We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway in charming historic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Save Saved
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 hotels in Evora
Kurrajong, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway in charming historic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Evora, an hour and a half bus trip east of Lisbon, is a magical historic city and Albergaria do Calvario is a magical home-away-from-home while in Evora. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly but efficient staff. Breakfast is mouth-wateringly good with friendly attention and organic food. Recommendations of restaurants and sight-seeing are knowledgable, helpful and not linked to any secret "commission". Local red wine and cheese in the sunny courtyard almost makes walking through this quaint city irrelevant! Three days of bliss. Evora is WELL worth the trip from Lisbon and Albergaria do Calvario is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    844
    79
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
142
598
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The town is charming enough and then you are greeted here. Twin room was lovely overlooking courtyard. Staff was very professional and pleasant. Breakfast was amazing. Wish we stayed more than one night. We took their dinner recommendation at Failho also and were quite happy we did!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This may have been our best hotel stay ever, and not because of the location - which is great - the town - which is quaint and charming - the room with its luxurious bathroom and toiletries, the breakfast - which is fantastic - but most of all because of the incredible competency and professionalism of Peter and Nina who have trained their staff to act like you are doing them a favor every time they help you out.

We are quite old hands at traveling and don't care for much help, but you just couldn't say no to these nice people whose purpose was to make you feel good. They got us a wonderful dinner reservation, they gave us well organized written information on Evora and its highlights and they were more generous and thoughtful than I can describe.

Thank you Peter, Michelle, and all others. You made our stay at the Albergaria unforgettable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This beautiful hotel is tucked away on a side street inside, and close to, the main wall of the old city. The location makes it very easy to find. The rooms are simple, clean, outfitted with modern bathrooms, and ours was quite large with a sitting area. The hosts, and all of the hotel staff for that matter, are genuinely friendly and strive to make sure that their guests are comfortable. When we asked upon arrival about a restaurant where we could find a simple lunch of a nice salad (it was mid-afternoon and hot enough to take away your appetite), we found out the hotel serves simple tapas to address this very request from guests since local restaurants are, for the most part, hearty meat establishments. We enjoyed a lovely salad of mixed greens, goat cheese, and flavorful tomatoes along with Portuguese gazpacho on the patio. The breakfast was a feast of fruits, cheeses, meats, breads, and the opportunity to order off a hot menu. All was fresh and organic, but the eggs were simply amazing with beautiful, deep golden yellow yolks. We would return to Evora just to stay at the Albergaria do Calvario again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motza Ilit
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I can only reiterate everything said in the many reviews of this hotel. The location is amazing, the place is charming and the rooms more than adequate. Breakfast is a real experience. The only comment I can add that desks are lacking in the rooms. Some of us have to keep our with our email correspondence. I worked on a corner on the lovely chess table in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast, and very helpful and friendly staff. Perfect hotel in the Alentejo region

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband & I spent 3 nights in October at this wonderful little hotel. The rooms are simple, but lovely & very comfortable, with all the modern bath amenities. The staff is outstanding, and can't do enough to make sure their guests are comfortable and enjoy their visit to Evora & the Alentejo. We've stayed at Ritz Carletons & the staff here measures up to "Ritz" standards, while offering a more relaxed place to stay. Their restaurant recommendations helped send us to wonderful, small places where we enjoyed fresh, local meals, rather than the more "touristy" places. The breakfast buffet & tapas offered on the lovely patio are delicious. We highly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: I might choose NOT to have the room at the front ( to avoid some early AM street noise), although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.