We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“castles and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turaventur Day Tours

Turaventur Day Tours
Quinta do Serrado | Sr dos Aflitos, Evora 7000-173, Portugal
+351266743134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Activities in Evora
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TurAventur organises nature, adventure and cultural activities. We have 21 years of experience.Tours combine adventure sports with the discovery of landscape, patrimony, gastronomy and culture of the Alentejo.The tours are run by passionate guides, which will make sure to have very happy clients.Each client is, for us, an individual. Our tours are easily adapted to different needs and we cater to make your day a very special one!
Currumbin, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“castles and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A top tour! We cycled from white washed villages to amazing historic towns down quiet roads surrounded by olive groves. The self guided 1 week option option was efficiently organised with bookings, luggage transfer, maps advice and back up. Teresa and her team were friendly and helpful. The hotels (option B) were pousadas (converted historic buildings) and beyond imagination. The locals were friendly and this is not an area overrun by tourists. We had a great trip. Do it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Castle and Wine self guided bike tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I took the Castle and Wine self guided tour with Turaventur in September 2012.

It was an enjoyable 6 day ride. Teresa met us on the first night for orientation and discussed the trip, maps, and bikes. She was very friendly and answered all our questions. The bikes were great for the terrain. They were in great working conditions. They shifted great and we had no problems with the bikes. The maps and directions were good. One thing about this trip is the undulating hills. There were a few hills that were a good challenge. Our group upgraded to the 4 star hotels and Pousadas. I highly recommend it. The places were great. It was nice after a long, hot ride to have the pool to relax in and the air conditioned rooms. The Portuguese people are very friendly and helpful. One thing I can say about the bikes is I wish there was more pouches for storage. There were some days when we brought souvenirs, wine, and food. It was a challenge to see how we were going to carry it back to the hotel. All in all it was a great ride and I would highly recommend Turaventur bike tours.

Thanks Teresa,

Chris, California

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Turaventur Day Tours, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Chris!

Thank you so much for your very nice words. You'll be happy to know we are working on this bags you suggested, as several of our clients can't resist to buy wine, cheese and local crafts and face the same problem! So, if you come and do our castles tour, i hope i'll supply you a bike with good shopping bags!:):):)
We have also up graded the hotels on the coastal tour, so i'm sure you'll enjoy it as well!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Megaliths tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My friend and I did the one-day megaliths bike tour in September 2012. We came home to the hotel dirty and exhausted but it was a great day and will be a highlight of our trip. We really liked the country scenery! Our guide did the right amount of explaining things - enough for you to learn but not too much so it gets boring. He was really good with questions and also didn't mind if we lagged behind a bit (we were the least athletic of the group so we were slower). I would advise anyone in pretty good physical condition to do the tour, but just recommend that they go at their own pace, because the trails you ride on are a bit sandy and if you're going faster than you are comfortable with it can be scary going down hill.

A great trip!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Turaventur Day Tours, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Molly!
I hope you still keep these nice memories of you tour! You had an eventful day! When you recommend the tour to your friends, tell them to inflorm us of their level of fitness,because we have easier tours and even the megalithic tour can be adapted to different levels. Of course this is not as easy to do when there are different people in one group.
Why don't you share some of your pictures here?

thank you for writing!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Peaceful and Rustic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent our first night in Portugal in Evora. We had a GPS but could not locate the farm based on address (probably outdated maps) but found it easily using GPS coordinates. Farmhouse was traditional, very beautiful and the surroundings rustic making it very quiet and peaceful. Farm is located conveniently close to town allowing easy access. Breakfast was basic but very tasty consisting mostly of homemade fare. The bike tour was flexible and informative. Teresa and family were fun and very comfortable to be around. In fact, Felipe runs several touring activities in Portugal so highly recommend checking them out for your touring needs as well. Relatively a bit pricey but all in all, a wonderful experience and would highly recommend!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
“Medieval tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Highly recommended! Special discovery of the very beautiful landscape and cultural traces between Evora and Monsaraz. Sympathetic and competent guide.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turaventur Day Tours also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Turaventur Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turaventur Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.