora have a lot going for it. We are glad we 'discovered' it and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.