We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Run Small Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergaria do Calvario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Albergaria do Calvario to your Saves list
Albergaria do Calvario
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well-Run Small Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Albergaria do Calvario in Evora, Portugal was a very pleasant surprise after the hustle, bustle and grime of Lisbon. The American owner, Peter, greeted us along with his friendly staff. At check in, we were offered a beverage, hotel orientation, town orientation, maps and local restaurant reviews. The lobby and lounge area were bright, nicely decorated and comfortable. Though we arrived to check in late morning, the staff hurried around to rustle up a light breakfast and the one we had the following day had an extensive offering of fresh foods. The rooms were clean, cool and quiet. Tapas out on the patio was a delightful way to wind up the day. As we left and were asked about what the hotel could do to improve, we couldn't think of anything. The hotel is well situated within the walls of the old city and is easy walking distance to a number of sights.

Room Tip: Overlooking the interior patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    85
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
158
690
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We can not recommend this hotel enough for its outstanding service and attention to customer service. We visited recently on our road trip through northern Portugal with our 2 kids (16 and 13). Peter, John, Michelle, Nina and all the staff we met were attentive and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and special. The restaurant and sight recommendations were excellent. We lounged in the common areas and met other travellers. The rooms were clean and roomy. We had them park our car for us. Our kids were drawn in to discussing their lives back home with Peter which helped to engage and entertain them. The breakfast service, selection and custom selection was excellent. Go there! You'll love it too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic. We were helped from the car with the bags, upgraded to a suite, drinks were organised, restaurants recommended, umbrellas provded as it started to rain as we went out to see the town. The breakfast was the best we have ever had. There is so much you just cannot decide what to eat. The staff are expectional and so friendly This a hotel to remember

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Prior to arriving at the Albergaria do Calvario Hotel in Evora, our party of four was just starting to recover from an illness that hit us all. The young lady who checked us in showed genuine concern right from the start, and by the next shift all staff members were aware of our condition. They made every effort to help us recover and make our stay very enjoyable.

Within ten minutes of arriving we were checked in, given information on eight recommended restaurants in the area, directions to the popular sites, and answers to all of our questions. The young lady even offered to handle my wife's large suitcase when showing us our rooms.

The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely furnished. The nice courtyard outside was exactly what we were counting on after a day of exploring. A great place to enjoy our drinks and meet other travellers.

The underground parking was a bit tricky for our full size van, but if you are accustomed to travelling in Europe, the parking accommodations here were actually quite good for all of the hotel's guests.

There is a lounge with free internet service and comfortable seating for indoor relaxation.

In the morning we had about the best variety of any hotel breakfast I've come across. All items were labelled. If that wasn't enough, they were willing to cook you up eggs, pancakes, oatmeal, etc.

One of the things that impressed me most was that one of the owners - either the husband or the wife - were helping out with the breakfast service each morning. It seemed like they had time to have conversation with everyone no matter what language you spoke.

I've stayed at hundred's of hotels in Canada, the U.S. and during the last four years, in Europe. How helpful or friendly the hotel staff was never was really something I had ever paid attention to because I usually accept people for who they are. However the superb service by this hotel staff and as well as the owners stood out big time. The owners obviously picked out the best of the best when hiring this hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We decided to stop off in Evora while making our way from the North to the Algarve and were pleasantly surprised by the both the city and especially the Albergaria do Calvario. The inn was beautifully casual, chic and quaint -- all at the same time.

The layout of the inn around a courtyard was perfect -- very open to all the public spaces of the ground floor of the inn centered on a seating area protected by fragrant plantings.

The staff went above and beyond what was expected -- perfect restaurant proposals, pleasant conversation... the owner even gave us a bottle of wine (red) after discussing the white wine we'd had from the same local vineyard the night before. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated. The breakfast was great -- everything was from scratch and there were plenty of both local and familiar (foreign) options.

Evora may be a small place but our night at Albergaria do Calvario really made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Albergaria do Calvário during our 2 week trip around Portugal and it was by far the best hotel we stayed at. The service was amazing and staff really went above and beyond their duties to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast had an amazing selection of food, even offering organic coffee. I would stay there again if I had a chance and would recommend going to Evora just to spend a couple of days at Albergaria do Calvário.

Thank you to the amazing staff of Albergaria do Calvário for making our stay so great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife and I had three days at the Albergaria and our stay was wonderful.
The Staff couldn't have been more helpful, breakfast fabulous and we were so happy that we booked a junior suite as it had a beautiful private balcony
One of the best we have ever stayed in and an example of exceptional customer service for any business.
Highly Recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergaria do Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria do Calvario

Address: Travessa Dos Lagares 3, Evora PT-7000-56, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Evora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Evora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Evora
#2 Business Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergaria do Calvario 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albergaria do Calvario is ideally located within the beautiful city walls of Evora. On the site of a 16th-century olive oil mill, the gated entry leads to a beautiful courtyard creating a centerpiece for the surrounding lobby, guest rooms, and common areas. This unique 4-star hotel provides modern luxury and contemporary styling while preserving its connection to the past and the unique identity of Evora. Each of the 22 guest rooms, including four suites, offer wireless Internet, a flat screen television, and heating and air conditioning. Every room is designed for restful comfort with superior beds, high quality linens, and a pillow menu. Beautiful marble, modern fixtures, and all glass enclosures create a thoroughly modern bath experience. Albergaria do Calvario is very well known for its exceptional all-inclusive breakfast featuring fresh, organic, and locally-grown products in abundant supply. Order from a full bar and a hand-selected menu of homemade tapas that may be enjoyed indoors or in the open courtyard. Twenty-four hours a day no request is too small or unique. Every staff member is eager to arrange services such as; tours and activities, dining reservations, and room service—all included with each stay. Laundry, ironing, and dry cleaning are also available at reasonable rates. A list of non-published services is also available and designed to help the traveler discover the best of local and regional experiences.All of the attractions of Evora are within short walking distance on sidewalks and charming cobblestone streets. Highlights within the city walls include the Se Cathedral and hidden gems like the Igreja dos Loios. Featured day trips include nearby wineries, cork oaks, historic cities, and tours of prehistoric megalithic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Albergaria do Calvario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Do Calvario Évora
Albergaria Do Calvario Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergaria do Calvario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.