We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turaventur Day Tours

Turaventur Day Tours
Quinta do Serrado | Sr dos Aflitos, Evora 7000-173, Portugal
+351266743134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Activities in Evora
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TurAventur organises nature, adventure and cultural activities. We have 21 years of experience.Tours combine adventure sports with the discovery of landscape, patrimony, gastronomy and culture of the Alentejo.The tours are run by passionate guides, which will make sure to have very happy clients.Each client is, for us, an individual. Our tours are easily adapted to different needs and we cater to make your day a very special one!
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
“Medieval tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Highly recommended! Special discovery of the very beautiful landscape and cultural traces between Evora and Monsaraz. Sympathetic and competent guide.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“city & country cycling tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous holiday with Turaventur - Bike tours. We spent 3 days in Lisbon - city bike tour, sentra mountain bike decend,coastal kayak tour. Our family including 2 teenage boys enjoyed the challenge and level of activity greatly. Well organized, very imformative and lots of exercise while visitng the interesting sites. We then moved to Evora and spent 5 nights at their hotel. Accomadation was excellent - met all our needs - The weather was a bit too hot on one day of cycling but the grade of the old railway path kept us going ( 42 cel.) . The tours guided and self quided were well layed out and very interesting. Long days but we enjoyed evey minute. We all enjoyed the 'adventure" of trying to find our way through cow pastures, aquaducts, bike paths and round abouts. Thank you to all the wonderful staff we had an excellent trip with great memories.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Turaventur Day Tours, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Wendy!
How are you? We are fine here, back to the cooler weather but still very busy! I'm still waiting for those pictures of yours! Come on!

Thank you so much for the really nice review!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Castles and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Turaventur's Castles and Wine tour of the Alentejo region was wonderful. Weather could have been better but we managed to dodge any serious rain. We spent our time mainly riding and visiting local eateries. I really enjoyed the pastoral landscape and cruising roads less travelled by automobiles. We enjoyed long evenings taken up with good-to-excellent food and wine, mostly at restaurants recommended by Turaventur.

Their maps and directions were clear and thorough, the accomodations they arranged for us were first class (for very reasonable prices), including stays at a couple of palatial pousadas. This tour was just right for us, a mix of veteran cyclists and newbies.

Everything about this tour was excellent, but the best feature was the efficient personalized service from Teresa Vilas Boas and the extra care she and her staff took to look after some disabled members of our group.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Turaventur Day Tours, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello Dan,

Thank you so much for writing this review! I remember computers were definitely not your thing!
How are you all?

Still cycling a lot?

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
1 review
“6 day coastal tour, Sesimbra – Odeceixe, May 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I did the 6 day Coastal biking tour from Sesimbra to Odeceixe guided by Turaventur with a group of Norwegians in the end of May 2012. Expectations were high after a nice evening at a restaurant in Sesimbra and the first night with a great room and view at a modern art deco hotel. The days went fast, biking on and off roads through a nice coastal landscape with great variations of mountains , rice fields, sand beaches, cliffs, bush land, farms and villages. After hours of biking we could look forward to picnics with a variation of Portuguese food at nice locations on beaches, cork woods, rice fields and a restaurant. Some days also including lectures on Portuguese history and culture. During the days we had the opportunity to visit a winery, roman ruins, an olive oil press,a wind mill and a couple of castles as well as meet with the local fishermen landing the catch of the day.
The group had two local biking guides and was able to provide the option to do some extra biking the first two days. This was a great opportunity to blow off some extra steam for the bikers fit for mountain climbs and fast track challenge. The two fittest bikers started to wear a yellow shirt from the third day on ! So even if the daily distances are modest and mostly easy biking, some gave it a touch of Tour de France.
6 days well spent with almost 300km on bike. Thanks to the guides Teresa, Luis, Joao and Andre.
Regards Ansgar

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Turaventur Day Tours, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Angskar!
Thank you so much for this full review! And when are you coming to do the Castles Tour? We did some improvements, it's getting better and better!

See you soon!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Cycling while you time trip back....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Turaventur's Castles and Wine Tour was a time trip back to medieval castles( one or two will be your lodging for the night) and Stonehenge- like rock in rural fields, some dating back 5,000 to 7,000 years. But along the way you will be snapped back to the present day - a workingman's lunch in a small village, joining a field trip of high school kids visiting the castle, or a middle-aged man smiling and nodding as he passes you in a new convertible.
Great trip directions, sound bicycles( no flats), good food, great wine(cheap).
Our 2 night stay at Teresa's farmhouse rate Teresa Vila Boas and her staff a big "two thumbs up".
The bike route through undulating back roads( some dirt) was a challenge but not too extreme. Weekend warriors, gonzo biker's and everyone in between will be happy on this one.
It was wonderful and we will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turaventur Day Tours also viewed

 
Evora, Evora District
 

Been to Turaventur Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turaventur Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.