We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be happy to stay longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte do Serrado de Baixo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Monte do Serrado de Baixo to your Saves list
Monte do Serrado de Baixo
Quinta do Serrado, Senhor dos Aflitos, Evora 7000-173, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 16 Evora B&B and Inns
Giv'atayim, Israel
1 review
“Would be happy to stay longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent on this charming quinta only one night, but would be happy stay longer!!
The house itself is comfortable and charming, our room was simple, but we had all we needed, can't not to mention the huge bed.
Teresa and Maria were so helpfull, even before our arriving at the endless Correspondence by e-mail. When we were leaving, Teresa draw a map of the region where we were going with recommendations .
We also had the plessure to meet their parents, who were very welcoming.
The area is great! Countryside only few minutes from Evora,
The cool pool and the rest areas were exelent, especially after arriving from the cycling trip.
We had there great memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turaventur A, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi!

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We hope you come back for a much longer stay next time!

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We (a couple) stayed four nights at the end of September. With the description the Monte was really easy to find and we felt there like home. It was the perfect location to explore Evora and the Alentejo and we enjoyed the silence there. The breakfast was excellent and because of the trip and restaurant recommandations we found some places we would never have found without. We are really looking forward coming back to Monte do Serrado do Baixo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent a long weekend at the Monte with the whole family. We had the house for ourselves (all 4 rooms) with breakfast and cleaning service. We had a great, relaxed time, with walks, pool time and fun table football games.
The house was nice and spatious, good living area and a nice kitchen. Rooms were nice, with private wc. Nice pool and surrounding grass area. Good breakfast.
Only catch was maybe the cleanliness of the common areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turaventur A, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you had a good stay at our place!
I will talk to the cleaning lady about the comn areas, thanks for bringing it up!
Hope to see you back!
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Monte do Serrado de Baixa for a three day four night cycling tour at the beginning of November 2012. The weather was perfect for cycling and the three different tours were stunning. So much to see and discuss. Teresa was the perfect hostess - she really cared for our well being, offering to come and pick us up when were cycling back in the dark! All the staff were delightful - happy to chat with us but equally happy to leave us in peace. The Cereal and Cork rooms where we stayed were simply and tastefully furnished and very warm and comfortable. The log fire in the lounge was gorgeous! Evora was a lovely city to visit, but it was nice to stay away from the city at the farm. Gail fell in love with the donkey and is still telling everyone about her!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turaventur A, Gerente at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi to you all!

Thank you so much for your nice words!

Zurra (the Donkey) has been missing you too and she's already searching on the web for the best price for a donkey airplane ticket to go and visit Gail!!! She'll meet you in Hyde Park!!!!

Hope to see you at the coastal tour
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our third visit to Portugal this year and yet our experience here was amongst our most memorable in the country. Monte de Serrado is extremely peaceful and a nice alternative to staying the confines of Evora. We used this as a base to explore the region and the tours organised by Teresa were exceptional. Hiking along the aqueduct, biking along abandoned rail lines through the country side, visiting towns even lovelier than Evora, kayaking (photo shown) with picnic lunches waiting for us - you name it. The real highlight for our children was the start and end to each day as the property is a working farm as well. Feeding sheep and Zourra the donkey each morning was their greatest joy.

For families with younger kids, there are rooms that can be shared with children comfortable. The morning breakfast was thoughtfully laid out. Dinner can also be arranged to be served at the property. Using a GPS to find the property is highly recommended and Teresa provides very detailed instructions on how to get there. Credit cards are not accepted so payment by bank transfer or cash is required. Note that WIFI is not available in the property - but that sense of being shut off from the rest of the world is exactly what we were seeking on this trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
hi!

thank you so much for sharing these thoughts!
It was really nice to have your family here, they were really participative, enjoying every moment!
I hope your tree goes healthy and you come to visit it one day!


Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Two of us shared the Cork Room for one night at Monte do Serrado de Baixo in June 2012. I wish we could have stayed longer!

I have read some of the reviews and agree with most of them. The house is very cosy and comfortable, Teresa and family are very accomodating indeed and will organize activitivities, make you feel at home, give you directions over the phone when you get lost in the fields....!

The surrounding countryside is superb and I would strongly recommend hiring two bikes for very reasonable prices (proper Specialized mountain bikes). We took off down the Ecopista (the former railway line from Évora) through beautiful scenery in the sunshine and had lunch at Senhor João's restaurant in Graça do Divor some kms away. Perfect!

If you are looking for somewhere authentic, rustic and quiet where you effectively do your own thing then this is a great option. I am often surprised that people come to a beautiful rustic house like this thinking it will be a 5-star hotel. Part of the charm is that the final 1 km approach is on a dirt track and you have your own fluffy, friendly pet donkey call Zurra during your stay!

I was also impressed with the generous breakfast with fresh bread, cheeses, coffee etc..

Best of all I liked the peace that surrounds the house and garden! Adoro o Alentejo!

T&N Lisbon (couldn't sign in!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Tim,

thank you so much for writing this review and helping us to explain the differences between our stars and other stars. It's really rewarding to us when we have guests that can appreciate what we are trying to offer: a house that is just like the one we live in. And we love to live here. It's great that you enjoyed it! And i still can't believe you managed to take your girl all the way to Graça do Divor!!!:):):)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Visiting this farm house as part of a Turaventur bike trip, I was struck by the charm of both the farmhouse itself and the surrounding countryside. it's close to Evora, but far from any road noise, and the house contains several comfy rooms and a large living area with a giant fireplace, which came in tonnes of handy when our trip was rained out. The staff are accommodating and friendly, and breakfast there is large and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeresaVilasBoas, Owner at Monte do Serrado de Baixo, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
i don't want to become repetitive in this responses, so i'd leave here a general response to all these fabulous guests we have that take the time and care to write something about their stay. You can't imagine the big smile in my face when I receive an e-mail from trip advisor saying we have a new review.

This is all we aim for: to have happy guests that share our love for this place with us. Thank you so much for coming and for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte do Serrado de Baixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte do Serrado de Baixo

Address: Quinta do Serrado, Senhor dos Aflitos, Evora 7000-173, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Evora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Evora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is a traditional country house, with very white walls and a blue stripe all around. There is a beautiful garden which invites to reading a book or having a glass of wine, a pool to freshen up in warm days and a fire place to warm you up in the winter. Each room is decorated to a theme (cork, wine, cereal and olives) and the farm around it shows a bit of all these themes. Here you will feel at home! Our buffet breakfast is included in the rates and it has homemade jams, cake and bread, and local cheeses and chorizos. If you want more than relaxing, we have suggestions of visits to do around the region and we organize walking, cycling, canoeing and jeep tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monte do Serrado de Baixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte do Serrado de Baixo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.