We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time in Evora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A great time in Evora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My girl friend and I stayed at the Albargaria do Calvario for 2 nights at the end of September and had a wonderful time. The hotel is a converted Olive Mill and shows lots of character and style with a super sunny courtyard to enjoy their VERY good breakfast or a welcome cold beer later in the day!

Peter and his staff were very professional, but still very friendly and offered us great options for dining and touring. Michelle in particular was first class and one of her “day trip” recommendations resulted in us finding the fabulous walled town of Monseraz. Evora is also a walled town and the hotel is situated just inside the city walls. There are many great attractions within the town itself and all very "walkable" from the Hotel and with so many dining options, you won’t go wrong in this beatiful part of Portugal.

With underground parking (although you don't need a car while you are here) and big comfortable rooms the hotel is extremely well run but still manages to keep a friendly face which is great in this “faceless” day and age.

We had a great time here and would love to return and in fact Peter took the time and mapped out a 1 week itinerary for us should we return…………………. so I guess we’ll have to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    90
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
172
724
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We were Very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and the sense of style of the decor and vibe of the public spaces. Breakfasts are the best we had in a month traveling around Portugal. They serve light snacks and drinks in their lovely courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We were warmly greeted upon arrival, given water and iced tea and a quick tour of the hotel. Our room was nicely decorated, with lots of room, and a king size bed with a unique woven-fabric headboard. The bathroom was clean and more than adequate. We slept well and awoke to a wonderful breakfast of literally any breakfast item we could think of, personally attended to by the owner, Peter. We were charmed by the city of Evora and this hotel and its wonderful staff and owners. The best service we received in Portugal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here based on other reviews and are pleased to add our affirmations.
Never stayed anywhere with better, friendlier or more helpful service. The hosts show genuine interest and they have created a superb little oasis in which to relax and enjoy Evora.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Although most travelers seem to have only stayed in Evora for a night, we would highly recommend extending your stay at this hotel. The staff organized a great day or wine tasting, massage treatments, and gave us recommendations for the best meals we had during our 10 day trip to Portugal. The hotel was designed beautifully and the rooms were well appointed. The breakfast served each day was the best we had during our trip. The owners, Peter and Nina, and the rest of the staff at the hotel was friendly and went above and beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our stay and get to know their guests. It felt like home and was the highlight of our trip. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel for the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Albergaria for just one night, but it was enough to feel the warm service and great vibes of the place. Best breakfast in for our whole trip in Portugal: freshly baked break and cakes, just organic stuff and fresh juices.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the room with a small balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The professionalism and passion with which this hotel is run is truly inspiring! From the warm greeting, the exceptional service, the lovely accommodations and the INCREDIBLE breakfast it was in itself worth our visit to Evora for such a memorable experiance!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#3 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.