We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Evora Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Evora Hotel to your Saves list
Evora Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Tulio Espanca, Apartado 93, Evora 7002-502, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BED BUGS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was on the trip of the commenter below (Bethany W) - and I was the one who actually woke up to bed bugs crawling in my bed. The bugs were literally crawling on the walls - and my roommate, upon taking her luggage home and inspecting it, found a dead bed bug that had traveled home with her.

This was slightly alarming, since I had asked the hotel staff who came up to the room if they would clean our clothing/luggage. They informed me that this was not necessary. Last I checked, this was a standard precaution for bed bugs.

The hotel was completely unprepared and uneducated as to how to deal with this sort of infestation. While they did make a meager effort to accommodate us (moving us to another room of the same quality, covering our meals), their lack of awareness about the severity of the situation was disturbing.

As you can see in the hotel's rebuttal to Bethany W's review, their report showed that the bugs were mosquitos. It is common knowledge that mosquitos fly, and are hard to spot. They certainly do not crawl in beds by the dozens, look large and black, and leave bites that draw a significant amount of blood.

I usually don't care enough to leave hotel reviews - but this was just a nightmarish experience. The hotel staff here are disillusioned, and either are inept when it comes to identifying basic insects, or are trying to cover up the fact that their hotel did indeed have bed bugs.

Did I mention that several students developed scabies (mites that live in your skin and are highly contagious) after staying at this hotel? No? Oh well then yes - at least four. Overall it was a horrible experience that followed us for the next three weeks (as we had to get treatment and were forced to avoid contact with other people).

I'm glad I've said my piece and now I hope I never have to hear the words "Evora Hotel" again in my LIFE.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    144
    59
    8
    4
See reviews for
85
106
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

They have 2 restaurants, one with tipical portuguese food, that unfotunatelly we didn´t try it, and one vegan buffet restaurant with great food and a romantic mood. 5stars breakfast!!
Loved the pools, jacuzzi and the tennis court, that has a great floor.
Definetly an hotel to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on our Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the vegetarian buffet. In a future visit don´t miss the "Sol Poente" Restaurant where you will find a menu based on the rich regional gastronomy of Alentejo. Hope seeing you in a next trip to Évora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was staying at Evora Hotel for a couple nights during a 2 week trip throughout Portugal. The first morning, I was having breakfast with my friends only to hear the reality of bed bugs that were infesting their room. When they woke up they looked at the sheets and they noticed the spots of blood that had been where the bugs had been squished while they were sleeping as well as a few live ones on their pillows and the sheets. The hotel "upgraded" the room, to the same exact room down the hall, yet they were extremely rude and nonchalant about it. Instead of being apologetic they just brushed it off. We had never experienced this, and they were not able to help us at all. Their excuse to us was that the bugs came from the trees because they had an 'interesting summer'...

After we left for the day, we got another call saying there was a possibility of two other rooms being infested. They moved the belongings of those rooms to new ones, but low and behold another one of our students had been bitten. She had an extreme allergic reaction, and when it was brought to their attention again, they had the same reaction. They offered no information, and tried to brush it off. It was as if they believed we were not important customers because we are young. The young woman who had the allergic reaction, has to head back home early because she could not continue on the trip she had been bitten so bad.

Another night at dinner, two of the girls from Latin american countries tried to order their food in Spanish. I understand that we are in Portugal, but in the hotels that we had been in before the hotel requested that they spoke in Spanish because it was easier to understand them. Instead of asking politely, the young waited made a huge scene and yelled at the girls telling them "We are NOT in Spain, speak to me in English!"

Overall, it was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. My team and I feel disappointed that your stay did not go well, and we apologize for the inconvenience that this episode caused you and your colleagues. According to the desinfestation offical report, the rooms were affected by a plague of mosquitoes, and this happened because we had a very humid and awkward summer. After acknowledging what happened, the hotel took immediate action regarding this situation: the customers were transferred to another room; the hotel paid for extra expenses, and accompanied the "affected" guests all the time. We did everything it was necessary and we invite you to come to our hotel, so that you see the improvements we have done. Please feel free to contact myself if you are traveling to Évora so that I may personally take care of you and your group during a next stay.
Once again, please accept our apologies and I hope that the remainder of your trip to Portugal was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for a week in the sun. Staff could not have been more helpful. Food was good. Evora is a beautiful and interesting historic town which has not been overrun by tourists as yet. Having a car was helpful to visit areas of Portugal that we had not see before, but do make use of the minibus service which reception were always ready to call to het onto and out of Evora

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel. We are pleased that you liked the food and the region of Évora. In a next visit, don´t miss our selection of tourist routes, recently launched. These routes are about Monsaraz and various Wineries in Alentejo, places to visit in Évora (Évora heritage city), etc. I am sure this information will be useful. Hope to see you in next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I was reluctant about the hotel. Went there to spend a weekend with the family and i was greatly surprised. The hotel is clean, big and the staff is great. Great swimming pools (outdoor and indoor) and good areas for kids to play. The breakfast is not amazing but quite good and the restaurant has a very nice buffet with weel cooked food and plenty of options. The only downside of the hotel is that is the distance to the city center. Hard to do by woalking is about 2km away.
Very nice and will surely come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana U, Public Relations Manager at Evora Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding our hotel. We are constantly trying to improve our service and therefore the customer´s feedback is crucial. Regarding transportation to the city center, we understand your comment and therefore we would like to inform you that the hotel provides a shuttle, operating every day, that has a cost of 2 eur each. The reception schedules the transportation according to the customer´s choice. We hope this response has been helpful, and hope to see you soon in a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Great range of facilities and very helpful staff who did everthing to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Good value for money in the restaurant with a long list of excellent local wines to explore.
Sometimes quite busy with different parties arriving but nothing seemed to fluster the staff on duty. Suggestions about what to do , where to go appeared regularly and because we showed an interest we were always very well treated, right down to an early breakfast so that we could have a little something before leaving for the airport..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is located just at the edge of the city of Evora, Portugal. If you are driving a car, it is definitely a place to consider due to its great value, free parking, excellent breakfast buffet and clean property. It does not look very fancy from the outside, but inside the hotel you will find an extremely friendly staff, a swimming pool, as well as a comfortable and clean room. We definitely recommend the Evora Hotel in Portugal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Evora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evora Hotel

Address: Av Tulio Espanca, Apartado 93, Evora 7002-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Evora
#5 Business Hotel in Evora
#7 Family Hotel in Evora
#8 Luxury Hotel in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Evora Hotel is situated in the World Heritage town of Evora. We are at a five 5 minute distance (by car) from the historic center. In "Sol Poente" Restaurant we offer award-winning dishes, and our menu is based on the rich regional gastronomy of Alentejo. Our rooms are all well equipped and have all the comfort you need. We have a heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming-pool for children and grownups,a tennis court, a last generation health & fitness club, sauna, Jacuzzi,Wellness Center, snooker and extensive gardens. We have a Driving Range where you can practice Golf, a Kids Club with babysitting service, upon request. Besides all the Hotel facilities, our front office representatives have the best advise on various spots you may visit around the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Evora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evora Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.