We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional b and b with style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solar Monfalim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solar Monfalim to your Saves list
Solar Monfalim
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo da Misericordia, 1, Evora 7000-646, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Traditional b and b with style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We returned to this hotel after a previous stay . It was still just as good. A small, traditional hotel which feels more like a bed and breakfast. Very comfortable individually styled rooms. We just had a shower this time as we were arriving late and departing early next day. If you have the time though the rooms with baths are small but have beautiful traditional tiles. The breakfast is fine, basic but everything you would need, coffee, fruit, yoghurt, cakes and rolls. On a sunny morning its nice to sit on the small terrace. Even though we had only a short stay we made use of the bar and the receptionist come barman was happy to help. I would definately return again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    23
    15
    2
See reviews for
10
42
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This beautiful hotel is set in a very central location. We spent New Year's Eve there and we enjoyed it very much and two weeks later we were back. Thank you Maria José and Rita for the hospitality and thank you Gertrudes for babysitting.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

The hotel is clean and we were in a superior room which was beautiful, but the standard rooms are actually quite small and not as nice.
We are understanding travellers and the problem was not that many things went wrong (no hot water, then they began works on the building etc), but the problem was how they dealt with them. The staff could not be bothered helping us and lied to us about problems that were going on eg after asking 3 times for the hot water to be fixed and being told 'go to your room and wait 10 minutes', on the fourth time the lady realised in fact that hot water system was not on. We had to move out after one night because works were being carried out on the building in the room next door, and were offered no apologies, reduction in rate or compensation.

Very very bad service.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

This hotel is beautiful, with good housekeeping and good rates. The bells from a nearby church are bad if you are a light sleeper, staff noisy in the halls, the entry bell is annoying, and one staff member was rude to us in a number of ways. The breakfast was just passable. In all fairness there was another staff member who was quite helpful...but there was no real sense of welcome here...not a good experience. We would have been better off in Dom Fernando since we came in by train (Dom is very close to train and a beautiful park) and we had a great lunch at Dom's full service restaurant with very friendly staff at every turn. Live and learn!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed three nights and found it to be quiet (except for the chimes), comfortable, affordable and well located.

The rooms are fairly roomy, with t.v., mini-bar, safe and hairdryer as the amenities. One negative is that there are few outlets in the rooms, and I had to unplug the t.v. and mini-bar in order to charge my camera battery.

The best part of the hotel is the terrace, which looks out on a treed area in front of the hotel and is shaded by several large trees, so sitting out in the late afternoon/early evening and enjoying a drink is very pleasant. They also offer parking right outside, which is a big plus in the old town part of Evora. They do charge, but I think it was only about 3 euro a night.

Staff is available 24hrs a day and all speak good English and were pretty helpful, although not the personalized touch of a B&B for example.

The two negatives about the hotel are the hallways, which are dark and have some very worn rugs lining them in places. I actually tripped on a tear in one of them walking to our room. The other is the very annoying entry chime at the front door. You have a nice serene space that is completely disrupted anytime anyone enters or leaves the front door with a very loud double chime. They should either turn it way down or better yet, disconnect it! Otherwise, the place was really quite, and I can’t figure out why some reviewers have said otherwise.

Just some general Evora tips; Evora is fairly small and just about everything can be reached on foot. It’s much quieter and less touristy than other popular locations in Portugal, and we felt Evora had some of the best food of any of the places we visited.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treviso
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Cool place to stay in Evora this hotel. We spent only one night but we could appreciate this charming place at a very good price. Nice , roomy ( probably more than 50 mq ) and particular was the room ( but not all the rooms are so big) , a wooden fan over the ceiling , big windows , flat tv ,air conditioned, perfect bathroom. Great breakfast, professional and polite staff at the reception speaking good english!! The parking of the hotel is not free. Enjoy with no doubts this hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar Monfalim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Monfalim

Address: Largo da Misericordia, 1, Evora 7000-646, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solar Monfalim 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solar Monfalim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Monfalim Évora
Solar Monfalim Hotel Évora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar Monfalim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.